Humans logo

Book Review: Short-Circuited in Charlotte by Amy Patricia Meade

My Honest Opinion

By Caitlin GonyaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

I was given a free e-copy of this novel by NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion.

The next installment in Amy Patricia Meade’s Vermont series takes classic mystery high-tech! When US Forest Ranger, Nick Buckley, is invited to the Creator’s Cavalcade to present his employer’s environmental initiatives, his wife, Stella, sees the science and technology driven event – which takes place on the grounds of a luxurious nineteenth century estate – as a holiday from the drudgeries of new homeownership and small-town life. However, when the Cavalcade’s Founder and Director, Philip Morehouse, is found dead in his bed of an apparent heart attack and the inventor of geodesic yurt housing is discovered bludgeoned to death, it quickly becomes apparent that this will be a working weekend for both Buckleys. With a cast of characters that includes a Steampunk designer, a robotics engineer, an Italian fiber optic artist, a recycled materials percussionist, a glass-blowing anatomist, and a French chef who is a master of molecular gastronomy, it’s clear that everyone at the Cavalcade possessed both the brains and technological know-how to make Morehouse’s death seem accidental. But did they? Was Morehouse’s death due to an ongoing heart issue or something far more sinister? And how could his death be linked to the brutal bludgeoning of a man who sought to use his creation to shelter the homeless? Only by embracing her inner “geek” can Stella solve the mystery behind both men’s unfortunate demises. But can she do so before the killer strikes again? And, more importantly, can she do so before the Cavalcade’s all-vegan menu drives burger-loving Nick to drastic measures? (Goodreads synopsis)

Oh my gosh! I enjoyed this novel so much more than the first one. I could see where the author was growing more confident in her voice and style. I still really loved the married amateur sleuthing duo, but this time Nick took more of an assistant role. He praised his wife to others while still encouraging her and being worried for her. It was a wonderful balance that showed his character growth. I also still loved Stella, but here she was more assertive in her role as amateur detective. She seemed more confident in what she was doing as well as her suppositions.

The plot and mystery of this novel was perfect for a cozy novel. While there are plenty of references to Agatha Christie and Jessica Fletcher, a.k.a Angela Lansbury, that made Stella uncomfortable, I honestly felt that those were complaints to the author as the novel progressed. The ending was also better than the first novel as Stella was smart about her execution, and she was much more cautious with the moves she made.

As a former artist/art teacher I really enjoyed the combination of the science with different art types. I would have loved to attend something like this as a high schooler, and even as a college student. I know my fashionista sister would have loved to have met someone like Aurora and her “fiber-opteek” clothing. I believe that schools and state educator should make aware just how important something like the arts can be to foundations like science. I truly do not believe that only a scientific mind, or logical, or rational is what schools should focus on. They should encourage students to be creative. The more creative you are, the more things can truly change.

Overall I rate this novel 5 out of 5 stars. I hope the author continues this series, because I would love to see how Nick and Stella fare in Mexico.

book reviews
Like

About the Creator

Caitlin Gonya

I love reading. Everything and, just about anything, I can put my hands on. I was guided towards writing, so I started with book reviews, and am now feeling ready to showcase some of my stories. I would appreciate any constructive feedback.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.