Humans logo

Blue Was Our Color

My Best Friend Died And I Think I Did Too.

By Alisha ScottPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1
I always wore blue when we were together.

The sky was blue that day. Blue like the world was full of happiness and grace.

Until the call came to tell me that one of my very best friends on the planet died. He died.

Suddenly the blue changed to sadness and grief, like no other blue I have ever seen. The darkest, heaviest blue hue settled in my soul.

I will never see the color blue the same way. The bright blue lights and glow that had once surrounded our friendship is now permanently covered in darkness.

The very moment I knew that Earl was no longer on this earth, a part of my heart broke and died with him. I will never be the same. Blue will never be the same.

Blue is now sadness and dispair and grief. Blue is the color of the tears streaming from my eyes and the ache in my heart. Blue is no longer the color of joy.

Some losses change you forever.

Blue was the color of love between us. Blue was the color of the lights we danced under, and the color of the sky at night while we slept under the stars.

When we laughed and joked with each other, that happiness was the most beautiful vibrant blue on Earth, like the color of a beautiful bright blue sky on a Summer day, without a cloud in sight. We loved each other and we loved knowing each other.

He became part of my family, and I thought I would always know him and have him in my life. And I did, until Monday, July 27th, 2020, when the color blue changed, forever.

And now he is gone, and the world is darker. And my heart is broken. The world is shaded in a blue that is misty, foggy, blurry and darker than the deepest depths of the sea.

My heart will always hurt when I think of losing him, but it will also rejoice in knowing that he is with God and is happy. I will laugh at all of the great times that we had and all of the laughs that we shared together that will never be taken away from us.

The bright shades of blue that we shared will always live in my heart. But they will always be a shade darker.

It is amazing how losing someone with such a weightless spirit and soul feels so heavy on mine, but I know that I will see my friend again someday. I hope that when I do, he will spin me around the dance floor under those bright beautiful blue lights of Heaven, call me "Lil Girl" like he always did and we will embrace like only the best of friends do.

Rest In Peace, my friend.

friendship
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.