Humans logo

Book Learning

Do Something

By Terry J DavisPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
1
Book Learning
Photo by James Pond on Unsplash

Still in disbelief I managed to stumble to the bench and collapse my mind that was racing as fast as my pulse. The questions whirled around in my brain to the point the rainbow melded to white. What was I going to do, should I tell anyone, what would they think, how would they treat me after knowing, JUST BREATH, my mind finally screamed. A break from the questions yielded to shivering and sweat, then to elbows on the knees, head in hands, looking down, coming back to myself I saw a small black rectangle which appeared to be a thin book. Straightening up a bit I reached down and picked it up. The soft pliable cover felt of leather, it was very thin and a bit worn. Looking it over I opened the cover and it had pages of a modeled linen color and only a few of them; it appeared to be old and well used. I flipped to the front page and in a flowing text were the words "I'm Yours". Hmmmm odd, my mind stopped the thought process for a moment; it looked good, felt good, and sort of felt like it was mine. Looking around I hoped I didn't see anybody looking like they may have dropped this little black book. Shaking my head I stood up and tucked the book into my pocket, it took my mind off the other and just continued the weirdness of this day. My feet propelled me onward and for now the questions had stopped and I felt the warmth of my heart.

Turning the key in the lock and opening the door to my safe haven; I felt tired and restless at the same time, keys on the hook, a few steps later the tea kettle is on the stove warming up for its shrill song that it is teatime. Pulling the little book out of my pocket I marveled at how it felt holding it, opening it and feeling the pages it seemed as if they had a story to tell. Grinning I thought and it starts today. Rubbing its cover, I laid it on my desk; what an odd discovery and on a day like this. The tea kettle gurgled a bit as if clearing its throat, grabbing my mug and chamomile tea off the shelf I was ready for the song and relaxation followed by a nap.

Awakening awhile later to the sun steaming in the windows, I felt refreshed and very much alive from the dreamless sweet sleep. Slowly the sounds of life going on around me brought me to the reality that I had to go, like right now go; bolting across the room I made it but just barely. Fully awake, I wondered what to do this evening; a meal out seemed in order with a friend, even better. Two more days and back to the garden peddling and poking poesies for me, the vacation had been a welcome break and seemed the perfect time for today to unfold and it was that.

"Alexa, call Linda H's Cell."

"Okay"

"Hello, I was just thinking about calling you."

"Hey, I beat you to it, what's going on?"

"I needed to go out to pick up a few things and thought you might too."

"Sure, we can do that and get a bite to eat while we are out, which is why I was calling."

"Sounds good to me, what time do you want to pick me up?"

"About a hour and half work for you?"

"See you then".

"Dress up a bit, I'll see you soon, bye."

"What, where you..."

"Alexa, End Call"

"Okay"

A good hot shower later, looking in the mirror, Man in the mirror, played in my mind, smiling I finished my grooming ritual; and I would make that change. Don always had something going on at the shop; so why did this surprise me. This was just another way to keep his legacy going. Knowing him and him knowing me, I believe he knew that I could achieve this feat.

'Ouch, Ouch, Ouch' hopping around a bit, I glared at the chair; wasn't its fault I almost broke my toe. A reminder that I needed to pay attention to my surroundings and get my head out of the clouds. With a throbbing toe I finished getting ready and made my way to the entry, as I took my keys off the hook, my mind went back to the black book. Should I tell Linda about it? Not right now any way; what would I say about it? I'd just keep it to myself.

Dinner and shopping went great, Linda's wit and humor was just what the doctor ordered, and she didn't ask to many questions. She made the comment that I seemed preoccupied and asked if I needed to talk about it. I assured her that all was good, and I just had too many things on my mind in having to go back to work. Helping her carry in her bags in, she smiled and hugged me assuring me I could always talk to her. " I know and will" was my departing comment.

Hanging my keys on the hook, I was wore out, even with a nap the events of the day had their way with me. Getting my water for the bedside table, I walked past the desk and ran my fingers across the little black book, I smiled and turned the kitchen light off.

My bed felt really good as I pulled the covers up and Alexa turned the lights down.

Waking up to the bright light of a sunny day, feet on the floor it was time to start my day. Coffee I need coffee was my brains request. Coffee working, I crossed the kitchen and picked up the little black book, opening it to flip through the pages. Wide eyed and freaked out I threw it across the room. My mouth suddenly felt parched and I felt queasy, a step or two I retrieved the book, hands shaking I was afraid to open it but I had to be sure. Opening the cover there were so many thoughts and feelings swirling that passing out might have been comforting. There on the front page in red letters and flowing script The Man Really Was Hungry, Next line only in black, She Really Needs A Car, the next in red It Answered the Waitress' Prayer, not sure that I wasn't going to be sick; I laid the book on the counter, pouring my coffee I hoped that it would wake me up from this; whatever this was.

Getting dressed I hoped a walk would clear my mind as there were errands I needed to do. Keys in hand, I stepped out into the world, my walk and accomplishing my task at hand helped me feel better about the day, the fact I lived in a town where I could accomplish most things needed on foot a plus. Returning home, I went straight in and retrieved the book, opening it cover in wild anticipation, yes the text was still there. Turning the page, there was more, in red The Woman and Little Girl Are Being Evicted, next The Young Man's Mother Just Passed Away, in black WAKE UP AND DO SOMETHING, a single tear trickled down. It was like Don was screaming at me, same voice, same intensity, closing the book the trickle turned to a stream. Suddenly I felt very alone, but very loved.

The next few days were intriguing, between the book, work and trying to accomplish the challenge which had been laid out to me the day I found the book. My life had changed in the days since the little black book which was almost filled with thoughts, direction, and advice. Interest in your surroundings and doing what you can to help goes a long way if nothing else this time had taught me that. The best part in it all is I was able to accomplish it all without anyone knowing it was me, well almost no one.

Grungy and disheveled I arrived at the restaurant. It looked like the invitation had been accepted many times over; it was packed. I managed to make my way in and find a seat.

"Hey, Hey, Quite down for a minute", the woman's booming voice cut through the noise and a quietness fell over the crowd.

"Tonight, we are going to eat, drink, and be happy, because someone cared enough to fund this meal, feeding you and helping me in a hard time. It is served buffet style plated as you progress through the line. There is plenty of food, so don't worry about going back for seconds I ask that you let us get everyone their first round before we start seconds. Enjoy."

Silently I was thankful for the food, fun, and fellowship. It was truly a blessing to be involved in feeding these people and helping the owner meet her obligations. Making my way through the line, I wondered how these people made it day to day; much less the drive to get up and face the day. Enjoying the meal, the trickle returned, and the meal was great. The people seemed happy and thankful; the evening was great. Leaving the restaurant; I felt truly blessed and happy but was looking forward to a hot shower and my bed.

"Can You Feel A Brand New Day" Screamed Alexa

"Alexa Stop" I responded, stretching I thought about rolling over, but decided to get up and get the day started. In the kitchen I started the coffee and picked up my little black book. It had become a companion suggesting and bringing things to light. Each day a new page filled with insight and enlightenment about things and situations I went through. Today was my day to see if I met the challenge laid out to me. The blinking light signaled I had missed a call. Laying the book down I punched the button, "You have one new message, received yesterday at eight forty eight pm... hitting the one Linda's voice crackled "Call me as soon as you get this, you are not going to believe what happened to me today. Where are you? Call Me". Erasing the message, I smiled and got my coffee.

Walking past the bench where I had found the little black book, I smiled. Entering the lawyer's office, I was a bit nauseous. I was sure that I had completed the task but soon would know for sure. Fidgeting " Mr. Johns, Kenny will see you now"; walking into his office his smile seemed promising. "Good Morning, have a seat" he motioned me to a chair. My Mind was racing to the point of the only thing I really heard was him telling me I had spent nineteen thousand nine hundred seven dollars twenty-nine cents and had accomplished my task: sliding the paperwork across the desk with a check for ninety-two dollars seventy-one cents. "That makes twenty thousand dollars with less than one hundred dollars spent on yourself." he said. Handing me another check he smiled, "here is your reward" Room reeling, he slid papers to me pointed to a line "need your signature and we're all finished" Trembling I signed the paper.

Key turn and pushing the door I was home, still trying to grasp what had occurred, laying my keys on the desk looking for the little black book, it seemed to have vanished.

Sign here the UPS driver held the scanner, handing me the package 'I didn't order anything'. Opening it I picked up a red cover journal with artwork and the title The Best Way To Explain It Is To Do It.

Coffee or Tea either is fine with me, a trip to the bank is nigh and I had a half million reasons why.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Terry J Davis

Working in a very creative field gives my mind a visual and 3 D outlet, writing gives me an escape or platform for journey. Character development and environment allow my mind to visit places, situations, and interactions from my place

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.