Humans logo

Book Review: Shackled Fates by Thilde Kold Holdt

The saga continues in the second book of The Hanged God trilogy, a Norse epic fantasy.

By Marie SinadjanPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

As Ragnarok looms, the trickster Loki breaks free from his chains.

In the battle to come, all shall die, but Ragnar will do anything to save his gods.

Einer scours the nine worlds for Hilda, who walks among gods and goddesses, searching the truth of the Runes.

For centuries Siv has run from her past, but she knows that to protect her daughter, and Midgard, she will have to face her worst fears.

It is time to confront the Alfather.

This is the sequel to Northern Wrath, and the second book of The Hanged God trilogy.

GENRE: Norse Epic Fantasy

PURCHASE LINKS: Amazon

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Thilde Kold Holdt is a Viking, traveller and a polygot fluent in Danish, French, English and Korean. As a writer, she is an avid researcher. This is how she first came to row for hours upon hours on a Viking warship. She loved the experience so much that she has sailed with the Viking ship the Sea Stallion ever since. Born in Denmark, Thilde has lived in many places and countries, taking a bit of each culture with her, and is currently based in Southern France where she writes full-time. www.thildekoldholdt.com

Review & Recommended Listening

If you're not yet impressed by Thilde's story-making abilities, by this book you might come to think, as I did, that she must be a skald or a norn walking among us short-lived.

The story hasn't lost pace since Northern Wrath — it continues in Shackled Fates like it's just another chapter, so while the approach is unconventional, it's in fact fitting that the second book doesn't restart and go back to having a chapter 1. The saga simply continues. More than that, however, the story just builds and builds. Keeping track of all the intertwined storylines must be daunting, but Thilde has done a fantastic job, and it's translated just as well into the pages. I didn't have a hard time following the story despite the multiple characters and perspectives we've been (and continue to be) introduced to, although I'm still at the edge of my seat even as I'm done with the book as I still don't have quite the answers to my questions.

But that's the beauty of it, I think. Those familiar with Norse mythology know Ragnarok, or at least the basics: a long winter, gods dying, a giant wolf devouring the king of the gods, et cetera. History has taught us a thing or two about the Vikings; if not history, then TV or pop culture. But Thilde has taken what we know from mythology and history and everything in between and skillfully weaved them into a story of her own. The plot and the characters are dazzlingly complex and I just love being surprised at nearly every turn.

I really can't wait for the conclusion!

My Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Recommended Listening: As I mentioned in my open call for books to review, I’ll now be adding a song to my reviews! It’ll be one that either sums up the book for me, what I’d imagine in a trailer were it a movie, something that I associate with the story or one of the characters for whatever reason… or maybe even an original inspired by it 😉

Similar to my song choice for the first book, here's one I thought fitting that's originally in Old Norse but with an English translation:

Old ancestors rise from the cold dark soil.

Old tales I remember

blood-stained was the ground of people

Æsir lead us to the gods,

Tell of our fate

book reviews
Like

About the Creator

Marie Sinadjan

Filipino spec fic author and book reviewer based in the UK. https://linktr.ee/mariesinadjan • www.mariesinadjan.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.