Humans logo

Cheers! To Dry January

It's easier to get rid of old habits when you see changes happen immediately

By Samantha ScottPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1
Cheers! To Dry January
Photo by Espolòn Tequila on Unsplash

Last year was the first time I've stuck to a New Year's resolution (well a 31 day resolution), I completed Dry January with no problem at all. I don't know why I made a big deal out of it during previous years. I've managed a full 31 days without alcohol, so, cheers to that.

The concept of Dry January was founded in 2011 by Alcohol Change UK, and the campaign grows in popularity each year.

At first, I thought it may be nice to see if I could stick at something for once, but the more I thought about it, I realized it was a chance to kick start a healthy routine for the rest of the year - I plan to do the same this year.

It gave me the time to review any unwanted habits, allowing more time for outdoor activities and put a stop the groggy mornings.

On reflection, giving up alcohol for the month, helped me swerve the late-night snacking and those morning hangover cravings, which of course then led to healthier eating overall.

As tempting as it was, I manage to avoid the boozy brunches. Thankfully, because of the pandemic, all birthday parties were cancelled, and to be quite frank, there was a lack of reasons to celebrate and therefore less of a reason to drink.

Previously, celebrating was often the cause of opening a bottle of bubbles and with that in mind my relationship with alcohol has definitely changed since.

Next time there is a reason to drink, I'll probably think twice before saying yes. I don't need it to function and I certainly did not miss it .

My relationship with alcohol has definitely changed. Next time there is a reason to drink, I'll probably think twice before saying yes.

Looking back, I'd say the first week was the hardest, as the Christmas period was a month of copious drinking, so getting back on track with healthy eating, nothing to look forward to, and starting fresh, left me feeling deflated.

Despite needing to get into the swing of things, I noticed my skin starting to clear so I saw that as a positive, and continued the journey - I was sleeping SO much better too. I made sure my family was aware of my goal so they'd avoid pouring me a drink at dinner time. I also found alternatives by trying to replace a G&T with a soda and lime.

The University of Sussex found that six months after Dry January more than 70% of those who took on the challenge at the start of the year, have continued to drink more healthily throughout the year.

This has resulted in a long-term impact on their relationship with alcohol. It certainly shows me that you don't need a drink to have fun, relax, or certainly not needed just to 'get through the weekend'.

Reducing your intake of alcohol reduces your risk of more than 60 health conditions, from liver disease, high blood pressure, to depression.

With that in mind, it was more than just a month of no alcohol. I won so much more than that. My skin is brighter, I've been sleeping loads better, therefore, my mind is calmer and I generally have had way more energy despite being the gloomiest time of the year.

We all know that a good night’s sleep is just as important as regular exercise and a healthy diet so by quitting alcohol for one month, I really did start to see differences here. My body became my alarm clock, I was waking up at the same time every morning, even before my alarm went off, which led me to believe I was getting the right amount of sleep I needed. Turns out your body has a natural time-keeping clock known as your circadian rhythm. This is a natural process where your body can, over time, create a routine.

New year, new you - are you going to kick-start any health habits come 2022? I can suggest attempting dry January for 30 days, it really did have a positive effect on everything in my day to day life. If I can do it, you can do it.

Happy New Year

advice
1

About the Creator

Samantha Scott

Remote work advocate | Slowed since 2018 | Actionable tips for remote workers, nomads & those who slow travel

IG: @allthingsremote 📸

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.