Humans logo

Crisis

a short story.

By ImaanPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

What is my passion.

I have no clue.

Well I didn’t; I sat here thinking what am I passionate about? What starts a fire in me? What makes me feel? And honestly anything being able to do that is a feat- I find nothing interesting. there’s nothing that pushes me to wake up in the morning and there’s nothing I look forward to in the next day. To be frankly honest with you I guess. I thought very hard. What am I passionate about. I couldn’t

Like

Figure it out

Because I couldn’t care less: about life about anything

I just don’t see the point you get me? But then I thought what’s the last time that I felt something? The last time I didn’t just feel numb to the world that made my heart ache and made me determined. I thought of Palestine. I thought of Yemen and I thought of the protests. I thought of the videos and the tears and the burning I felt in my chest. I thought of the sleepless nights and the nightmares. Yes. Me- a very safe a very secure never felt true fear in my life individual had a nightmare about something I could barely even imagine. Embarrassing no?

Which is why I realised I do have a passion. I have a passion for peace. I have a passion for fighting inequality. I have a passion filled with fire and grief and anger. Fuelled by murder and injustice and heartbreak.

Hundreds of thousands of innocents, brutally murdered, kidnapped, raped, attacked- the list goes on and on. And then what makes it all worse is the fact that it isn’t just palestine. it’s yemen. it’s kenya and syria. there’s humanitarian crisiss everywhere- there’s a whole modern day slave trade in libya! There is modern day genocide in china and racism to the degree of murder rape and kidnapping in kenya. And yet no one knows- that or the other cold hard option: no one cares.

My passion is to fight for them the only way I can. Raise awareness, donate, sign petitions even though they probably don’t do anything. Pray. Beg whoever is above to help the world. To help us all.

My passion shouldn’t even be a passion. It should be natural- the horrible shit in the world shouldn’t even be. 7 billion plus people in the world and yet so many live in horror. it’s so messed no one cares. Sigh.

I think my passion isn’t what was expected for this challenge. Maybe photography or knitting would be something more along the expected maybe dancing or tennis. Well then this just shows that nothing can be expected right always expect the unexpected. Anyways here are some links

https://www.map.org.uk/donate/donate

https://www.unicef.org.uk/donate/yemen/?gclid=EAIaIQobChMIoofV1KOv8QIVFHAYCh0d_QLwEAAYASAAEgJpFPD_BwE

https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/time.com/5042560/libya-slave-trade/%3famp=true

https://www.aa.com.tr/en/africa/kenyan-somalis-worried-over-kidnappings-murder/2277751

https://www.iberdrola.com/social-commitment/humanitarian-crises-causes-effects-solutions

https://borgenproject.org/human-trafficking-in-south-africa/

I think if we all come together we can make a change but I don’t think anyone really wants to. Everyone is too wrapped up in their own lives yk. Everyone is busy and distracted and if it doesn’t hurt them physically then it isn’t their problem. I think this world is a test. I think everything that happens happens for a reason and I think some people just get the short end of the stick. Anyways humanitarian cases not only exist in third world countries, there are so many happening right now in front of us:

Police brutality

Racism

Rape

Paedophillia

All right in front of us.

Why do families get split at borders? Children left mother and fatherless, suffering in silence. Why does the BLM movement even exist? Why does there have to be a whole movement for a whole race of people to be acknowledged? that’s so messed up. Why does there have to be protests for equality, and rallies for justice- why are we apparently first world countries- ahead of the rest! And yet so so behind.

Well. One step forward, eighteen steps back.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Imaan

A poet just trying to get through life :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.