Humans logo

Camping trip

Gone Wrong

By Jeremy WhitePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Camping trip
Photo by Blake Wisz on Unsplash

Get ready for an amazing true story of a camping trip I took with my best friend when we where younger. First a little background info. We have been for thirty years. When we were younger his family took a camping trip to Lake Lanier every year. I went them twice.

The first time went well. We swam in the lake. We went night fishing. We played baseball and horseshoes. We made campfires. It was a good week. The second trip is what this story is about.

It started out good. We made it there fine. When we arrived and pulled into our spot with the camper nothing worked. The water, sewage, and power was broken. We had to move out of our normal spot into one that worked. Then we find out the showers are closed for the first few days we were there. We have a shower in the camper but there are six people in the camper. At this point I knew this was going to be an interesting week. Even at this point all of it is laughable in the moment.

This is when the story turns, and I start to talk about all the things that happened to me personally on this trip. The very first thing that happened to me occurred on the second day. We were playing baseball in the sand. I was running to catch a ball and tripped in the sand and landed face first. I got up and dusted my face off. They where all laughing, including me because they knew I was the clumsiest one out there. The second thing that happened during the baseball game was not so funny in the moment, but it was later. My friend was batting, and I was pitching, and he hit a line drive right at me and hit me right in the head. I was out for a few seconds and came to in a daze. I sat out for the rest of the day. Of course, they caught the whole thing on video.

The next day we went fishing. We fished for a while. We caught a few apiece. We were just hanging out and having a good time. Before we headed in, we set up nets for night fishing. As we where setting the nets I leaned to far over and fell out of the boat. They got me back in. They were laughing there heads off. I just brushed it off and we went back that night to see if we caught anything.

The next few days went by without any more incidents. We just had a good time. Some people may not be able to spend a whole week with there best friend and their family. That was never a problem for us. We can spend a lot of time together and not get tired of each other. We were always at each other’s houses. That Friday his cousin’s family arrived for the weekend. They were staying in one of the cabins. We hung out with them a little. It was his girl cousin and her friend.

The last thing that happened is the one thing that left scars on my body. After a good day of playing, we were going to hang out in their cabin before we went to check the night traps again. Let me say at this point I cannot see good at night never have, never will. I was running behind for some reason and I decided it would be a good idea to run in the dark to their cabin. That was a bad idea because I did not see the low-lying brick wall. I fell over it and tumbled down a hill a little way. When I walked in the cabin, I looked kind of bad. It was my friend his cousin and her friend in the cabin. My friend just looked at me and shook his head. The girls went into nurse mood. They got my ankles patched up. When it was time to go check the nets I just stayed in the cabin with the girls. We had a good time listening to music and just talking. Now I know what you are thinking. A 15-year-old left alone in a cabin with two girls. I can assure you that nothing happened. His cousin I had known since we where little and her friend almost just as long.

That was my incredible, crazy, true story of my camping trip.

friendship
Like

About the Creator

Jeremy White

I am from a small town. I have grown up surrounded by woods. I love to Write. I started out with poems. I did not start writing stories until I joined vocal. Writing stories is really fun. I have a Bachelors in Psychology.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.