Humans logo

Coming Out Pt. 2

Taking action

By Cat BartoliPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

It took me nearly 40 years to face my anxiety head-on and with real intention. The external in my life at the time looked really great while my internal turmoil mounted. I was working in what I thought would be my career job and surrounded by brilliant minds doubling as an extraordinarily supportive team. I had purchased my first house and was settling back into a place I like to call home. I went from being enamored with my job to entering into a love/hate relationship where self-doubt thrived. There were meetings I where I felt strong and confident and others I entered with dread. I recall two specific instances where I nearly blacked out in the midst of leading a conversation. Every couple weeks or so I would leave the office to “go for a walk” which opened the door to sobbing sessions largely rooted in my not feeling I was fully capable.

My therapy sessions were bogged down in work-related conversations and largely a self-deprecating commentary on my so-called (me describing me) ineptitude. All the while my coworkers and supervisors fed me accolades of a job well done. Still, I couldn’t climb out of the hole of self-doubt. As time wore on my therapy sessions felt like an endless loop. I wanted to quit my job convinced that I was undeserving and failing. I came right up to the edge and actually made reference to a resignation to my supervisor who, fortunately, intervened and helped me navigate a new path at work.

Each night I’d go to sleep only to wake up multiple times with my head swimming with dreadful thoughts. I mentally strategized how I could disappear. I walked through several death scenarios. Such notions plagued me during the day as I ruminated on my nightly plans. I was exhausted due to lack of sleep and frustrated that this translated into daily work dread.

For the first time in my life, I began a conversation about prescription medication. I was scared of being reliant on such a substance. I was scared about it impacting my personality and my persona. I was scared of the stigma that I myself have historically assigned to individuals who must take a daily pill. Needless to say, I moved ahead on a journey to find a drug that would help me manage my anxious nature.

In the first several months of this journey, I struggled to identify a drug that worked for me without significant negative side effects. Beyond the typical side effects that accompany drug initiation, I learned how each drug impacted my day-to-day baseline. I took one pill that made me exhausted, another that felt like 5 espresso shots, and one more that left my mind cloudy. After much work and firing my first psychiatrist, I was able to land on a medication that felt good.

I remember the day when I began feeling the positive effects of the pills. I woke up ready for the day. I felt good as I rode into work. I was focused and confident. I felt like a fucking champion! I remember reflecting upon the fact that I’d wished I’d allowed myself the space for this exploration earlier in life. I saw the parallels with having self-medicated for so many years to achieve what this pill had done. It was an exciting time.

The first few months on the medication I chose to stick with were, dare I say, DREAMY. The voice in my head quieted, I felt focused, my conversations with colleagues were comfortable, I slept through the night. I was amazed that I could even feel this way. Is this what “normal” feels like?! I wanted more!

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Cat Bartoli

Community-minded, food-obsessed, Philly-based dietitian

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.