Humans logo

Bomb Cyclone March 13, 2019 - Denver, CO

A traumatizing blizzard to remember

By DMTakeshiPublished 2 years ago 10 min read
1
Photo by Patino Jhon on Unsplash

It was a Wednesday, my 34th birthday, and I was off to work. It was like any other wintery day in Colorado, except my husband was begging me not to go to work. My friends had warned me days in advance. Everyone was talking about this huge snowstorm coming and I didn't heed their warnings. I have driven in snow storms before, so I really had no fear. 

The thing was I was driving a little over 45 minutes to work. It would take longer with the snow. This made my husband more than uneasy. I assured him I was fine and that I would see him when I got home. We kissed goodbye.

It took me longer than usual to get into work that day because the roads were icy, but again, I had driven in worse conditions. My manager was also a little late as well. It was just the two of us that day and usually there are three people to open and get the business running, but our boss recently changed that rule because he felt like it was too many people. 

You always needed one-person up-front checking people in, and you needed another two people in the store to help the customers out. I was working at a dispensary and loved my job. I loved the people I worked with, and I loved marijuana. But this new boss was trying to cut everyone's hours there and didn't care about the consequences.

Once we did all the things we needed to do in order to open, people came flooding in because most dispensaries were closed that day. We were not even able to take a break to pee that morning and we both had our ritual cup of coffee. I was the one to check people in, a job I was barely trained in. I was on the lookout for the fake ids, something I knew nothing about. No better time to learn, right?

With the people who were coming in I got a lot of, "I cannot believe you are open," and "You guys need to get out of here soon." People were desperately calling to see if we were there because they didn't want to be without weed for this storm. We were open and it was starting to worry me with all the comments. I was able to see the outside though and thought it didn't look so bad yet.

Our boss called to talk with the manager. I kindly told him that he was busy because we couldn't get him from the back to the front where the phone was located because he had to always stay with the customers. But he insisted on talking with him and said he would call back later. He called a total of three times to speak with my manager and all three times he said he would call back.

The last time he called I told him that our manager was busy, but that he needed to send someone in so we could get a break and so he could talk with my manager. I confessed to my manager what I had said to him, and he told me not to talk to the boss that way. I only got snippy with him because he could have shut it down and he didn't call once to say that. He knew how far away I lived.

The thing that saved us from having to work was the power going out. In the state of Colorado, if your cameras are not working, you cannot sell marijuana to anyone per state law. At the time it went out we had some very angry customers out there saying how they risked their lives to be there. I was officially scared.

They were really upset, and I don't know why I said what I did but I blurted out, "You should have come yesterday if you wanted some." My manager looked back at me to keep from laughing in front of the customers. He then told me I shouldn't say that to them when they all left. I knew that. I don't know why I was rude, but I wanted out of there.

When we finally left it was after 12:30 PM. I hopped into my car and proceeded to drive slowly home. It wasn't so bad to begin with. I was confident I was going to make it home. I was driving South on I-25 towards Colorado Springs. It wasn't until I passed E-470 when things got really frightening. 

I began to not be able to see, like at all and they were beginning to shut down the highway. At this point, I wanted to find a hotel, but I couldn't see a thing and didn't know the area too well. Now I had to take the backroads home. They aren't as safe with the huge drifts and are only a one lane highway the whole way home.

I did well enough just by being able to see the car's lights in front of me. I was somewhat okay. It took over three and a half hours and I was only 11 miles away from home before a semi had slid on the road and blocked the whole highway. I had to turn around and take a much more dangerous way back. 

That was when my car slid into the ditch. I immediately called my husband. I wasn't getting good cell service and so he wasn't able to understand me. I was a bit scared at this point. I sent him my location via text. That would be the last phone call and text I could make because of the blizzard.

There were people driving by that wanted to help. The first man asked if I wanted a ride. It felt creepy and wrong, so I kindly declined saying that my husband was on his way. There were two more men that stopped to ask. It just didn't feel safe and so I stayed with my car. 

I tried calling the police after a while of being there. There were barely anymore cars passing and I was afraid I was going to be out there all night by myself. I noted that I had a half tank of gas, one quarter of my water bottle filled and an energy bar. I thought about how I would ration it all. I saw the drifts outside and I wasn't making it anywhere.

It was 6:30 PM now and like I said, no one was driving through anymore. I was becoming more and more desperate. I was still trying to get through to the police when two men in a truck drove by. They stopped and asked if I wanted a ride. I told them I was trying to get through to the police when the driver said, "The police aren't coming, honey. Get in." I felt better about these two men for some reason. I felt safe with them. I grabbed my stuff, stopped my car, and hopped in his silver truck.

Like I said, the only way back was through the dangerously steep hills and the drifts that were huge. The men introduced themselves and I was just grateful to not be alone anymore. Russ was the driver, and he was doing so well driving through that hot mess. He had to haul ass through some huge drifts. 

Soon his truck got stuck in a 5-foot drift. We were done for. Russ and Jacob went out to try to dig it out and push it. I knew we were not going anywhere. Russ kept apologizing for getting us stuck, but Jacob and I had already been stuck by ourselves, so we were just happy to not be alone anymore.

Once they decided that we were officially stuck they decided to come back in and warm up. Russ was in jeans. It looked like he was hurting from the cold and 90 mph gusts of wind. I immediately offered up my water and energy bar to share between myself and the men. I also noted that Russ had a full tank of gas, which made me feel so much safer.

They informed me that they didn't actually know each other before this, and Russ had just seen that Jacob was also broke down and helped him out right before he helped me. Russ was a veteran and had the no man left behind mentality. I was so grateful for him. He was my angel that night.

Russ kept going outside to check the exhaust. I asked Jacob why. He told me that you were supposed to check the exhaust every so often, so we didn't die from carbon monoxide poisoning. I didn't know that one and so these men saved my life. Women and men alike, if you didn't know this before, this is a great survival technique if you are ever caught in a blizzard. Please check your exhaust every thirty minutes or so to prevent it from freezing over.

Every time Russ came back in from checking it, he was just freezing. His jeans were not cutting it in this weather. The last time Russ went out I yelled at Jacob that he needed to check it next time so Russ could have a chance at warming up. He said he would, and he did the next few times.

The boys had chances to pee as they went to check the exhaust. The drift was almost as tall as I was and there was no chance that I could pee outside. I looked through Russ' car and decided at if I absolutely had to go that I would simply apologize and use his dog bowl I found in the back. It was getting to that point.

We had noticed that there was a house on that street in front of us with their porch light on. They had a rather long driveway, about a half mile or so. We were afraid that if they weren't home, we might freeze going out there having to trek all the way back through the snow.

Finally, we saw a man from the home come outside a few hours later. Russ ran up to him to see what he might have to say. He told him they were inviting us in for the night to have a nice, warm place to stay. I felt safe with Russ and Jacob going with me.

Once inside, we met the whole family. Three generations were living there. Grandma, father, and son. Ida Mae was the coolest 92-year-old sharp grandma, and she immediately took to me. She said she had some dry clothes for me to change into and that I could have the extra bed while the boys slept on the couches. I cried that night because I was so appreciative of all these generous people I had just met. They all had saved my life that day, my birthday, and I'll never forget.

I called my husband to let him know I was safe. He was so relieved. He had gone out several times that night trying to get to me. I even heard the national guard wouldn't be coming to help people until the next morning. It was frightening to know that families were stuck. My husband had to help several people get off the road and safe to their homes.

He was able to get us all out of the snow the next morning, and more people after that. Ida Mae told us to make ourselves breakfast and told me to bring my kids down to visit her so they could play and ride their horses. She wanted us to come and visit often. Such a kind soul everyone was.

I let my boss know that I wouldn't be coming in for the next couple of days so I could get my car out of the snow, but to also have a day off after that terrifying day. I ended up quitting after those two days. My boss had every chance to shut things down and he didn't. He risked our lives for a few extra bucks. That isn't someone I want to work for I decided.

I have a huge fear of driving in the snow now. That day scared me to say the least. I am traumatized from driving even in the littlest bit of snow. But I am more cautious on the road, and I do make better decisions about driving in general. It's not worth the risk.

To Russ, Jacob, Ida Mae, Jerry, and Alex, thank you for being my angels that day. I will never forget the experience or the people who looked out for me and saved my life. I appreciate you and am so grateful we met, even under the circumstances. You are all very special to me.

fact or fiction
1

About the Creator

DMTakeshi

DMTakeshi has zero credentials and these poems have a high probability that they are the ramblings of a person with a serious mental illness. Enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.