Humans logo

Betrayed by the People I Trusted

It’s hard to be such a trusting and forgiving person.

By Erina KimuraPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like
You are the only person that you can rely on.

It really does suck to be betrayed by people you trusted. You’ve spent so much time with them and created so many memories, but once you’re betrayed it all seems like it wasn’t real.

I was betrayed by someone I was in a relationship for almost four years, and two people who I believed were my friends that I met from work. I had become close friends in a short time with my co-workers and let them meet my now ex-boyfriend, we all spent so much time together. I remember all the hotel parties we’ve had, and where we would spend time together eating. It was like I was hit by a train when I was cheated on, I believed that my two friends would be there for me but they immediately ghosted me. I was alone and it took a toll on my mental health. I was stuck with distracting myself with hobbies like watching dramas or working a lot.

I really thought I meant a lot to my ex-boyfriend. I confessed to him in my junior year, and he was a senior. I was his first girlfriend. He was doing drugs at the time, but once we reached our two years he finally became sober. I felt like that was when everything became more fun. I would often go over to his house just to spend time with him or we would often go to the mall and eat together. We shared so many significant memories together; we had fights but everything always worked out in the end. It was mostly me fighting for our relationship, and it just seemed like he had all the right words to say afterward. It was the month of our four-year anniversary where I found out that he cheated, or that he was talking to the girl for two months and I had no idea about it. He told me that he only dated me because he pitied me; he told me that he was doing drugs again. He was doing worse drugs now, though: He was drinking and doing cocaine. He told me that he was homeless, but he was actually at another girl’s house. It didn’t make sense to lie when we were already ending our relationship, but I guess I didn’t really know him. He was a sociopath.

I thought my friends would be there for me, as I had always been there for them for support. They would only reach out to me once in a while, but most of the time it was just to mention something about him. They still had tabs on him so after a few weeks, they told me that he was no longer with the other girl and that he wasn’t doing drugs. He was arrested and bailed out by his parents and after all that he started to call them asking about how I was doing. He was telling them that he cared about me and wanted to be my friend. It hurt but it took me a while to realize that they were there for him more than me; they wouldn’t answer my messages sometimes or even check up on me. It’s funny how they told me they were busy, yet they would find the time to answer his calls and to tell me about him. Recently they finally had it with him, realizing that he’s now a drug addict and that his words aren’t lining up with his actions. It may have seemed like they were being there for him just because of the hope for him to be the person he used to be. It was obvious that he had changed and became selfish, that drugs were more important to him along with finding someone else who matched that lifestyle.

I feel like it’s hard for me to move on, yet it’s only been a month since this all happened. I don’t know what to do with my “friends,” I want to confront them about how I feel. I’m just not sure how to yet, but my trust has been broken. I’ve kept no contact with my ex. In order to move on from my ex though, I’ve contacted a family member of his that used to message me that I want to meet him this week to tell him everything I’ve felt to give myself closure. If he doesn’t come, however, that will also give me closure. I know that I deserve better and that there are people out there that will be loyal, not all people are the same. There are better people out there, and in this time this is a chapter of my life with a lesson I need to learn. I will become strong after this, but until then I’ll be slowly recovering and taking baby steps.

breakups
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.