Humans logo

Chiwetalu Agu Responds to Interviewer Who Asked What He Contributed to Nollywood

Chiwetalu Agu talks contribution to Nollywood and state of the industry

By Jide OkonjoPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

Nigerian actor Chiwetalu Agu is a household name at this point when it comes to the Nigerian movie industry. Chiwetalu Agu's proverbs, mannerisms, and sayings propelled him into national fame and adoration, and even if Chiwetalu Agu isn't really a comedian by profession, he is still one of the funniest actors to have graced Nollywood.

During a new interview with The Sun Nigeria, an interviewer asked Chiwetalu Agu what he thinks his contribution to Nollywood is, and what he thinks of the Nigerian movie industry today. Here is what the beloved actor said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

During his interview when asked what he has contributed to Nollywood, Chiwetalu Agu said:

CHIWETALU AGU: I can say Nollywood started through Living in Bondage produced by Kenneth Nnebue, and it was all about greed for money, not being contended with what you have and going extra mile and then getting into trouble. I found out that, at that early time, writers were not able to add comic relief, so I made sure I included comic relief. That is what makes me different.

This comic talent I have got has kept producers always looking for me. I don’t do movies without giving a buy line. You can recall many of them, including Mmiri Ama efi na Anya, Emergency Anwola Emma Jeyuo Nsi, Ukwu Nwaanyi Asaba, etc. This makes all the movies I do funny and interesting. I don’t drop lines written by the writers, I was always having these buy lines to make people laugh, so I go extra mile. I don’t confine myself to the lines written by the writer. My advantage is the comic relief I add to movies, and that is why producers always come to me.

When asked what he thinks about the state of Nollywood today, Chiwetalu Agu said:

The flow is not bad. But what bothers me about our movies is the quality; it shouldn’t be a bandwagon thing like that. If you don’t care about quality, there will be trouble for those who are practicing. I will like a situation where quality is controlled so that what comes out goes through screening process, to make sure we have quality. Whether we like it or not, the impact movies are making on our children is more than what obtains in schools.

The terrain used to be that the marketers shot blockbusters, but the children of today want to express themselves through short films, even as short as five minutes. Today, skits have taken over the movie scene, and I am happy for it, because they all make the society to bubble. My prayer is that their population continues to grow, because I can’t do it all alone, and nobody can take over my brand. I know I am good in proverbs. I don’t see anyone that can do it better than me. Let them do their own, let me do mine.

What do you think about what Chiwetalu Agu said, and what do you think about Chiwetalu Agu as an actor and celebrity? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.