Humans logo

Coming Out

So I knew this girl, I won't tell the name...

By Siera BerryPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

Hello there? If you're reading this, you should know or do know about this "Coming Out." For all my LGBTQ+ members that are reading this and need advice, you've clicked on the right thing. Now I have a story to tell about a girl who came out as a lesbian. For some of you, you can relate, and to others, you can't because for you it wasn't all peaches and cream for you, I'm all the same bandwagon as you.

So I knew this girl, I won't tell the name. She was beautiful inside and out. She was the typical teenage girl you'd see out of any movie. Yeah, she was just that perfectly flawed. Just kidding or am I? She had her three friends, a dad, a mom, and a brother. She was kind, loving, and caring. She had one secret that kept her from breathing because she was terrified of what people would think or how'd they react.

If you guess she was a lesbian and that was a secret, yay you when the golden prize for not being very smart. All her life, well since she was nine, she knew she was gay. She knew she liked girls, she knew if anybody found out it'd be bad for her. Or so she thought. She looked in the mirror and told herself, this would be a new day, she'd come out to her friends and family, she doesn't give a shit who accepts her or doesn't. She arrived at school and every chance she got to tell her friends she choked and said nothing, the same with her parents.

As days went by the same thing over and over. It began to feel like she was living the same day over and over again, but one day she got up out of bed and told herself this is the day and that she was ready. She arrived at the school in her normal spot with her friends. She was nervous but she blurted out the words I'm gay, I like girls, you can accept or don't, I'll live. She felt relieved.

All her friends looked in her direction and one eyeballed her and said that she loved her and that they all loved her queer or not. The girl went home to tell her parents. Her father was totally cool with it even made some jokes about it and mom...Well, mom wasn't too happy but she loved her daughter enough to get past that. The girl then thought I can finally inhale, I can breathe. That's the end. Short and sweet.

Now like I said not everyone's story is peaches and cream. Mine wasn't. Some of you guys parents may have disowned you ignores you, or straight up acts like you aren't even there. Some of your parents may have done some radical thinking and kicked you out of the house. Some of your family just don't care and some may act like you're a bottom feeder.

Some people may bully you because some people are just that cruel and closed minded. I got some advice for you. Fuck them. Anybody who doesn't love you for you or accepts, doesn't deserve you, doesn't deserve anything you have to offer, whether it be a lover, friend or family. I'll leave you guys with this.

You are unique, you are handsome, you are brave, you are beautiful, and most importantly you are you who gives a damn who likes it or not. Me being me is exactly the same as you being you. If you don't think you're loved by anyone, you are now by me, and that's unconditional.

lgbtq
Like

About the Creator

Siera Berry

Me being me is exactly the same as you being you

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.