Humans logo

Chance Encounter

Fate unfolds

By Sherry jacksonPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1

The trailer was sitting waiting for us at the RV Resort.

Beth my co-worker had become my best friend. After arriving at the beach our rental RV had been delivered waiting for us. I slowly opened the modern large RV’s door. It was going to be their temporary home for the week end and give them that escape from the busy world of newspaper reporting to a life of pure serenity with ithe RV sitting only yards away from the beautiful beach.

The smell the salty air filled my nostrils as the Sind of sea gulls squeaked and flapped their wings filled the lovely blue sky.

We changed into our bathing suites and rode our rented bikes down the Sandy beach.

The next morning, I got up early

And walked barefoot on the shore line letting the ocean waves lap ceaselessly at my feet. The sun felt warm the morning sun warmed my body and the playful wind tossed my hair. Back and forth.

It was still early so their were only a hand ful of people on the beach.

. I began to do my run with the hopes of getting 3 miles in.

In the distance I could see some one coming in my direction. When the figure s got closer I could see it was a man walking with his little dog.

It was though we were coming to meet each other. Suddenly I felt I had been here before. A total flash back of another time and another place . As the msn got closer I could see how well he was built and how handsome. When he was just about to pass me, in his tan shorts and white shirt . I clearly could see his piercing dark eyes.

. His dog came over to me and began sniffing my leg . I could see he was a friendly dog. I reached down and petted it. The dog began to wagging his tail.

Then out of no where a large wave hit us making us both lose our balance and fall into the ocean water.

The dog began to bark running around us He helped me up and we couldn’t stop laughing.

Wow! Didn’t expect that , he said. Still laughing we went our separate ways.

That night my co- worker and I fire up the barbecue grill beside the RV and made hamburgers. The moon was full and there was a soft warm breeze.

We sat outside drinking wine talking and watching the brilliant stars in the sky.

Then I turned feeling as though someone was watching me. looking a few yards from our RV the stranger I had fallen by accident into the ocean waves.

was sitting outside his RV, alone with his dog. He was staring at me.

We decided to go inside and get some sleep. Before I closed the door I looked over to see if he was still there and he was still watching me.

Surprisingly around 3 am the wind began to blow with a mean twist, and coupled with lightening.and Thunder.

My co worker and I both woke up at the same time from the roaring thunder.

Then a knock came at the

RV’s door. It was the sheriff telling everyone they had to

Leave because we were in the flooding area.

We quickly gathered our things. Then another knock came at the door. We looked at each with a questioning look in our eyes,

When I opened the door , it was the stranger.

Im inviting anyone who wants to come to my place up the hill and not have to go to the shelter.

Outside though the door I could see several other families behind him.

He turned off onto a gravel road and stopped in front of a white modern house, three levels high with a balcony in each one and was absolutely beautiful.

He opened the door for all of us and the sight of the elegant interior was breath taking. It had a spectacular view of the ocean from it’s many windows.

Make yourselves at home , he declared to everyone.

There three families who also decided to come - two of them with small children.

The maid came in and brought everyone some warm tea and cups of chocolate for the kids.

He stood looking out of the window

I walked over to stand beside him.

How can you be so free and trusting to perfect strangers?

Oh you mean letting everyone come here?

Well, I like giving even more than receiving. I guess I got it from my dad.

He was a man who fought for justice- a judge.

I see. I replied.

Forgive me for my bold ness he said as he turned to look at me but When I first saw you walking on the beach -something happened to me- I don’t know if it was your eyes or your friendly smile.but it lingered in my mind. I would like to get to know you better— to know what makes you tick- and what makes you happy.

Lightening flashed across the night sky. It lit up the whole room and Boldly displayed his intense mysterious eyes.

I felt a closeness with him and found myself wanting to know more about him.

I’m a Private Detective and help out with some criminal cases that are hard to resolve. My name is Alfred Goodman.

What is yours?

I answered - Mary- Mary York.He offered his hand out to me.

I placed my hand in his and was surprised on natural it felt. He didn’t let it go for a few seconds looking deeply into my eyes.

From that time we have become inseparable and he is my dream come true.

Our wedding was on his balcony with a few guest overlooking the ocean on a night when the moon was full and thousand of stars filled the night sky.

As he kissed my hand dedicating his life to me I knew it wasn’t coincidental that we had meet and fell in the ocean that night but it had was something to do with fate and destiny.

As we held hands after the ceremonny walking along the beach I knew he was my eternal love for now and akways.

dating
1

About the Creator

Sherry jackson

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.