Humans logo

Collaging My Creativity

All you need is an old magazine, scissors, a glue stick and paper.

By Samantha HearnPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
"Beauty is real, time is an illusion." Collage by Samantha Hearn.

I picked up collaging last year, creating mood boards through 2020 to motivate and inspire me. I'm a digital photographer, so the bulk of my creative work is all done in a camera and on my laptop, then posted to the digital world of Instagram and Pinterest. Collaging started as a hodge-podge, throw-it-together hobby, and really helped me be more hands-on with my creative flow, giving me a break that felt different from my daily routine. It has developed into what is now a very intentional, soul soothing craft time that both whisks me away and brings me into the present moment.

What you'll need:

- Magazines, old books, etc

- Craft Scissors

- Glue stick

- Thick, colored paper

You can use any old magazine for projects like this, which is how I started, but I found that vintage aesthetics were really my thing after getting inspired by Instagram collage artist Heir Bizarre. I picked up a few old Vogue, Seventeen and Playboy magazines from my local thrift shop, Pre-to-Post Modern. I also really love space and science, so I brushed off an old astrophotography book I had laying around that makes for some SUPER cool background detail. You can use other books too, such as vintage advertising books and old department store catalogs. I've got a book called "The Golden Age of Advertising - the 70s" that is one of my absolute favorites.

You'll of course also need scissors. I also recommend being very slow and careful with your scissors when you're cutting these pieces - sometimes the outline is so precise and so small that you really need to find your groove and be deliberate. I tried a sharp edge box cutter once and regretfully sliced a finger. Stick to scissors - using them might be a little more time consuming, but they won't disappoint you. I'm left handed, so I love this pair from Fiskars - but don't worry if you're a righty, they have tons to choose from! You really can't go wrong with a good pair of these multi-purpose scissors. Also, it's totally okay if your edges aren't perfect at first. It makes for a unique quirk and if you keep doing it, you'll inevitably improve your edges. Take your time when cutting and don't put any pressure on yourself for it to be perfect. This is an activity where you can get wonderfully lost in time and space!

Finding phrases is part of the fun - for this one I used a horoscope prediction.

I like to spend a few hours finding photos and phrases I love in the magazines and cutting them out, and then put them together with corresponding paper once I'm ready. Sometimes I have a vision for how one will look, but then I'll piece it together with something else and like it better. So definitely do some arranging and plotting before you set glue to paper! You can layer photos, mix photos together, add cool phrases, or cut together different letters to make your own words and quotes. There really is no wrong way.

You'll also need glue sticks - one of the first times I tried this I used a brush-on Gorilla type glue that to this day has not fully dried. Trust me, stick to good old glue sticks. I like Elmer's. Your thick colored paper will be the base of your collage. I recommend scrapbook paper - it's thick enough to be like a greeting card but not so thick that it's chunky, and it comes in every color you can imagine. I got a multi-pack of precut squares in assorted colors, but you could use patterns too if you like.

Once you're ready and have your collages laid out, brush the glue stick over the paper and make sure you really get the edges and ends, as that's where it has a tendency to try to come undone the most. Let the glue dry and voila! Your collage is ready. I like to scan mine and have a digital copy - you know, for the Gram and all. Happy collaging!

Dream! It's good for you :)

As you can see, my edges aren't perfect but that's okay!

Another horoscope quote in front of a classic cool car.

I took a silver pen and etched onto their eyes for a fun ~alien~ effect.

Collaging - it's as easy as dreaming!

Not all great works of art hang on the wall.

Perfect for the young at heart.

diy
2

About the Creator

Samantha Hearn

Hi! I'm Sammy Hearn, a photographer and artist based in Nashville, Tennessee. I like to write all sorts of things - DIY how-to costume stuff, photo series, short poems, fiction, you name it. My work can be found at www.samanthahearn.com.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.