Humans logo

Confessions of the Mad

Installment Eight

By DMTakeshiPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
1
Photo by Tyram on Shutterstock

4 October 2021

Someone broke into my car and couldn't get it started, but they were able to manage to break our car. Maybe it has something to do with the ignition, who knows. They also stole my husband's glasses and left the case. If you're going to take glasses, at least don't scratch them. Sometimes it feels like we are being targeted.

Until tomorrow my friends.

5 October 2021

My husband received a very disturbing phone call today from a man that called himself Mike. Mike informed us that he had our child and that we needed to send him ten thousand dollars or he would kill my son. You could hear a child crying and begging for help in the background. He said my son stole drugs from him and he works for the cartel.

He let us speak to our son and all he said was, "I'm sorry Dad, I messed up." He let us know that he would not kill my son if we didn't call the police and follow his exact instructions. He wanted me to shut off my phone, but I was able to call my son's birth father before he made me turn it off.

He wanted us to western union the money. This part truly frightened me because I felt like I was being watched by him. He directed me to go into the Walgreens and find the western union kiosk and type the information into it. I was about to do it when my husband came in and told me he flagged down the police and they were here and wanted to talk to me.

At first, I shooed him away. Again, I was too scared that this Mike dude was watching me. I quickly changed my tune because I really felt like this was our only shot to get our son back. I was completely panicking at this point. But I handed the phone to my husband and told him to wait at the kiosk while I spoke with the officer.

I kept telling the officer that I just wanted to send the money so that my son didn't get hurt. I only wanted him to be safe. He insisted I wait until he located our son. He thought that he was at school.

One officer turned into a total of six officers when they couldn't find him at school. My heart was dropping. What in the F was going on? Then my husband came over to show me our son's birth father was calling his phone.

I turned on my phone to call him back as I didn't want to hang up on the kidnapper/murderer. My son's birth father then informed me he was with the police himself and they were looking at where my son's location was by his phone.

He then immediately found him. He was just ditching school. What a fricken way to wake up. This dude had us in panic mode for over an hour just for a scam. It took me all day to calm down. I still feel vulnerable. Again, are we being targeted?

Thanks again friends.

6 October 2021

Today was a very quiet day. Thank goodness after yesterday. My husband and I want to move. We are thinking Michigan because my sister lives there. We told my daughter and she seemed alright with it. I was surprised that she didn't say anything about the friends she has made.

I really cannot wait to get out of Colorado. It has been a nightmare ever since we came back here three years ago. I could go on and on about the bad things we have experienced so far so I will move along and save stories for another time.

Today I am trying to focus on the good. My son is talking to me. My daughter is healthy and knows what she wants in life. My husband is making music again. I am starting to put together my second book and am getting excited to work on it. There is good in my life. I have a lot I have to be grateful for.

Until tomorrow friends!

7 October 2021

OMG! I got asked to be interviewed on a podcast because of my poem, Split Personality. I am beyond excited. I am also nervous because I've never done anything like this before, but it's in a good way. It's with someone I trust and she informed me she is also nervous. I don't know why, but I helped me to know that I am not alone in feeling that way

My husband and I have decided to live and work in Toledo, OH. I am leaving next week to go and look for homes and buy another franchise out there. This is going to be the best thing for us. I cannot wait.

I will be in Toledo by myself while my husband stays in Colorado. That is until he can sell the business and get out there. We need this as soon as possible. To not have a house payment would be ideal. I will miss my family though. I think that will be the toughest thing about this trip.

I will ask my sister to stay with her until I can find a house. She will totally let me, I just want to let her know it will be sooner than we thought. She can even go house searching with me. That will be fun. There's also one in her town going up for auction that can be an option. It goes up at the end of the month.

There are so many options there and more opportunities for us. We really need out of Colorado. We love our home, but it has become too expensive to live here anymore. Also, too crowded. Everyone wants to live in Colorado.

Thanks for reading friends!

8 October 2021

My daughter is quarantined because she came in contact with her grandma who has Covid. She was with her this last weekend. My son was as well so he should be quarantined too. I don't know if his birth father cares about Covid. I let him know and that is all I can do.

I had to cancel a whole bunch of appointments because my daughter came down with symptoms and was in contact with grandma. We should probably get her tested, but she will quarantine anyways. It won't be until the 16th that she will be able to attend school again and then they have fall break for a week. But in the meantime, it has been nice spending extra time with her.

Thanks for reading.

9 October 2021

Today is my husband's birthday. He said he doesn't want to do anything. I get it. It just feels like any other day.

We decided to tell my son today that we could be moving to Ohio or Michigan. He sounded pretty upset about it all. I feel horrible. Should I go? I told him we would visit all the time and that we could have him out for visits. Maybe it is a bad idea, I really don't know.

It is true that this is the best move we could make. We cannot afford Colorado anymore. Is this a good idea or a bad idea to leave my son? He has been living with his birth father for the last five months and he hardly sees me anymore.

Will this make our time together more valuable, or will he just push me further away? I just want to talk with him. I wonder if he will let me. I will call him tomorrow to see if it's okay to go out together. Maybe I can bribe him with shopping or bobas or anything really. I just want to see his face before I go looking for homes on Thursday.

We will see what happens. Thanks friends.

10 October 2021

Today I woke up at 6 PM. I forgot to call my son because I woke up so late and had to get a lot done around the house. I am feeling so very bad about this.

So, the plan is for me is to go to Michigan on Thursday to stay with my sister until I have our cleaning business started out there and I find a home. My husband will stay here to try to sell this business.

My daughter will come out with me once I get a house and we will get a kitty for her. She has wanted one since she was so little, we thought we would give in and get her one since we are dragging her across country.

Tomorrow I am taking a mental health break for the week. Installment Eight will begin once I find a home. It's a bit stressful. I will need that break. I am grateful you all are sticking with my stories. I appreciate you being patient while I catch up on reading everyone's stories and for being understanding while I take care of things. Thanks again friends.

fact or fiction
1

About the Creator

DMTakeshi

DMTakeshi has zero credentials and these poems have a high probability that they are the ramblings of a person with a serious mental illness. Enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.