Humans logo

Breakups and the awkward conversation "where do I mail you your belongings?"

So Awkward!

By Aleta JoiPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Breakups and the awkward conversation "where do I mail you your belongings?"
Photo by Yuvraj Singh on Unsplash

I don't want to share this publicly because I believe some things are better left private. I am, however, raw, real, and open. Therefore, I will write about this topic to help others, my entire reason for writing my books and blogs, and release my feelings.

Yes, that genuinely awkward conversation with your ex when you have to ask to send him his things. It was so difficult; after this was over, I cried; it was disheartening.

The last thing we think when we get in a relationship is that it's going to end. We go in to hope that we will have a long-term relationship that will benefit both parties and flourish in love.

Sometimes life throws us curve-balls or whatever fucking cliche line we want to throw in here. It still hurts, losing someone that you spent years of your life loving. I didn't cry after we hung up because I hadn't processed the break-up; I had processed that years ago; I cried because it was sad knowing that we couldn't be friends.

I could feel that he couldn't come to that place with me. Through the last conversation, I could feel it as we cleared all of the financial details to finalize our relationship's demise. I am still hopeful he will change his mind someday.

I always want to end with a friendship with an ex, but it never seems to work out for me; no matter how hard I try to make it end like that, it doesn't. I think it's hard for some to let go, so it's easier to cut ties completely.

By Ricardo Cruz on Unsplash

I believe that the EGO (E-dging G-od O-ut) intention is to separate us from love, love from self, others, and source. It is the monkey-mind chatter that makes up stories to dismantle relationships. The EGO has a lot of power. If the couple can't keep it at bay, it will win and crush the relationship.

I have seen it time and time again in relationships; you start connected and are a team, then over time, the EGO starts writing the stories, and then we become the leads in the movie, which is not a romantic comedy.

The question is that all couples do not want to ask if they have ever encountered this moment after a break-up.

Where do I send your belongings? Especially since I have been holding them for a year because that's how long ago we split. OMG, this fucking question, I want to crawl under a rock and have the rock roll over me a hundred times. The amount of awkwardness with this question is beyond my ability to comprehend! AWKWARD TABLE FOR ONE, AWKWARD TABLE FOR ONE!

By Stephen Isaiah on Unsplash

There was this feeling of, "I wish we could bypass this entire conversation, go into a time machine, walk out on the other end, and this be completed. Everything would be excellent, wouldn't it? Yes, well, that's not fucking happening! We, as humans, have to deal with the graduation process of relationships. I have been to Harvard and received my master's in the relationship department of life. I can tell you, the tests were grueling, and graduating doesn't feel the best at the time.

Sometime after the graduation process, after you've paid off your student loans (healed yourself), you can look back and know that you learned something valuable, or you could be pissed-off that you had to pay all the student loans and not see the value in the education. It's all perspective! I genuinely feel that if we walk away blaming our partner for our relationship issues, we miss the entire teaching & lessons!

Peace, love, and light~Aleta Medea

Follow me @luvjoilyfe #the_luv_joi_lyfe To SHOP my books and HEMP/CBD products go to www.luvjoilyfe.com

breakups
Like

About the Creator

Aleta Joi

I AM SO EXCITED to share my incredible journey from dark to light, Alice and Wonderland meets Dexter meet Pretty Woman (without the prostitute thing:)

I Am Not My Story & Neither Are YOU

https://www.amazon.com/stores/author/B09B4FVSH2

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.