Humans logo

Bring Change

The fulfillment

By Chris GracePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

This is how I bring change! It’s a fulfillment of my purpose.

The image above is an Instagram post I created myself as a form of advertisement. Upon the release of my very first self published book of poetry.

Yes ladies and gentlemen, my name is Christopher Grace. I love to write poetry! Writing in general is so therapeutic. It’s a craft I’m very much passionate about. I also believe it is a gift. Since the age of 7 writing was and still is an essential part of my life.

Before I go any further I would like to say music was always my inspiration. When I say I started writing at the age of seven I meant rhymes. I thought I was a musician. Every day me and my classmates would gather together for lunch and recite our rhymes. It was fun and competitive.

While that memory is a clear image of how fun writing can be. Being able to write has also helped me therapeutically. Whenever I found myself in emotional distress I would write down how I felt until I no longer felt those feelings. It became a constant coping mechanism. The more I practiced the more I became better at it… That’s like with anything.

I started to increase my vocabulary. I became more familiar with words and how I could or could not use them. My communication skills began to increase. The more I write the more I recite so what I write becomes a part of my life. Which taught me the importance of being mindful of how I speak.

I’m now 29 years old I have two self published books full of poetry which are available Amazon. I used my pain to serve a purpose. My life’s experiences. My mistakes as well as my achievements. All have become fuel towards the legacy I want to leave behind for future generations. Writing has helped me establish that goal while becoming the foundation.

I’ve grown and matured from simply finding a way to express my feelings before becoming irrational. I learned to channel those unwanted feelings in a positive direction. I was once a child who loved running wild.

Now I love being in a silent place. Perfecting my gift. I strongly believe every individual possesses a gift. Once you find it love it with a passion! Writing has even developed cognitive thinking in my life. Every morning I post a quote that I feel could be inspiration for others. Which is why writing is a fulfillment. It’s not only beneficial for me it’s also an opportunity to give back.

As I continue to go through many transitions of life. Writing will always be apart of me. As long as I have a pen and pad I have all I need. To bring me joy, peace, excitement, relief, as well as income. Here’s an example of my creativity…

“Don’t fall in love with how people make you feel fall in love with the feeling. So you can continue feeling that way without the help. That feeling isn’t anyone’s to give but it’s for everyone to keep while we all have access to it. It’s a lie to make you believe it’s limited especially when we know we all have unlimited capabilities.”

In other words I love what I do. I’m passionate about it. Writing makes me feel complete. Everytime I write I feel like I’m aligned with my purpose. That alone is enough to block out and take away any and all distractions. My escape. My secret place. When I feel confused I gain peace and clarity.

Those days when life seems to feel like it’s just passing me by. Writing helps me to slow down and cherish time. Poetry is the main attraction. Though I can write about anything. More importantly this gift of mine. This craft I implement into my daily routine comes from the heart. Meaning it can never be taken away. That’s the beauty of it all…

Words can never be taken away, once they’re out they are there to stay.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Chris Grace

I started off with everything and everybody that I cherished the most. Now all that I’m left with is nothing but hope. It was a game of spend the bottle until hearts were broke. Now all that I’m left with is nothing but hope.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.