Humans logo

Chioma Akpotha Rants About Rising Price of Food (Video)

Chioma speaks out

By Jide OkonjoPublished 5 months ago 3 min read
1

It is not news to anybody living in Nigeria today that the cost of goods is going up at a very rapid rate. Yesterday's price on many items is very far from today's price on those same items. Businesses are finding it very difficult to keep maintaining their places of work, and homes are finding it harder and harder to live in the economy today. The effect of the rising cost of goods is being felt by everybody at every class strata. From poor to rich, any law-abiding Nigerian earning naira through legitimate means will tell you how they've been affected by the crisis. One such person speaking out now is Nollywood actress, Chioma Akpotha.

During a new interview, Chioma Akpotha rants about the price of goods after coming back from the market and purchasing goods for her business Ugommba's Kitchen. In the video, which you can find below, Chioma Akpotha sits in front of bags from the market and rants about her experience. Here's what she said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to sign up for my newsletter below so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. At the end of each week, I'll compile all the best stories from the week and send them right to your inbox, so you don't miss out on any of the hottest things that have happened throughout the week. Sign up now so you always get alerted!

Ranting about the rising price of goods, Chioma Akpotha said:

CHIOMA AKPOTHA: A few years ago, all these things in the market would cost nothing less than 80, 90 thousand naira to purchase. Today, the 30th of November, 2023, today live, everything you see here in these small small bags - yam oh, cocoyam oh, tatashe oh, ugu oh, oha, all these things bought for Ugomba's Kitchen is almost 280,000 naira. Odiegwu! Customers please if we increase price, understand. Even you, as you enter market, you go know say some things don change. Yesterday, I wanted to eat shawarma, they told me shawarma is 5,000 naira. I packaged my hunger.

Here is the video of Chioma Akpotha's rant in case you want to see it for yourself:

Thanks for diving into this story of actress Chioma Akpotha with me! Btw, every time you read, support, and share my work, it fuels my hunger to keep bringing you the latest news on your favorite Nigerian celebrities, movies, music and more. Your thoughts also matter to me, so please share them in the comments below, or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post. Let's keep the conversation going! I can't wait to see your thoughts on this.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to subscribe to my newsletter if you don’t already for more stories like this - collated every week and sent right to your inbox so you don't miss out on anything.

Btw, in addition to blogging, I also make money through Whatsapp Status Sessions. If you also want to earn money through status sessions, I've created a complete guide to help you get started so we can all eat! Download it here.

In addition to running a blogging page, I also run a writing community called "Jide Okonjo Writers Club" where you can create, earn, participate in critique, and mingle with other writers. There's a N100,000 writing contest happening now so to join us, click here.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
1

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Vicki Lawana Trusselli 5 months ago

    THE RISING COST OF FOOD. THE RISING COSTS OF RENT. I HEAR YOU. THANK YOU FOR PUBLISHING THIS

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.