Humans logo

Castle Phoenix

Fairy tales don't always start as expected.

By Emily A DinwiddiePublished 4 years ago 7 min read
Like

Things are usually quiet in our little neighbourhood, with the occasional dog barking or kids playing in the quiet cul-de-sac. But for the past few months, my neighbour, Mr. Andrew Chase, has been acting a little bit strange. He has been receiving numerous very large crates, which he has been opening and displaying on his front lawn. Come to find out, my now nicknamed 'crazy neighbour' seems to be having a midlife crisis. Instead of a sports car, he bought a Scottish castle.

Seems that the castle is in severe dilapidation in order to bring it back to its former glory. The crates he has been having delivered are instrumental in repairing and renovating the castle. He showed me pictures of it, it's beautiful, he got it for a steal, but the repairs are moderately extensive and expensive. His plan was to ensure the roof was stable over at least one bedroom and the bathroom and then he would move into the castle to start fixing up the rest of the castle, starting with the roof.

But first, he had to meet with the building inspectors, contractors, and historians, and for that, he had to leave his home for about a month, with no one to take delivery of any packages. So I told him that I would be willing to sign for them while he was gone, as this endeavour of his had piqued my interest as well. He requested that I open the packages and make sure things were not damaged, then return them to their packages and place them in the container, if the package was not too large to move.

His eventual plan was to open a bed and breakfast, and as such, he would need quite a few staff members. But for now, he is fully involved in the renovation, and he continued to receive crates. After about a week, a shipping container was brought and placed in his front yard and he enlisted people to help him move things from his home into the container, which I was to oversee as well, as he gave me the key to his home.

He knew of my expertise in business administration and so he offered me a position in the new Bed and Breakfast when it opened, which he surmised would be in about 4 months, just long enough for me to wrap things up and relocate. I was elated and set about tying up loose ends, gaining my passport and selling what I didn't need. We exchanged mobile phone numbers and emails and over the next week, he received numerous packages, which I signed for, then opened and checked to be sure they were in one piece and then packed into the container. I also looked up online the documents needed for settling in the UK and found out it would take slightly more money than I had in my savings account. When I mentioned to him about the cost, he said not to worry as he would cover it due to him being my employer now.

He started sending over pictures of the castle, in its current state, with him and the inspector there, then as it started to be repaired. This was all quite exciting and almost too good to believe, but it was true. He sent me a picture of the documents he signed to purchase the place as well as the coordinates for the property. I did my research and it was all true, I even checked the property card and the record of sale and it all matched up. How pleased I felt that this was becoming true, an adventure to Scotland.

Some of the more unique items he purchased that I was fortunate to check out were suits of armour, statues, and swords from the early days of American history, things which were unique to America and not easily found in the UK. He mentioned that I could put my things in the container as well, as there was plenty of room for both our belongings.

The weeks went by quickly, the pictures of the repairs continued to come, and continued to impress. He finally showed me pictures of the bedrooms as they started repairs on them. He asked me what I would like in my bedroom, what colours - which I told him my favourites were blue, purple and silver; what kind of furnishings - which I told him to just surprise me, but nothing extravagant as I would only be his employee, and we were not in a personal relationship, so it wouldn't seem right for anything more expensive.

He continued to send pictures, and I would share pictures of what deliveries he had while he was away. The castle was coming along nicely, it looked beautiful and he inquired as to if I would start making accounts for the Bed and Breakfast, make a database of vendors and locally sourced food for the kitchen, create a logo and letterhead, as well as write up advertisements for the staff. I thought long and hard, the better part of two days about what logo would suit the rebirth of the castle from the ruins into glory and then it dawned on me, The Phoenix Bed & Breakfast. It was the perfect name, as he was bringing the castle from 'the ashes'

I decided to use the outline of the castle as part of the logo, made several drawings and sent them to him. I would write an advertisement, first for the front desk staff, then the cooks, then the servants and housekeepers. He was thrilled with what I was writing and gave me the names of the publications to run the ads in as well as the time frame for interviews and hiring. He took what I consider to be a great leap of faith and gave me the details with which to be able to pay for the submissions to the publications. But I suppose I should have expected that level of trust, after all, he was having me receive, inspect and sign for his deliveries, as well as write up ads for staff and organize the business.

When the month was up, he returned with very little fanfare. He was very pleased with what all I had done in his absence and how well things were coming along with the repairs of the castle and the storage of his belongings, and mine into the container. Things were coming along swimmingly as far as the business relationship was concerned, which was why I was totally unprepared for what happened after we moved to the castle.

The bedroom he picked and furnished for me was nothing less than a Scottish Lady of the castle would have had. It was beautifully furnished with the oldest yet most elaborately ornate furnishings, the duvet was a beautiful burgundy, the bed curtains were a gorgeous navy blue and the window dressings were a silver layer with dark backing so as to block out the light if one wanted an afternoon nap. The lamps were just as beautiful, electric, but with holders for candles should the power go out during a storm.

Another two months and the castle was nearing completion. We started advertising and setting up interviews, it was quite a good turnout and the positions were filled quickly with good, hard-working people. They were referenced and confirmed and started moving their things into the staff wing. It was truly a joy to see the castle become lively again as the staff set about dressing the rooms as the movers brought in the beds and furnishings for each suite.

Opening day eve came and an elaborate banquet was held to celebrate, and this is when things got very interesting. Amongst the setting up of the business and all pertinent items for the Bed and Breakfast, the business relationship became like a well-oiled machine and as things happen, it spilled over into our personal lives. At the banquet, he called for everyone's attention, raised a toast, then out of the blue got down on one knee and proposed. He said, "Eleanor Burton, will you consent to become my wife and the queen of my castle?" I was quite shocked, I had no idea this was to happen, so I was quite unprepared for it. As I sat there with my jaw on the floor staring at him, the young lady sitting next to me started nudging me in the side gently. I recomposed myself and nodded an answer of yes to his proposal.

Fairy tales can indeed come true, but they don't always start out the way you would think.

love
Like

About the Creator

Emily A Dinwiddie

Am a 30+ year experienced script/screenplay/storyline writer. Writing is my passion. I write poetry when my Muse gives it. My guardian burned my creative writings in '85, but I kept going anyway.

My work is Copyrighted.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.