Humans logo

Book Review: A Botanist's Guide to Parties and Poisons by Kate Khavari

My Honest Opinion

By Caitlin GonyaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

I was given a free e-copy of this novel by NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion.

Saffron Everleigh is in a race against time to free her wrongly accused professor before he goes behind bars forever. Perfect for fans of Deanna Raybourn and Anna Lee Huber, Kate Khavari’s debut historical mystery is a fast-paced, fearless adventure. London, 1923. Newly minted research assistant Saffron Everleigh attends a dinner party for the University College of London. While she expects to engage in conversations about the university's large expedition to the Amazon, she doesn’t expect Mrs. Henry, one of the professors’ wives to drop to the floor, poisoned by an unknown toxin. Dr. Maxwell, Saffron’s mentor, is the main suspect, having had an explosive argument with Dr. Henry a few days prior. As evidence mounts against Dr. Maxwell and the expedition's departure draws nearer, Saffron realizes if she wants her mentor's name cleared, she’ll have to do it herself. Joined by enigmatic Alexander Ashton, a fellow researcher, Saffron uses her knowledge of botany as she explores steamy greenhouses, dark gardens, and deadly poisons. Will she be able to uncover the truth or will her investigation land her on the murderer’s list? (Goodreads synopsis)

I liked Saffron, because she felt so genuine to the era Khavari was writing her in. She is a fighter looking for independence and purpose in a time that was trying to prevent change. She endured the sexist remarks from her male colleagues, but continued to work for her ambitions. She was also inquisitive and impulsive which are traits that I feel a true scientist must have. In this case, Saffron was a scientist as well as an amateur detective to save and protect her beloved professor. I also really liked Alexander Ashton, a man who returned from the war with PTSD but refused to let it control his life. He knew that the world could not stay the same, and he was more tolerant to the changes at the college. I enjoyed his interactions with Saffron, and how he listened to her while resisting the urge to be over-protective. I found the careers of our characters to be significantly unique. Most cozy mysteries are bookstores, librarians, cat lovers, dog lovers, and living near water. I liked seeing science not only as a career but as a murder weapon. I thought the college was unique but also accurate to how competitive the atmosphere really is. The competition is one of those few things that has never changed throughout time. Those factors is what makes the story relate-able.

I found the pacing of the story was medium. It wasn’t fast, but it wasn’t slow either. This was a book that I savored (for lack of a better word). The interaction with the police started out making me wary, but it became clear that there was not going to be the typical friction/antagonism between the characters. The majority of the novel being from Saffron’s POV made sense, but it also was unique to have Alexander’s and later Inspector Green’s and Simpson’s. The mystery was also very good. A couple of the characters and their outcomes/solutions did catch me by surprise. I honestly would have reversed them. One, however, did not and I was pleased to read the outcome. I honestly really liked the ending, though I am curious to see what happens in the next book, and how Saffron and Ashton are able to interact. I’m secretly hoping there will be a more personal approach for Saffron and her family. I also would like to learn more about Ashton and his life/family. There is so much potential with this series!

Overall I rate this novel 5 out of 5 stars.

book reviews
1

About the Creator

Caitlin Gonya

I love reading. Everything and, just about anything, I can put my hands on. I was guided towards writing, so I started with book reviews, and am now feeling ready to showcase some of my stories. I would appreciate any constructive feedback.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.