Humans logo

Counting My Blessings

Be prepared to count yours.

By Shamar MPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
2
Counting My Blessings
Photo by Amaury Gutierrez on Unsplash

Complain, complain, complain. The Human Race knows how to do this to perfection. What about gratitude and thankfulness? The most important part of the Law of Attraction that nearly everyone forgets? The key to your manifestations.

2020 has been a year of forced major changes upon us thanks to our New Founding Father, COVID-19, trying to purge us all. Putting us in lockdown and taking away freedom as we know it.

Not one person, even the richest of people either positively or negatively, has not been affected in some shape or form.

Unfortunately, millions have been affected negatively due to this virus and have lost jobs, income, businesses have been closed, families have been unable to get food and had loved ones lost. There's a long list of negative impacts. But there's always something to be thankful for.

In the United Kingdom, we do not have a Thanksgiving. It’s up to us as British individuals to reflect on the year at our own accord. So, let me tell you what I'm thankful for. What I thank the universe for.

"If the only prayer you said in your life was thank you, that would suffice." - Meister Eckhart

That I'm Alive

On 2nd July 2020 I ended up in the hospital. Due to the breathlessness I was having, my family thought it was coronavirus. I wish it was.

At the age of 23, I had an angina attack. Not fun. A lot of doctors were saying how for someone my age, no underlying health conditions, this shouldn't happen.

After a bit of background research, I had a lightbulb moment. It turns out that I had been ingesting dodgy diet drinks (I'm not mentioning the brand name) which contained amphetamines and a bunch of other bad stuff. The doctor has warned me this could have been fatal as people have previously died taking this drink. I had no idea.

I've never been so close to death in my life. For a good few months, I was having symptoms of an angina attack and actually ended back in the hospital. Luckily, these symptoms have subsided a lot now (fingers crossed) and I'm young enough for my heart to recover.

To whoever is listening, thank you for not taking my life away so young, for letting my body recover and for making me realise the changes I need to make to my diet.

That I Have a Job

Unemployment rates are at their all time high. Getting a job has never been harder. Never been so competitive.

When the government announced exams were cancelled for the rest of the year, this had affected me as I work in an exams department. What's going to happen now? Will I be made redundant? Shall I start applying for other jobs?

Our team was torn apart, some members were placed on contingency leave until further notice. Luckily for me, there was a demand for me in the department. Within the department? How lucky am I! A lot of people had to go to departments they've never worked in before at the university. Had to start all over again.

I went to the team next door so I had already known how they function. I had to learn a lot but I shan't complain.

To whoever is listening, thank you for not putting me in a much worse position. My job is secure and I shall prosper in it.

"When eating fruit, remember the one who planted the tree." - Vietnamese Proverb

That I Got a Promotion

As I said, I had moved teams this year. Due to this move, I had to put in quite a bit of extra work and hours. I had previously gotten interviews for other jobs in order for me to climb the career ladder in my organisation and failed.

All good things come to those who wait. And came to me it did. Even though it's not permanent, I have been working through 2020 at a higher level.

To whoever is listening, thank you for allowing me to make career progress and I shall strive to do well.

That I Haven't Had Coronavirus

Yet. In fact, I might have already had it but antibody tests aren't available yet.

So let me say, that I have not had to experience coronavirus. Out of all my "Oh no, do I have coronavirus?" scares, every test came back negative.

I could have not been able to breathe. I could have ended up in the back of an ambulance. I could have had a disgusting gut-wrenching cough. Fingers crossed I do not experience any of it.

To whoever is listening, thank you for not making me go through this scare mentally or physically.

"No duty is more urgent than giving thanks" - James Allen

That I Have a Support Network

Friends, family, work colleagues. Everyone said at least once; "If it gets hard, we are here." And I for them too.

During August, I was experiencing a nasty amount of anxiety. This is fairly rare for me as I do not class myself as someone who struggles with anxiety. I was struggling at this point. I couldn't even go for walks to clear my mind. I was experiencing sleepless nights.

There came a day, after about three weeks after I admitted I have an issue, where I couldn't let it go on and develop. It was affecting my everyday life due to the major changes around me that were way beyond my control.

Thanks to my work, we have a support network of counsellors who will offer you free sessions. No waiting list, just there and then you get to talk over the phone. Just being able to talk it out with someone helped me greatly.

To whoever is listening, thank you for not making me go through a horridly long waiting list and recognising that I needed the help.

That I Now have a Postgraduate Diploma

Exams were cancelled this year for millions of students worldwide and even in 2021. They had to settle for teachers' predictions and dodgy never used before grading systems.

I was also a student this year. But luckily for me, I had no exams. All of my work was coursework based and I have been able to complete my Postgraduate Diploma in Human Resource Management!

Okay, so I'm gutted a don't get to dress-up for graduation, but who cares? I'm thankful to just have this to my name.

To whoever is listening, thank you for not letting 2020 disturb my personal goals.

For the Roof Over my Head

For the Food That I Eat

For the Clothes On My Skin

For the Car That I Drive

I could go on and on. I physically cry as I write this.

A lot has happened to me this year and I have too much to be thankful for. Even though there have been a bundle of irritating restrictions and my holiday to Spain and Dubai were cancelled, you know what? 2020 really didn't turn out too bad for me. It could have been a whole lot worse.

If 2020 was not the best for you, please do not forget that everything happens for a reason. I'm just sitting here counting my blessings. I advise you to begin to count your own.

Growing up so fast in life,

Running from place to place,

Am I even paying attention?

Taking time to say thanks is foreign.

Easy to forget all the small things,

Find myself asking for more,

Until

Life makes you pause and reflect.

-Poem by Author

humanity
2

About the Creator

Shamar M

26. UK Based. Moans about everything (but in a fun way).

Follow me on Medium.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.