Humans logo

Big mistakes guys make on dating apps that make quality girls run for the hills

And why they’re red flags…

By Corinne McCaffertyPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

In the 21st century, during a pandemic, is there any other way to date that to swipe through scores of potential “soulmates” on the dating apps? If there is, I’d love to hear it.

However, there are some benefits of Bumble. Fuckboys give themselves away so blatantly, you can avoid ever going on a date with them! Here are some signs that you’ve matched with a beta fuckboy.

1) Snapchat/Insta in the bio

We all know exactly why guys want our Snapchats. It’s low effort, low risk and high reward. They’ll often proclaim “don’t use this, just message me on insta”. They can’t even be arsed to have a conversation first, they just want the ego boost of a tonne of DMs from pretty girls they can brag about. Moreover, it puts the onus on you to have to look them up and go out of your way to message him. Only a beta male lets women chase him like that and if he doesnt want to make the effort now, then he’s not relationship material sweetie.

2) “I’m 6ft 3, I’m told that matters 🙄”

The attitude in this one! Does it matter that I’m attractive to you? Of course it does. It matters a hell of a lot. So don’t pretend we’re the shallow ones for having preferences. Yes, some girls want reeeallyyy tall guys despite being 5ft themselves, but most of us are just want someone at least taller than us. We all have preferences, you guy sure as shit do. If someone doesn’t like your short ass get the fuck over it and move on. God knows the rest of us do.

3) “Dont want to talk for ages, let’s just meet and see if we get on”

Sounds genuine enough, and sometimes it is. But the problem is when they say this in their bio, or after like two messages, with barely a “hey, how are you?”. To be honest, guy I don’t know, I don’t exactly have all the time in the world to go on dates with people I haven’t had so much as a conversation with. I can probably tell pretty quickly if we’re going to get on enough for a date within a few days of messaging. If you’ve got shit chat and can’t be arsed to text, I don’t presume you’re going to be a fun and interesting date. You’re going to need to try a little harder than that to convince me to get all dolled up and leave the house to meet you, a stranger. Especially not on a remote coastal walk (yes, one guy did want to go on a coastal walk after 2 boring messages each). It’s just not safe dude, soz.

4) “Do you want to take my number?”

I don’t know, do I? Or do you want mine? If you do, just ask, it’s totally fine! But I’ve already gone out my way to message you on bumble, so you’re saying I should now take your number and make the first move again, while you just sit back and relax. I totally get that guys that say this probably lack confidence or are just trying not to be pushy, but asking for my number on a dating app isn’t pushy, it shows you’re interested. By asking if I want yours, I get you’re trying to gauge my interest, but if I wasn’t interested I wouldn’t still be talking to you. And the times I’ve actually taken a guys’ number and texted him, he makes so little effort and clearly isn’t that interested. Then I’m pissed I’ve wasted my time putting this guys number in my phone and bothering to message the waster. And then go out my way to then delete said number so my phones not full of randoms. So if you’re actually interested just take a little risk and ask for mine, then send me a nice, normal message. Makes you more attractive, just saying.

5) “Don’t just say hey, say something interesting”

Excuse me, I’m not your dancing monkey here to entertain you. If I message you on bumble, thus giving you the opportunity to talk to me, then you should feel fucking lucky. You make it interesting. I will send you a fairly innocuous first message like “hey, how’s your weekend going?” with a cute smiley and you’ll fucking appreciate it. You can send me a good, interesting message in response if you like and I’ll reciprocate. Or you can just respond, “yeah good thanks you” and I’ll assume you’re not bothered. The choice is yours, but don’t expect me to try and “woo” you. Cowboy the fuck up.

There are many more red flags, but these are common ones I’ve encountered this time around the dating pool. I think a lot of decent guys probably make these mistakes and don’t realise how it makes them look, so if you are a sweet, interested guy, then take note. But more often than not they’re just beta males who prefer to make girls chase them rather than take any risks themselves. So if you’re an alpha female full of self-love (or you aspire to be), watch out for these warning signs that you’ve matched with a beta fuckboy. Take the bait at your peril (and by peril, I really mean wasting your time and getting pissed off, while stroking some random dudes’ ego).

dating
Like

About the Creator

Corinne McCafferty

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.