Humans logo

catfished

catfished

By Gracie CrusinberryPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
catfished
Photo by Aliyah Jamous on Unsplash

Hi, my name is Gracie Crusinberry. I'm from Lincoln, Nebraska. i met my catfish online but never IRL, we met on this website/broadcasting app called younow. i'm sure you've heard of it, if not that's ok. I thought he was the one you know? the perfect guy, he was handsome, made me laugh and smile and happy. but there was red flags a lot of it. he would send a snap video but it was blurry a little and darkish. He would never video call me ever even though I knew what he looked like. Is that weird? What's more weird is that his PFP on facebook kept changing.

i didn't think of it but i broke up with him because of the distance and he never made a commitment to meet me IRL and because i knew he and i would never meet ever. he lived in california and i'm pretty sure he still does..... little did i know that after years and years he would be moving to nebraska for me because of the wildfires happening in california and how unsafe it was. he moved to seward nebraska which is about 30 minutes from lincoln. we still didn't meet even though he moved here supposebly. one day last year in august it was when my family was gone for a trip and i'm the only one at home, he said to me what if i'm a different person? Would you still love me and be with me. im like wym? so he said what if i'm a different color and not who i say i am blah blah blah blah would u still love me blah blah. im like wtf in my head is he talking about? so i said i need to see who u r TBH. he's like ok! he finally showed who he was and i literally was point blank dead.

it wasn't who he said he was he was a different person and i was so mad. He made me do inappropriate things on camera to him and I said no. i was mad at myself at this point cuz i trusted this dude. he explained how he dated a 16 year old girl who is a MINOR WHEN THIS DUDE WAS MY AGE AT 20 SOME YEARS OLD POSSIBLY WHEN HE WAS 22 ! he said that she was scared saying no no dont tell my parents and that he said ima link it online and tell ur parents and shes like no no.

i'm like wtf is wrong with this dude!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! never in my ENTIRE LIFE have i've been this scared because of this dude. no i didn't call the cops cuz cops won't do anything without proof PERIOD!!!!!!!!! and cuz i hate the cops and that they came to me twice because of this one girl but that's another story for later.

after i hung up on him he's like ima link them. u know what i had to do i had to contact a friend and pay him to hack him. i went downtown to drink that night before work. i didnt eat for dinner for 4 days straight because i trusted him that i didnt know and that i felt so stupid and hurt and that i wanted to die. i wanted to die because i knew that the family would never let me see my kid. no one was home to support me, my mom and dad were out of the country, my brother was in NYC, my brother pete an hour away in omaha and my brother mike in minnesota.

I didn't tell anyone about this. The only person I told was my friend kera. i eventually told my family in nyc. to this day it still gets to me every time i see a black person who looks like my catfish i get scared and that i turn away and that when they try to talk to me i'm like go away leave me alone. It left me with PTSD and that I still have that image in my head. i contacted MTV to help me but that hasn't done much to help idk if they found him or not. He left me with a graphic message.

im still hurt by this.

social media
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.