Humans logo

Custom Craft Kits

spreading joy through custom craft kits

By banPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

I'm a Textile Designer and colours have always inspired me. They are the first thing I think of when starting with something new and the sight of a good colour combination or pattern always fills me with joy. I believe each colour is responsible for eliciting a very specific cognitive response in most people, which is why I find generic offerings in large craft stores very depressing. They range from circus brights to lonely cat lady greys. Most craft materials are in very odd shades that would bring no joy to anyone. There are a million beautiful shades on planet to be inspired from and it always surprises me when I am offered so little in choice.

What I really wish for is the colours everyone forgot. The cold green on a frozen lake, the warm reds of moist terra cotta baking under the sun, the vibrant pink of a melting popsicle melting in sticky rivulets down your skin.......

INADEQUATE MATERIALS: Many like me have probably looked at a beautiful art project or a painting and felt inspired to create something similar but felt let down when trying to do the same with their existing craft supplies. Often it is the craft supplies itself that are inadequate or incomplete. It is not always feasible to visit a store or order things online because as a beginner at any craft it is difficult to ascertain which products are most cost effective or a good investment. Sometimes one simply abandons a project after buying supplies because there is an absence of direction or lack of experience in using them. Not to mention the fact that the Textile Industry is one of the most polluting and I often wonder the real price we pay for mass manufactured craft supplies like yarn and fabrics.

A PERSONAL TOUCH: With more than a decade of experience in the field of design I have learnt that the most endearing artworks or projects are the ones that have a story behind them. Not only does it help sell the products better, in addition they also make the product more relatable. Does that cushion cover remind you of the sea? Is that wall hanging inspired by your love for coffee? While most people without formal design experience function on instinct when buying materials and creating projects, and many have much more refined taste than several formally trained designers I have known, a little extra fine tuning never hurt anyone.

Which is why I propose a monthly craft subscription that will hopefully fill in all the gaps. My greatest strength lies in conceptualization and presentation. I believe it would be a fun project to create custom crafting kits based on seasonal design trends. While most home craft projects are skillfully created they often end up looking like what they are - home projects. With the right seasonal hues and texture, and some research and development it can be possible to transform them into products of artisanal value.

Each unique crafting kit will include responsibly sourced or created materials, equipment of optimum value based on reviews of other crafters, step by step instructions with images on how to create the product and also a link to a youtube channel for better clarity. Boxes can be customized based on skill levels, colour preferences and on whether the crafting would be an individual or group activity.

SOMETHING TO LOOK FORWARD TO EVERY MONTH: True to the lyrics of the song by Oscar Hammerstein and Richard Rodgers, “Brown paper packages tied up with string" are indeed everyone's favourite things. A semi-regular influx of amazon packages kept my spirits up and helped me cope with loneliness as my husband and I were quarantined in different countries during the pandemic.

SENSE OF ACHIEVEMENT: Finishing a project always fills one with a heightened sense of achievement. Working with hands is reminiscent of my childhood playing with scraps of fabric and creating dolls’ clothes while my mother sewed, or sticking pieces of coloured paper to create sceneries. I never felt as much elation as I did when I created my first hand woven warp as a student of Textile Design. Creating things by hand transfers a bit of your soul into the work.

DEALING WITH ANXIETY:A sadder reality of adulthood is the inevitable onset of anxiety. I spent months dealing with what felt like there was an elephant sitting on my chest. A simple act of buying new tools helped a lot.

INDIVIDUALITY AND UNIQUENESS: Since the materials will be dyed/printed in small batches it will be easier to control water wastage and customize details resulting in a unique product that the customer can relate to - and in turn preserve their sense of worth. I plan on bulk buying the material in Brilliant White and dyeing it for individual kits. Another option would be to play with organic dyes as part of the sustainability oriented kits.

Learning something new is sometimes less stressful than continuing with an old hobby as it’s a fresh start and there is less pressure involved when you can reset and start from scratch. Crafting has always brought me happiness and helped deal with anxiety. Hopefully, a membership service such as this would spread my sense of wonder for colours amongst everyone and help them create objects they can be proud of.

art
Like

About the Creator

ban

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.