Humans logo

Date or Dare

first date turns into girls night

By Rebecca HackneyPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like

Bittersweet, like the first sip of a glass of Merlot, that is how Serenity would describe this date. Too good to be true or unexpected would be another way to describe it. She did not even want to go on this date but her best friend, Rain, insisted she get out more. Serenity remembered the conversation all too well, it did happen only a week ago.

“Come on Dee, you need to get out more”, Rain said while they ate lunch. The girls went out to lunch with each other everyday. They were best friends since middle school, even when one moved away and came back their friendship remained. Rain was the assistant to a well known business man; Serenity was a baker and owned her own sweet treats shop.

“No, I am not a “get out more” type of person”, she replied making air quotes.

“Then how are you ever going to meet someone? Do you think Mr. Right is just going to show up one day and sweep you off your feet? This is not a fairy tail.”

“I know that. But who knows, maybe he will come in my shop one day and we bond over chocolate chip cookies”, Serenity said with a laugh.

“One date let me set you up on one date and I will leave you alone. I promise.”

“Okay you win, just one date.”

Snapped back to the present when the waiter asked her what she wanted, Serenity smiled across the table to her date. This is going nowhere but at least she gets a meal and Rain will stopped interfering with her life.

“So, what do you do for a career?” Her date asked.

“I am a baker. I…” She started then he interrupted her.

“Oh. Well is that stable enough? Working at a bakery seems more like a hobby. I on the other hand own my own business”, he said proudly.

Serenity took a long sip of her Merlot, letting the man vast in his ego.

“I not only work at the bakery, but I own it. Which I was going to say before you interrupted me.”

“Oh so your parents gave you a loan, or did you go to the bank?”

“I earned it all on my own. Didn’t have it handed to me and no loans were given. I worked hard for my bakery and it is thriving. Don’t think I can say that much about your so called business.” Serenity said taking another sip of wine.

“Uh, no wonder you are still single”, he said rudely.

“Yeah, same goes to you.” She said with a smile as she got up from the table and left.

Back at her friends house Serenity told Rain about the disaster that was her date.

“Was it really that bad? Did he really ask if you got a loan for the bakery?”

“Yep he sure did. Like a woman can’t own her own business without needing help”, Serenity rolled her eyes, “It’s ridiculous.”

“I am sorry Dee, I thought he was a good one.”

“Just because he was good looking doesn’t make him a good guy or good for me.”

“True that”, Rain replied while lifting her wine glass, “At least we have wine and cookies.”

“Ha-ha. Amen to that”, Serenity clinked her glass with Rain’s and took a bite of a cookie.

Later that night, being a little tipsy, the girls decided to play a game of double dare. The game is like true or dare, but since the girls had no secrets they just dare each other to do things; first one who does not do the dare loses. The game started simple at first, daring each other little tasks. Then Rain up the antics.

“I dare you to call my boss and ask him on a date”, Rain said giggling.

“What? No, I don’t even know you boss. I haven’t ever met him.”

“But that is the fun of it. Come on, you know you don’t want to loose.”

“Is he even single?”

“Yes girl! Single and smoking hot! If I wasn’t already madly in love, I would ask him out.”

“Give me his number and I’ll text him”, Serenity said while taking out her phone.

“Oh no, hunny the dare was to call him.” Rain replied wiggling her eyebrows.

Serenity grabbed her phone, put it on speaker and dialed the number for Rain’s boss. It went to voicemail, so she left a message.

“Hi there, umm my name is Serenity. I know this is weird but my friend gave me your number. She said you are single so. Anyways I was wondering if you would like to hang out sometime, okay bye.” Serenity hung up, tossed the phone onto the chair and plopped onto the couch next to Rain. Rain burst out laughing.

“Yeah yeah, laugh it up. Just know your time is coming.” Serenity said hitting Rain with a pillow.

A few days later Serenity showed up to Rain’s work to bring her lunch. They couldn’t meet like usual because Rain was super busy, so they made plans to eat there. They walked into the break room and there he was, Rain’s boss.

“Ah geez is that your boss?” Serenity murmured.

“Yep, but relax you two haven’t meet and he doesn’t even know you are the one that called. Besides he probably didn’t even check his voicemail.” They sat down and started eating when the boss approached them.

“Afternoon Rain”, he said grinning.

“Afternoon Nathan”, Rain replied, “This is my friend Serenity.”

“Serenity? It’s nice to meet you. How long have you known Rain?”

“Since forever”, Serenity replied while taking a bite of food, “Care to join us? I brought extra.”

Nathan sat down and joined the girls eating lunch. They ate in silence for a while then Serenity brought out cupcakes from her bakery for dessert. Nathan smiled. Rain licked her lips.

“Oh yum!” Rain squealed.

“Your favorites, plus I put a couple new flavors in there if you want to try them.” Serenity said opening the box.

“Are these from that bakery on Main Street?” asked Nathan taking one out the box.

“They sure are and it’s the best bakery.” Rain said taking a big bite of the chocolate fudge cupcake.

“Oh, I know it believe me. I order from there often. I am always too busy to go myself though, so I get delivery. I do need to talk to the owner about some things though.”

“Then I will leave you two to it. I gotta get back to work anyway.” Rain said standing up and leaving the room giving Serenity a wink.

Sitting across from each other Nathan and Serenity stared awkwardly not knowing what to say. Nathan cleared his throat.

“So.. um. Uh.. Well this is awkward”

“Why is it awkward? You wanted to talk to the owner of the bakery. That’s me.” Serenity said proudly with a smile.

“Oh, I thought. Well never mind. So you own the bakery that is great.”

“What did you think? Now I’m curious.”

“Uh, nothing..” Nathan stammered.

“Oh. Oh. This is about the voicemail.” Serenity said blushing, “listen, me and Rain had some wine and we were playing a stupid dare game and I just got back from a terrible date”, Serenity stopped talking to look at Nathan who was smiling. Serenity cleared her throat and said, “Can you forget about it and can we just talk about the bakery?”

Nathan and Serenity talked for about an hour about the bakery. Nathan wanted to hire Serenity to bake goods for his business meetings, fundraisers and other stuff. Serenity agreed and they came to an arrangement.

They stood and Nathan walked Serenity out of the break room; Serenity stopped at Rain’s desk and gave her a hug bye. Nathan waited for Serenity at the door.

“I would like to take you up on your offer.” He said.

“What offer?”

“The one from the voicemail. I know you don’t want to talk about it, but I would really like to take you out.”

“Oh, ok,” She said smiling, “You can meet me at the bakery after closing.”

Nathan smiled as he watched her walk down the street. This day went from bad to great. He didn’t know who left him that message; glad he got to find out though. Rain talked about her friend a lot, so Nathan knew how great she was. He still couldn’t believe he got a date with this beautiful woman over a double dare, but he wasn’t complaining. Maybe he should pick up some whine, maybe a nice bottle of Merlot.

dating
Like

About the Creator

Rebecca Hackney

Love writing and taking readers on a journey.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.