Humans logo

Coworkers Are Not Your Friends!!!!

Agree or disagree?

By Mecca C Eaves-GlassPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
2
Text message from my phone. How does it relate to the topic?

During the hot and blistering summer of 2016 I embarked on a journey to act as principal for summer school to cover an assignment in my masters principal leadership program .

As summer school principal I led 6 teachers and taught my class without extra pay. (Remember: “acting principal” 😀😃👍🏾)

One of the teachers for summer school math was known as what some people would call a “B”. She was not on my team during the school year and I had only a few work related encounters with her. Therefore, I did not listen to what “they” said about her.

In my head I asked, “What do I know about her from my experiences?

WHAT EXPERIENCES HAVE I HAD WITH THE 6TH GRADE SCIENCE TEACHER?

~Loves to teach science~ Helps the PTA~ Supports the students by attending after school events~Healthy eating and exercise~Stands up for herself~ Guarded heart~Friendlier with coworkers that's been there for years~Bestfriend’s with one of my teammates (No!! My teammate , her best friend, does not think she is a “B” 🤦🏽‍♀️)

I felt that I should give her a fresh 24. Meaning, that for whatever reasons other people felt she was a “B” that’s their opinion and I will take her at face value.

When the “Principal”announced that I would be the principal for summer school she came to my room to congratulate me. I thanked her for the congrats and jokingly stated, “ Girl bye!!! I’m not getting paid.😂😂😂” Well, I’m glad you will be able to use this experience for a class assignment, look at the positive she replied!!!

In my head I was thinking “B’s” would not congratulate someone and speak positive thoughts into other people’s lives. I knew I had to block out all the negative energy regarding her.

I sent out an email to all of the staff members. In the email, I sent a flyer, asked for ideas, and scheduled a meeting.

I was super surprised that she was the first to be in my room for the meeting. There is a myth that “CP Time '' is embedded into black culture. In retrospect it is not true for my family and obviously not hers.

As we waited for the other staff members she told me she was extremely elated for me and that she would do anything to help me and the students.

Oh no! She was not trying to kiss my butt!!!

She elaborated that she does not get into trouble at work. Since I was her superior she would not cause problems. I laughed at her and reminded her that I was “acting principal.”

Nevertheless, we worked professionally well together. Then one day, (after she dropped her guard) she asked me was I feeling okay.

I held in my tears and just stated I needed to walk because I’m working on 10,000 steps a day. (I’m actually tearing up as I write this now and will let the tears flow down my cheeks)

She exclaimed, “Girl, I’ll go walk with you, we can go to Vollmer trail.”

After work she met at the trail. This lady showed up with a bag with an apple, orange, banana, nuts, and water inside . (I do not know about you, but I was really impressed that a “coworker that is known as a “B” could be so thoughtful). I showed up emptied handed and a little parched because it was hot out.

As we walked she questioned my quietness that day at work. She mentioned that she noticed that I was not my bubbly self. I immediately broke down on the trail and told her about my terrible marriage.

She told me to never give up on my marriage, never cheat (even though we had not been active for a month of Sundays😔😔😔) . She also told me not to fret and we could walk everyday after summer school if I wanted to.

Ask yourself now, Does Mecca really believe coworkers can’t be friends?

Of course coworkers can be friends. I am now her daughter’s Godmommy!!! I will tell that story another day!!!

Another text message from my friend!!!

What if I would have listened to all the people that say, leave coworkers at work?

We have since traveled together for birthdays, partied like rock stars, helped each other through tragedies, participated in a lot of laughter, had a small break in everyday calling and hanging out as friends, and now we our work sisters.

I HAVE TO TELL YOU WHY!!!!

Pictured: Me, Excited Young Lady, My Friend

But you have to.... WAIT THERE IS MORE!!!

My friend delivering a stem kit to another intelligent young lady.



She is a phenomenal loving woman. She believes in helping others and has always been there for me.

Moreover, this “B” my friend, my sister, was out delivering STEM kits to young ladies on her birthday. She started at 2pm and did not finish until after 7pm.

I am honored that she invited me to ride with her. When she first asked me to go with her she stated that she would ask if I could get paid by the company she worked for. I did not realize that “Tuesday” would be her birthday. Hey, it’s the summer, who knows dates without checking a calendar? Good for you!!! My students are in charge of the date.

Evwn though that I am not teaching summer school this year I told her I would ride with her with or without pay.

Very Grateful young lady, and My Friend



We had a ball delivering the packages and experiencing the splendor of joy each middle school girl gave to her as she handed them their kits and balloons.

I suggest you open your heart and mind to the coworkers and possible friendship. Everyone does not have to be your friend but I think you possibly could find a lasting friendship.

I have had friends throughout my life, some of them I have known for almost 40 years, and I feel the same way about my “coworker sister” that I do for them.

P.S. I know you are saying, “Wow you are also such a good friend for riding with her on her birthday for free! I am going to send you a tip and share your story😂😂😂!!!”

Thank you so much for reading and do not forget to share my story!

P.S.S. This story should be called a Tribute to a true friend however, a lot of people love controversy lol!!! So I knew you would read it.

When I opened my eyes July 11, 2020, I thought about writing a story about my friend. At 8:14 a few minutes after she sent me the text message to encourage me. I sent her the story to get approval from the parents and the stem program coordinators since I used them in the story. While waiting on the response I went on with my day.

I drove to Lombard to host the party that she was willing to help me practice for. After I set up, I looked at my Facebook Memories and I screamed when I saw the post below. Check it out!!!



Thank you Coworker for being my friend!!! Thank you for showing me how to walk through the pain, anger, and disappointment!!! I will love you forever!!!

COWORKERS CAN BE FRIENDS!!! TO BE CONTINUED!

friendship
2

About the Creator

Mecca C Eaves-Glass

I’m a teacher with anxiety. I think the idea of wearing a mask all day is ridiculous. I am a wife, mother, grandmother I’m looking forward to new journeys and experiences. Therefore, I am a Bedroom Kandi consultant and now Vocal writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.