Humans logo

Conditional Love

A love letter for you and me.

By The RelativePublished 5 years ago 4 min read
Like
Picture by Luisella Planeta Leone

My dear,

If you are the one I love, I will not leave you. I’ll be loyal to you and be there for you to be happy with you. I’ll still be there with you for when you’re not at your happiest. I’ll fight for you and won’t give up on you to make sure it works with you. You’re important to me and you’ll be my priority.

I’ll do all that I can to let you feel that you’ll never be lonely with me. But... I can only do that if you want to and can do all those things too. Because what we’ll have isn’t just love, it’s companionship. With that there is trust. There is teamwork. There is safeguarding, not the name of the relationship but of each other. We’re in it together to protect each other, not the relationship status we hold. We are the foundation of that relationship, not the name of it. We are moving together to take care of two human beings and each time we only just make the intention to do that, we do it with a touch more with love than last time.

Every time we support each other, care for each other, forgive each other, more and more, it will never get old or wither away; instead, it will all add up to a mountain of our love, unshakable. Not a temporary, soon forgotten social media post. Forget social media. This is about us. But I cannot work to do any of those things if you don’t even want to move from your spot for the journey before us. We have to walk together on this because if I keep going while you don’t move, I won’t have enough energy to pull you along with me constantly. Out of painful fatigue I’d have to let you go. And it would be hurtful and a pity to work for something you’ll end up leaving behind. So only take a step with me if you won’t stop walking as long as I won’t stop walking. And I promise you, I won’t let you walk all by yourself without me.

Please don’t think it’s a burden on me. It’s only less of a burden if you let me be free and let me love you. And I’ll welcome you to love me too. I’ll let you come with me on my journey and make it ours, every step of the way from then on, but only if you won’t let that journey that we’ve gone through waste away in vain, just because another path looks more prettier and smoother from afar. Because if you’re going to give up walking this path for another, you’ll still have to do the same for that path too. You’ll still have to keep going on that same path that will start to look old and boring because you’re not doing it for the path you’re doing it for the person. You’re not doing it for the experience to feel loved, you’re doing it to love the person freely.

So choose a person you know you’re not going to give up. Choose me if you can promise me like I’ve promised you that you will not give up on me. Not the road we’ll be taking. In the end that road holds no life to begin with; we do. The relationship holds no life unless we do. And life can only flourish if it is well nurtured by us.

I’ll be doing that for you for as long as you do that for me. But if you can’t do it for me, and you want to do it for your own parade, then you’ve already got yourself and what you need to keep you satisfied. I won’t hate you for that because there’s a reason why I chose to love you in the first place. I’ll may possibly still love you if you’ve done me no wrong. Only, I won’t be able to have you come along with me because you won’t want me to. And I will not painfully pull you along by your arms to walk with me when you have no desire to move your legs.

If you’re not willing to do those things as much as I am, then this letter wasn’t meant for you.

Sincerely,

Conditioned lover.

love
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.