Humans logo

Book Store Memories

Book stores

By dawjacksonPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

"Book", a simple word, but represents a colorful world recorded in words. You can explore to your heart's content in books, about life, about science, about history, and even beyond reality, the sky is the limit of imagination. The world of books is all-encompassing. No matter who you are, you can benefit from it if you open a book.

Since elementary school, my parents have strongly encouraged me to read. My father was always generous with my requests for books. I remember once, my father asked me by name to buy back a copy of "Selected Miscellaneous Essays of Lu Xun". After I read it carefully, I couldn't help but be shocked by the power of the essays. The same square Chinese characters in Mr. Lu Xun's writing were so straightforward to the heart. This gave me a deeper perception of words and the charm of books.

In the readers' message of Dongguan Library, a migrant worker wrote this paragraph: "I came to Dongguan 17 years, of which 12 years to read books in the library. The book can understand ...... the rest of your life will not forget you, Dongguan Library ......" He decided to return to his hometown to live after working in Dongguan for many years, so full of unrequited love for the Dongguan Library, wrote this message. This love of reading deeply touched me. A person came to a strange city, all the time outside work is devoted to reading, and not on a whim, but for a long time. In his opinion, people can read to understand the truth, and there will not be so much confusion and contradictions. Books undoubtedly give him courage and strength. It is impossible for everything to go well in life, but once immersed in the world of books, the wandering and tired heart has a place to belong.

When I was in high school, I always passed a used bookstore on my way out of school, and the sign was old and white. The owner was a middle-aged man with glasses and a thin build. The bookstore was located in a small alley surrounded by restaurants, so few people could find it to buy books. While the restaurants were full of customers, the bookstore owner sat calmly in the cold store, holding a yellowing old book and reading it with great interest. Every time I passed by, I would intentionally observe the owner, and over a period of time, I found that although he reads in different places every day - sometimes sitting in the store, sometimes sitting in the doorway, sometimes leaning on the bookshelf - but the concentration of his reading attitude is always the same. I even suspect that he opened this store to facilitate his own reading at any time. As for whether business is booming or not, it is secondary to him.

One afternoon, I finally could not resist stepping into the store. The shopkeeper, absorbed in reading as always, did not notice my intrusion into this small world. I did not make a sound to disturb him, picked up an old book also began to read. At this moment, the surrounding area is quiet, only the two of us sometimes staggered and sometimes overlapping the sound of turning pages. It was only when it was getting dark that the shopkeeper looked up from his book and then noticed me. After that, my mood can only be described as "flattered": perhaps because no customer has been patronizing for too long, the shopkeeper was very enthusiastic and immediately took out many out-of-print books from his collection to share with me. When he told the story of his reading and book collection, his whole person became bright and full of energy, and even his old shirt, which was a bit faded, seemed to bloom with vivid colors. Under his influence, I bought a few books, adding up to just a few dozen dollars. I asked the shopkeeper: "Can you make money?" The shopkeeper smiled and waved a hand: "Not for money." I think, for a person who loves reading, the value of spiritual wealth must be far beyond material things.

From now on, insist on reading every day, you can definitely harvest a new self - life needs wisdom, beauty, optimism and spontaneity and ambition. And this is precisely the best gift that reading can give us!

art
Like

About the Creator

dawjackson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.