Humans logo

Bitter Sweet

That taste

By Rodney ThomasearlPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

itter Taste

Clouds

Love has never had such a bitter taste since I met her. I thought I was prepared for anything in this game of life, but I was not ready for you. I wasn’t ready for the pain and suffering I was destined to go through. I should have known it would be toxic from the start. When I saw that purple mohawk, I should have known you were trouble. This Valentines I spent it alone, even though we were supposed to spend it together. I’m guessing you are with him or maybe someone else. I should have known you were cheating the first day we started dating. It was like we were never alone; you never gave our relationship a chance. It is like we were never really were together. I wish I hadn’t made plans with you, at least then you wouldn’t have to make a excuse. Now that I am sitting here in my dorm room alone, I can’t stop asking myself, “why do I keep on doing this”. What is the point of a relationship if you feel like you are alone even if they are starring you in the eyes? I should have noticed how cold your eyes were, even when they were burning with lust for me, but was it ever love? I don’t think so, if you did love me you wouldn’t hurt me like this. I already know the answer but for some reason I haven’t left you already. It is just a matter of time, till I find someone just like you. I wish I could handle being alone like I was before. It feels like you cracked me open and my soul leaked out. Like I could never live without you, but I need to. I have tried to be with so many other girls, but I keep coming back to you. I could have been with someone else today, but I only want to be with you. It felt like the red string of fait was a noose around my neck, it felt like I couldn’t breathe without her. I could feel that string killing me.

Suddenly a woman came from the darkness, holding the scissors that cut that string. She grabbed the little strings left and kissed me on the lips and tied her red strings to mine. We became entangled. It felt so similar, to how what I felt before, but it was different, but I knew it was a wolf and sheep clothing. It was cupid playing his intrepid games. It was her best friend who was free at the moment, pulling me along. I was sick and I felt a little evil as my bitter eyes feasted on her image. I now know that cupid makes a coward out of us all. As our lips touched it felt like our strings intertwined. I knew she was the wrong person; her friend was just using me. I felt evil going to the movies with her as my Valentines date, but I couldn’t fight it. It was like I was a dog and she had the leash. This Valentines Day was bittersweet I want sure if I was happy or just vengeful. I wish I had not fell in love with her friend. It was like choosing another roller coaster. This ride of love never seems to end well for me. It makes me not want to choose against you, but I have to. I have to choose what is right for me. Whatever that is…

breakups
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.