Humans logo

Blue Heart Adventure

My Mysterious Suitor

By April BealPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
Blue Heart Mystery

Today started like any other day. I woke up got dressed, ate, when to the bathroom and got ready to leave the house. It was a beautiful sunny June day in my northern rural community. It was so nice out I decided to walk the 5 blocks to work instead of drive. As I strolled down my road I found myself lost in thought and staring at my feet, when suddenly something blue caught my eye. I stopped and stared at what I first thought was a piece of rubbish on the road. It looked like it had been folded. As I inspected I realized I was looking at an origami paper heart. I picked it up and admired the craftsmanship, and found myself feeling a desire to learn origami. As I flipped it over in my hands a compartment opened showing another folded paper, this one was white. When I unfolded it, two stickers were looking back at me. One smiley face and one of Frodo Baggins. I stared puzzled, what could that mean? How strange I thought. Shrugging it off I continued on my way to work. When I arrived I continuously

caught myself daydreaming about the mysterious blue origami heart. Who's was it? ,What was it for? Why the stickers? 3 hours went by, suddenly a thought washed over me and I blurted out "The Happy Hobbit!!" My co-workers all looked at me like a crazy person and I apologized and pretended to get back to work. My mind was racing, The happy hobbit I thought, could that be what the stickers meant? Our town had a small locally owned shop called the happy hobbit, I could go there to investigate after work maybe? No, how silly, it has to be a coincidence right? My work day ended and I couldn't get those stickers off my mind. Okay I thought I will go to the store, what's the harm?

I walked to the store thinking about what it could mean, maybe the store was putting on a game? I rounded the corner and stood looking at the display window. I was looking at beautiful home décor, Buddha statues and yoga gear. I looked all around and Caught a glimpse of something blue in the back corner. I ran inside excited, grabbed what I saw, it was a blue origami heart tide to a gorgeous colorful picnic blanket. The owner of the store saw me and came over, She asked if I wanted to purchase a blanket, I told her about the heart I found and how it matched this one. She looked at me with excitement in her eyes and said "You're here! You finally came, I've been wondering when you would walk thru the door. This blanket and heart are yours, take them and Good luck!" And with that I walked out of the store somewhat more confused but excited nonetheless. I flipped the new heart over in my hand, the same compartment opened to a white note. This one had a riddle, it said "I am young in the sun and trapped to be aged, held in a bottle, but opening is delayed, What am I?" I stopped for a moment to think, trapped to be aged?...Wine maybe?! I quickly looked around and saw about two blocks down was the Government Liquor store.

I started down the street still thinking about the riddle hoping I got it right. As I walked into the Liquor store I approached the only cashier working. I explained my strange story to her and was met with the same excited look as before, she reached under the counter and pulled out three different types of wines a Merlot, a Pinot Noir and a Cabernet. I stared at her expecting an explanation but all she said was "pick one". I choose the Merlot and she smiled handing me the bottle and a new blue origami heart. I couldn't help but get butterflies, I thanked her and was on my way. I stepped out of the store and stopped to inspect the new heart. There was no compartment on this one, humm I thought, maybe that was it? A blanket and a bottle of wine? A picnic? I started on my way home but stopped and decided to look at the heart again. I took the heart out of my back pack and noticed it was folded differently than the others. I figured out that the heart had to be folded in half to present a secret message to the beholder. It was a picture of eyeballs and an arrow pointing up. Curious I thought, something fell to the ground, I looked down then realized it was blades of grass. I went back to the Liquor store front and looked up, I saw two billboards, one of KFC's new burger and one of the new park in town, the billboard had a picnic basket on it!! The park was up by my house! I excitedly fast walked all the way home. I dropped off my back pack, changed out of my work clothes and into a lightweight jumpsuit. I grabbed the wine, the blanket and the hearts.

As I left the house for the park I thought to myself how amazing this little adventure has been and who could have possibly set this all up? Was it for me? or did I stubble upon a unrequited love quest? Either way I was off to have a lovely wine picnic all by myself thanks to a complete stranger. With a smile on my face I arrived at the park and I scanned the area for a nice spot. As I was looking around I noticed a man laying on a picnic table with a basket that had a blue heart on the side. My eyes went wide, my heart started to beat fast. I hesitantly approached the man with the blue heart and cleared my throat. His eyes fluttered open, he turned to look at me and we were locked in each other's stares for what seemed like forever, he was so handsome with Light brown hair and forest green eyes "Hi" I said. "I know this will probably sound strange but I found this blue heart today And it took me on the craziest adventure, It brought me to you actually" He smiled, sat up and chuckled. He asked where I found the first heart, when I told him his smile faded. He looked down then back up at me, smiled again and asked if I would like to join him for the picnic he prepared and hoped I would share the wine I choose. I agreed to join him as butterflies went crazy in my stomach and we walk out to the field and spread the blanket on the cool grass. He stated to unpack his picnic basket placing a berry salad, cheese and meat platter, stuffed mushrooms and two wine glasses on the blanket. He then asked which wine I choose, He was very happy I handed him the Merlot. His favorite wine and a perfect pairing for this picturesque picnic. We ate, talked, laughed and very much enjoyed each other's company. I thanked him for not only the riveting mystery but also delicious picnic. he congratulated me on figuring it all out. We exchanged phone numbers and parted ways.

As I walked home the sun began to set and I couldn't help but smile while I thought "that was definitely the best date I have ever been on".

single
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.