Humans logo

Correspondence: A love story through E-mails

[TWO] August 30th, 2017 - Him to Her

By KayPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
2
Correspondence: A love story through E-mails
Photo by Cosmin Serban on Unsplash

To: [email protected]

Subject: Greetings from the Land of the Rising Sun

Good morning,

Or it will be by the time you read this. Nighttime here is very different from back home. For one, you can see the stars and the air is... different. Lighter almost.

Before you ask, yes I called my mother. She and Robert got engaged. But I bet you already knew that. I appreciate that you let her tell me though. Thanks for not spoiling it.

I'm glad you were able to get your classes in order. I know you were spinning your wheels on this. But you've always been a great planner even since we were kids.

Just try to not take on too much... you tend to do that. It's your last year of Uni now, though I'm not entirely sure what the Media Studies program really entails.

Anyway, I just want to remind you to slow down.

Congrats on the bartending. Knox must be stoked that you'll be on the bar with him. Though you're probably going to earn just as much or more than I did in tips. I'm relieved that you'll be on with Knox though, he has no tolerance for handsy patrons. You'll be soloing on Sunday nights in no time. Great crowd. Older patrons, slow pace, deep pockets- it's perfect.

My brother was "nice"? Danny hit on you, didn't he? I told him you were off-limits. I hope he wasn't persistent, there was a reason I didn't give him your number. He's ultimately harmless though and he's a good guy although he can come off aggressive. Please don't go out with him. I probably don't need to tell you that he's not your type.

It was definitely a small fire. Nevertheless, thank you for cleaning it up, and getting my deposit back. You're truly amazing. Don't let the compliment get to your head. I'm sorry you had to do all of this stuff for me.

Give my thanks to your Dad as well. How is he by the way? Is his back still giving him problems? My co-worker swears by some ointment he found here in Kyoto. When I more settled I'll go and look for it and send some back for you.

Yes, the Meg thing is over. Can we just pretend that never happened? I admit I was a sucker for the facade. She was very attractive at first. Then you know- two dates in and I realized that you were right about her all along. All talk and no substance. Despite the rumours we didn't even sleep together. I need you to know that.

At my going away party I saw how she was treating you and I snapped at her for it. She followed me home though... and you know how that ended. It will be a funny story one day. She'll be known as the crazy who lit my bed on fire. But for now, let's just pretend that she never happened.

Thanks for having my back.

I've been thanking you a lot lately. I really should be apologizing.

When I landed there was a mixup with my baggage. The airline lost it. I had to even check my carry on because the flight was overbooked. Which... someone else mistakenly took. I have theirs though. I reached out to her so I can get my laptop back. In the meantime, I can only check my email when I'm at work.

Yuki, the rep from the agency, picked me up from the airport but it turns out that the apartment I'm meant to have isn't ready yet. Apparently the previous tenant had to wait for a new passport because his was lost or damaged or something, so he's not leaving until next week. I'm staying with Yuki and her family until it's ready.

You'd like her. She's lively and a really good cook. I can see you guys getting along. They have a 3-year old girl named Miyu. She is adorable and shy. Though she hasn't warmed up to me just yet.

I wasn't trying to avoid you or anything. I'm sincerely sorry that I worried you. It hasn't been an easy few days. I'm still adjusting to the time difference and the culture shock too.

I thought about calling you, but I don't really have a phone of my own just yet and I don't exactly have a lot of privacy right now...

As I read this email over I can see it's seemingly filled with excuses. They're not I promise you. Or maybe they are and I'm in denial.

I miss home already...

I'm sorry. I should have left a note or texted you, or something. I panicked.

That's probably not what you want to hear from me right now. You deserve better. Especially after that night.

I don't want to lose you right now or our friendship. I need us to just be us.

Is that okay? Are we okay?

-E

PS: My mother is going to ask you to help with the planning of her wedding. Just a heads up.

friendship
2

About the Creator

Kay

Entrepreneurial nerd with a bunny just trying to reach my goals and live my best life =)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.