Humans logo

Best. Picnic. Ever.

That's "no cap", as the colloquialism goes.

By Nefarious DarriusPublished 3 years ago Updated 8 months ago 4 min read
Like

20JUN2021; 2055, SUN

Today's events were almost too spectacular to be actually possible, nevermind feasible! It was really and truly the epitome of epic, on both ends of the positivity spectrum.

Between the random, homemade Father's Day card from my oldest Little One; to all of my new friends wishing me Godspeed as I took my leave of them, so that I could meet my fav Younglings for dinner... Speaking of which tho, I was blessed enough to be able to give one of my younger brothers a couple of heartfelt gifts; so as to celebrate his parenthood too.

Also, I gave the handsome "young" man who thankfully married my mom an awesome, brand new tee shirt from my website; which I'm pretty sure that he was extremely grateful to receive. The only gift that I received was a phenomenally beautiful Las Vegas coffee mug; and it couldn't have come at a better time (I'm back on my coffee kick finally)!

Back to the picnic tho: I was fortunate enough to be in the group pic and a couple of videos by the amazingly beautiful hostess; tho, I somehow completely missed my chance for a pic with just me and her super fine, semi-celebrity self. Don't be like me!

On the serious tip: I was feeling ridiculously exhausted after mowing the grass for my children's mother this morning; and I was definitely working on a calorie deficit. In addition, I somehow overslept too much to do my morning meditation; nevermind the impossibility of catching a church service in person.

Another downside to today was that I wasn't able to get any of my friends or Fam from my previous circles to join me for the glorious occasion. In a similar vein, I regret that I wasn't able to teach my 14 month old nephew how to walk efficiently today; like I thankfully was able to do for my youngest a couple years back.

Lovely ladies were seemingly grateful to converse with my black behind and exchange IG (Instagram) info, on the flip side; despite my most def being "fashionably late". Praise sweet, Black Baby Jesus.

I'm reminded of a random, short vid from some time ago, wherein a hilarious young man claims, "I don't even want your number! Just please give me your IG, so that I can look at pics of your fine self all day."

Seriously tho, from the time that I hopped out of my truck with a cooler, which I borrowed from my Old Man, there was hardly anything but positive vibes being sent my way; thank the heavens. I know that I certainly don't always reciprocate the good energy people put out towards me; but that's neither here nor there.

Random: I chugged a couple of ice cold Cokes back to back almost, for the first time in many moons; "and it show[ed]." I kid you not: mid convo with one of the very first peeps to welcome me into the fold, and I'm desperately trying not to throw up on him out of nowhere.

Another random factoid: the simply gorgeous, and undoubtedly hilarious hostess of today's event is legit the personification of, "Develop a negative into a positive picture"; as rapped by the living legend, Ms. Lauryn Hill (MLH) back in '98. As the cool kids say, "I humbly aspire."

She just so happened to find out that her previous "friends" weren't worth their weight in salt; thanks to a random, tho intentional social media post by a complete stranger (at the time). Now, there's people all over the country, the world even, who can relate to her struggle; and can't wait for her to host an inclusive, as well as invigorating picnic in a city near them.

Given that this was only the second picnic from her new friend club, and the fact that it's all funded by donations, along with her own personal ends, I'd say that not even a (pending) zombie apocalypse nor a (much more likely) economic crisis could stop this freight train. As my mans, the hometown hero, and infamous icon Martin Lawrence would say, "[You can] believe that!"

TL;DR- Following and/or joining in on the exceptional escapades of No More Lonely Friends might could be a chore without an IG/TikTok account. However, it's well worth throwing caution to the wind, IMHO (In My Humble Opinion), so as to potentially experience the excitement live, and in the flesh.

P.S.- We were legit in one of the more crime prevalent metropolises of these here United States of America, without a care in the world; except which snacks and drinks pair best. As the young folks say, "I gotta keep it a stack [with y'all]": D.C. doesn't stand for "District of Columbia"; but rather "Don't Come".

To end on a positive note tho: This world never deserved beautiful, empathetic phenoms like the ones that I was able to rub elbows with today. I'm damn sure glad that we were graced with them tho!

***

Prayerfully, someone somewhere gets something pertinent (re: useful) from this post. If that somebody's you, then please think about considering a Like/Tip/Share, and/or check out some of my other posts.

TIA (Thanks In Advance). Peaceful Tidings.

friendship
Like

About the Creator

Nefarious Darrius

I'm a Grunt who’s been stuck in traffic for the past few decades or so. From DC to Seattle & Iraq; to back in "The Swamp". Also, I Love my Progeny more than life. Born Day: 4/20. Lastly, my apparel brand, War 'N' Tees is live! One Love.

***

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.