Humans logo

Book Review: DAD by Bob Seay

Dead-ends, loose threads, and an artful weave

By Lynda CokerPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1
https://pixabay.com/photos/bank-bench-old-wooden-bench-1544202/

Full-Book Review

  • Title: Dad
  • Author: Bob Seay
  • Length: 182 pages (Print version)
  • Amazon Book Link

Blurb:

Jacob Martin’s life is not going well. His marriage is falling apart, his job is on the border of legal and illegal, and he’s living in what could generously be described as a dump. Now Dad, whose memory and mental faculties aren’t exactly what they once were, has decided to drive from Cincinnati to Colorado for a surprise visit. At least that was the plan until John got lost along the way. Forced into an unplanned road trip to retrieve his father, Jacob finds love, enlightenment, and ultimately himself along the way.

Review:

“Dad’s on your side of the Mississippi River. You’re up.”

I loved the opening sentence in this book! It served as a wonderful hook that kept me eagerly reading. But more than that, as I read deeper into the story, I realized how the phrase, You’re up, foreshadowed so many aspects of Jacob’s life.

It’s obvious in the first few chapters that Jacob had, somewhere along his thirty-odd years, completely missed the — You’re up concept. He has more dead-ends and loose threads in his life than most men his age. He easily excuses his many failures with the word temporary.

But early on, Jacob’s open and humorous personality drew me to him. And when he really has to step up and handle the situation with his dad, I saw beautiful, quirky, and endearing parts of this not-so-simple man.

As much as I came to like Jacob, I must confess that I fell in love with his DAD. Author Bob Seay creates a character that, during his personal mental decline, is as powerful as a Super Hero for his son. DAD doesn’t make excuses for his son’s messed-up life.

“I mean, think about it,” he says, in a totally casual, conversational tone like he’s listing items on a grocery list. “You almost got your Masters. You almost made your marriage work. You quit being a teacher.” He looks at me. “Come to think of it, what have you actually accomplished?

Mr. Seay writes dialogue like a genius. It’s addicting; and through it, he dispenses insight, unwritten truths, character flaw and greatness, life lessons, and pure reading enjoyment.

Add to the story’s dialogue the simple plot of engaging these two characters through a road trip and some close-quarter time together, and you get a wonderful reading experience. One that will leave you with some personal insight and truths of your own to ponder.

Another character who I quickly adored was Amelia. Of course, she has her own load of lousy problems but still manages to be the person I’d most like to meet if I’m ever down and out.

When Jacob first finds his lost father, he’s sitting across the table from Amelia, a hotel housekeeper, who’s keeping him company and sharing his french fries as she listens to his stories.

“He was telling me about when he went to Mars,” she says, with absolutely no hint of sarcasm or condescension. For a moment, I think she believes she’s actually met an astronaut.

There is so much real-life playing out in the pages of this book. Jacob and his family members wrestle with decisions no children should have to make for their DAD. And DAD struggles to move forward despite the future he perceives in the eyes of his heartbroken children.

Jacob stays in the game and when it’s time for, You're up, he hears the call. Nothing on a heroic scale but a dignified acceptance of what is not going to be a temporary change.

For a man who was just living on the surface of life, taking no responsibility for treading in the deeper water, Jacob has a true coming of age experience. I guess we can never be too old to learn what life could be if we lived it to the fullest extent possible. And so that is what he did.

I’ve looked into the Master’s in Creative Writing program at UMKC. I think I’ll apply for the Fall semester. I’ll be starting my degree just as Amelia is finishing hers. She’s already found a small apartment downtown, a place that isn’t a remodeled motel. She’ll pick up the keys tomorrow.

We’re spending the night in a hotel.

I’ve got a few paper orders that I could work on, but I don’t really feel like writing papers right now. I may even put Student Research Services on hold for a while.

I’ve got this idea for a book I want to write. I want to create something with my name on it…

My Wish List

I wish this book would find its way on many, many, many people’s to-be-read bookshelves.

Author Bob Seay artfully weaved a completely satisfying story that left me with nothing more to wish for. The characters are funny, pathetic, real, and sympathetic while the story plot is stark and cuts to the heart.

The dialogue is genius, the pacing is just right, and matches the urgency I believe the author wanted his readers to feel.

I thank Author Bob Seay for the opportunity to read and review his work.

  • Winner 2021 IAN Book of the Year Awards (“Literary/General Fiction”)
  • WINNER OF A 2021 INDIEREADER DISCOVERY AWARD
  • 2021 National Indie Excellence Award Finalist

Other books by Bob Seay

The Band Room

book reviews
1

About the Creator

Lynda Coker

Grab a chair, turn a page, and read a while with me. I promise to tap lightly on my keyboard so we both can stay immersed in our world of words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.