Humans logo

Catchphrase With Cameron

"You can't choose love because it will naturally occur to you when you feel some sort of connection."

By Bethany GordonPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
1

Intro

I was online multi-dating for three months and grew a strong connection with two men, Jonathan and Cameron. Both showered me with warmth and tenderness through video chats and messages but also gave me the strength and courage to push on forward during the hardship of the pandemic.

As the world was gradually opening up again, I felt as if it was time to finally choose one of them to go on a first date with. Some people say "you can't choose love because it will naturally occur to you when you feel some sort of connection", and that's how I felt about Jonathan. Our video chats were an easy breeze as our conversations just naturally flowed. We shared the same interest, had the same passion for fine dining as his occupation was a head waiter for a Michelin star restaurant, and we'd both been through the ups and downs of being in several relationships that didn't work out. Once you've experienced the challenges of being in love with different people, you have an understanding of what you want for yourself and he seemed to be in that headspace. However there was one problem, Jonathan lived miles away in another city whereas Cameron lived in the same town where I lived.

My heart was leaning towards Jonathan but my mind was telling me no. In the past I have experienced long distance relationships and all of them did not end well. I didn't think I could commit to another one, so unfortunately I called it quits with Jonathan via video chat.

It broke my heart to know that he could of been the one, but Cameron seemed like the better option. He was very attractive and carried himself with pride and dignity through our video chats. He was also very mature and sensible in terms of personality but he seemed like the type that could have a bit of fun if we'd meet up in person.

After days of decision making and hours of walking back and forth, I'd decided to go on a date with Cameron, as I'm eager to explore more of who he is and see whether or not this could potentially work between us. But surprisingly enough Cameron actually called me a few minutes before I was about to call him. He asked if I wanted to go for dinner at The Little Blackbird French restaurant the next day. I clearly said yes with no hesitation and started looking up the restaurants menu of their famous French cuisines. It showed he truly cared for me but strange to find out that we were both thinking about each other at the same time. I felt as if our stars were aligning, and I saw this as a clear sign from the universe that we were meant to be.

The Night of the Date

It was eight o'clock and I waited patiently for Cameron to arrive at our private dinner table in the restaurant. I was all dressed up in a velvet red dress and striking red high heels with several pounds of makeup blended in on my face. The waiter came by and lit a candle in the middle of the table, as he wanted to set the mood for the special night ahead. My mind was in two places at once; I couldn't wait to see Cameron in person as I was feeling some sort of way with the romantic ambience in the room, but the waiter that came by the table looked like Jonathan. As he swept away into the "Staff only" room I couldn't stop thinking about all the feelings I had for Jonathan. His exotic curly hair, with his beautiful smile and cheeky dimples made me blush for a few seconds. I was just imagining him in front of me talking with his sincere voice that would make any woman go wild. I was dreaming about him until Cameron finally showed up in a fine looking tuxedo.

Catchphrase with Cameron

We were three hours into the date and I was hoping he would just stop talking so I could go home and cradle in my bed. With a two course meal of Escargots à la Bourguignonne and Black Olive Tapenades down in our stomachs, we were feeling very bloated and couldn't get up, but my heart was telling me to get out of this living nightmare. I knew I was speaking to a random stranger for the entire night as Cameron was the complete opposite to who he claimed to be. I felt as if I was speaking to a seventeen year old that looked like a grown man who was not ready for a serious relationship. He didn't have the level of maturity that someone would expect for his age and he talked a lot, I mean a lot! Which was the main reason why I couldn't make an exit.

"Okay. Let's play a game that I always play with my friends," Cameron said in a joyous tone, whilst I stropped my head down and rolled my eyes thinking when the night will come to an end. He didn't even let me respond to how I felt about playing a game in a romantic dinner setting, he just continued on explaining how the game works.

"Were going to play Catchphrase! I will draw images or words onto a piece of paper and you need to guess the phrase the pictures are showing. Remember this is Catch-phrase, so the phrases will be ones that are commonly said by us humans." He explained the game and looked super excited to get stuck into it, and I was wishing for the waiter that looked like Jonathan to come back to our table and tell us that the restaurant will be closing early.

Cameron grabs a small notebook and pen out of his pocket and takes his time drawing the first Catchphrase.

"What do you think this catchphrase is?" he asked and I stared at him with a blank facial expression.

"I have no idea, but I'm assuming the drawing of the couple is of me and you?" I replied in a way that seemed as if I was annoyed but he kept looking at me with anticipation as if I was really enjoying this pre-teen game.

"Yes the couple is of me and you but the catchphrase is," he says as he bites his lower lip and writes the words for the phrase.

Red wine makes people sexy

"Red wine makes people sexy! I was thinking we could order a glass of Merlot and head back to my place in a little while." He says in a deep, trying to be charming voice as he leans forwards and slowly grabs my hand. I couldn't resist this uncomfortable moment so I snapped back and thought of an idea that will make this night end faster than Usain Bolt.

"So you want to order an expensive glass of wine and start to get all sexual with me?" I questioned but Cameron laughed and kept quiet as he didn't know what to say. What a fool. "Let's continue on with the game, but this time I'm drawing!" I said with remark as this was about to be the happiest moment of the night.

I quickly grabbed the pen and notebook and began drawing my catchphrase before I started to say anything else regarding wine or going back to his place.

I had a smirk on my face once I was done. Hoping that he would get it straight away considering he played this game all the time with his friends.

"Ermm, I have no idea. Give me a clue?" he asked.

"You know the guy at the bottom is a perfect drawing of you, right?" I replied with concern as I thought he would get this one immediately and call it a night.

"Sorry, I don't know, give me another clue," he responded as if he was really disappointed in himself. I finally decided to give him attitude as I rolled my eyes directly at him hoping that he would somehow get the message that this evening is terrible.

Once I finished my second drawing, Cameron's face looked concern as I think he understood my message towards him. I squinted my eyes at him and I could see the heartbreak coming from the inside that was entering his eyes. Yes, teardrops were coming down, I was trying so hard not to smile but I couldn't ignore the fact that I was a few minutes away from leaving this dinner table and never seeing this boy again. I don't normally tell people how I'm feeling as I can sometimes sound hurtful and disrespectful, so I thought it would be best to do this catchphrase to communicate on how I felt about him.

I'm not into you

Cameron had no words once I wrote the words out for the catchphrase. It was devastating for him but a sigh of relief on my behalf. Wicked me decided to do one more catchphrase to let him know the main reason why I'm not into him.

I'm looking for a husband that's not a boy

"Sorry Cameron, I'm looking for the one, you were another person when we were interacting online. I feel as if your not ready to commit yet and that's ok, but I'm not going to sit here and waste anymore time with you." Annoyingly I said. I called the waiter over to ask for the bill, I eventually took off my high red heels as I wasn't trying to impress Cameron anymore and walked out of the restaurant. I left him to pay the bill as he did say "he'll take me out" which means he's paying for the bill. I would normally feel bad for treating someone in the way I did to Cameron, but I was frustrated at him. I felt as if he put on a fake personality when we were interacting online so I would go out with him. I've dealt with many boys in my lifetime and I'm not dating someone to play silly games over a dinner table or deal with their immaturity issues. I'm a grown woman and I need someone that will be there by my side, someone that is serious about a lifetime commitment and that person is Jonathan.

The Morning after Catchphrase with Cameron

I woke up the next morning feeling satisfied with myself as I called it quits with someone that I knew wasn't ready for true love. This little date with Cameron taught me a very important lesson:

Always go with your gut feeling and not the crazy thoughts on your mind when it comes to love.

That evening I was thinking about Jonathan non-stop, the waiter that looked like him elevated my emotions even more. But I hated myself for doubting our future relationship before I denied him. I said before "you can't choose love because it will naturally occur to you", well this applied to the way I felt about Jonathan. He was a three-hour plane ride away, which wasn't too bad as I've been in relationships where my exes were living in another continent.

Love can accomplish anything and defy the impossible, no matter how hard a relationship can be, one thing that will help get through a phase of difficulty is the love between two. I mentioned earlier that the universe gave me a sign to be with Cameron. Well maybe that sign wanted me to go on the date with him so I can realise how strong my feelings were for Jonathan. All those emotions I had of being in that French restaurant was hard for me to ignore, picturing him in front of me and seeing a look-a-like of someone with the same occupation as him was not by chance.

The only thing that was on my mind was to call Jonathan to let him know how I felt.

dating
1

About the Creator

Bethany Gordon

Fun, quirky articles to keep you entertained. Instagram: hellobethanygordon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.