Humans logo

Correspondence: A Love Story Through E-mails

[THREE] September 3rd, 2017 - Her to Him

By KayPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Correspondence: A Love Story Through E-mails
Photo by Scott Webb on Unsplash

To: [email protected]

Subject: Sure, We’re Okay

Good Evening,

I’m just guessing here. I’m not sure what time it is, or rather will be by the time you read this email.

Yuki sounds amazing. Just don’t crowd her doorway with your ridiculous shoe collection. Or I suppose you won’t have a chance to since your luggage was lost.

Bummer about that by the way. I hope you complained to the airline about it. Knowing you, you didn’t. Have they found it yet? What about your carry on? I hope the woman who took it by accident gets back to you soon.

I went to a club fair at school today. Don’t worry I won’t “take on to much.” I didn’t find a club that I liked. But I met the current student union president (side note- had no clue that we had one, to be honest). His name is Aaron, he said there are some work and study positions still available in the student centre. I’m going to go by on Tuesday between my classes and see what’s available. How perfect would that be? I have a 5-hour break between classes on Thursdays, and Friday’s class ends at 12:30 pm anyway so it would be amazing to find something on campus.

Senior year is looking like a lot of papers and a lot of projects. Not a lot of actual studying per se- more analyzing.

I also started bartending with Knox this past weekend. I have definitely misjudged the man. He is a machine behind the bar! He doesn’t miss a beat! He was extremely patient with me and still had time to help me with the drinks I was making. I have a long way to go for sure.

Dad is good. He says hello by the way. I’m pretty sure he misses you more than I do. He keeps asking me when you’re coming back. He’s missing his buddy. When mom was still with us she would always joke that Dad always wanted a son, that’s why he put me in sports. Unfortunately, I was (still am) not athletic. I’m taking him to a game in two weeks for his birthday.

To answer your question, his back is okay for now. It flares up now and then. I’m sure he will appreciate anything you give him. Just don’t go out of your way okay? You have this habit of saying yes to people even at your own expense.

Don’t worry about your brother. When I told him who I was his demeanour changed. Pretty sure my dad's presence also had something to do with it.

Your mom did ask me for help with the wedding. I said yes, then she made me cookies. She also asked me to be her maid of honour. I said that I would ask you first. I’d feel weird if I said yes without asking you. Did you know?

I’ll admit, I had to read your email a few times over before I could process what you were saying.

I love our friendship. I don’t think I’ve ever been this close to a person.

I know this is a stressful time for you right now. I can't imagine having to pick up and move to a country on the opposite side of the world. I really do admire you for going after what you want. Not many people, myself included, would be able to do that.

So yes. We're okay. Nothing has to change. We can just continue to be us.

However...I hate myself for having to ask.

What happened between us, that night...

Do you regret it?

I need to know.

-A

dating
Like

About the Creator

Kay

Entrepreneurial nerd with a bunny just trying to reach my goals and live my best life =)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.