Humans logo

Bull in a China Shop

Taurus on Steroids

By Miranda BowronPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
3
Bull in a China Shop
Photo by Cole Winters on Unsplash

Let me start off by saying, I don't normally pay any attention to zodiac signs. Like... at all. It's not to say I hate people who are into astrology, or hate talking about it. I've just never been interested. Being something because you're born on a certain day doesn't make much sense to me. I have tried so very hard to understand it, and I can't.

But, in my research, I have discovered a little bit of what it means to be a Taurus. I never thought I related to a Taurus at all. Maybe that's why I thought it was silly. I never thought of myself as a stubborn old bull who needs everything done the same way. And in some ways, I'm not that stubborn old bull you leave in the shed.

By Toa Heftiba on Unsplash

I'm the bull in the china shop. I've learned that Taurus' can also be stubborn, patient, and perfectionist. All of which, I am. I know you may think that stubborn and patient are two very opposite words, but have you ever been so stubborn to the point you have to be patient for someone to realize you're right? I know I have.

We're also either 0 or 100. Never is there an in-between moment in my mind. I'm either cleaning the entire house or rewatching the Harry Potter movies again. I'm productive, until I realize something is out of place and spend the next hour trying to clean one spot on the mirror that won't budge. If I'm going to relax, I'm going to relax for the next twelve hours and if I'm going to exercise, I should probably run a 5k. I go from nothing to everything extremely fast and if you can't catch up, that's a shame for you.

By Sincerely Media on Unsplash

Another trait I had no idea I had in common with Taurus' is the problem with authority. Yikes. I work for myself now, thank goodness. I can remember a time when I worked in an office setting (I know.. how boring) and I absolutely couldn't stand anyone I worked with. Some days I couldn't figure out why. If someone told me to do something, they were my new worst enemy. I couldn't stand it. Just let me sit here and do my job. Don't ask me to do all these new things that you could've done yourself. And that's why I don't work under anyone anymore... I had no idea this was a "Taurus Thing".

One thing I did notice that is slightly inaccurate about me, personally, is the unwillingness to change. I love change, in fact I thrive on change. I cannot do the same thing every day or I'll explode in boredom. If someone came up to me and said "You're moving to a different country". I'd be so freaking excited to see my new world. If I had to wake up and run every single day, I'd be pretty upset about it. So there's something about myself, I find different than a Taurus. Maybe, there's a moon or star pattern or something out there in the astrology universe that can help me, but I'm honestly not sure why I am this way.

Part of that unwillingness to change, I think ties in with the Taurus' need for security. And that is something I can relate to. I do need security. When I'm thinking about doing something, I really research it before I consider myself ready to make the next move. But in a scenario where something is thrown at me, I don't get upset or dwell on my change. I just let it happen. I'm pretty easy-going as far as change. I enjoy changing up my day to day, my work, my social life. Everything changes, and maybe that's just something I've come to accept, or maybe I've been researching for so long, I'm stable with most things in life and have the opportunity to change things one by one and not let it affect me. Who knows?!

By Roman Kraft on Unsplash

I know that Taurus' are very genuine and trustworthy in relationships. I'd say the same about myself. But they also have this characteristic of being timid about jumping into romantic relationships. I completely relate. It took me months to let my now husband, call me his girlfriend. But after two years of dating, we planned a wedding in 23 days and we've been married for a year and half. I'd say we're both pretty great people, and even better together (sorry for the cheesy parts, but I can't talk about astrology without talking about romantic relationships).

Going through this journey of researching what it means to be a Taurus, I've learned a lot about myself. I may be a bull in a china shop, but sometimes that's not always a bad thing. If you learn something from Taurus', stick to what you believe. Don't be afraid to shout, to love, to go 0 to 100, to learn and to grow.

pop culture
3

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.