Humans logo

Becoming Amy

Becoming Amy

By Tabitha Published 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

I reclined gently as I swallowed the bittersweet taste of cider. Jodie was late but I didn't mind, it gave me a chance to peruse the bar, I loved people watching. The bar is intimate with spatters of bright colours interspersed with dark brown walls. I gaze at the cosy area through the archway at the rear end of the pub, I am suddenly aware of a pair of eyes avidly watching me I can't quite make out the colour of them but they are a similar shape to mine, they belong to a strikingly beautiful young woman, I go to smile at her but she continues to stare until I avert my gaze. I quickly take out my phone and fidget awkwardly as I feel a red that is dark and potent rushing to my cheeks I slowly lift my head and I am shocked to see that she is standing right in front of me "Do you mind if I sit down?" she asks in a very pronounced English accent "yes sure" I reply trying to hide my confusion. She sits down and crosses her legs "What's your name?"

I blink at her slowly "Grace, my name is Grace and yours?"

"Amy. It's nice to meet you"

She extends her hand to me and I shake it cautiously.

Her gorgeous curls frame her perfectly heart-shaped face I can now see that her eyes are hazel, her purple Chanel suit fits her slender form as if it were tailor-made for her.

"I'm waiting for a friend, she's running late" I explain.

"I'm waiting for someone too," she says with a wry little smile.

Before I can ask who she was meeting my drink is abruptly knocked from my hand.

"Hey watch it!" Amy roared at the culprit responsible, he was a giant of a man about 6'7 and unquestionably intoxicated.

He snarled at Amy as he stepped towards her "Why don't you shut your mouth?!"

"Why don't you apologise and stop acting like a silly chump!"

I had never seen a woman stand up to a belligerent man in a bar before not to mention she was standing up for me a complete stranger.

He opened his mouth as if he were about to respond and then grudgingly turned and walked away as I sat staring in awe.

"Wow that was impressive, you weren't the least bit intimidated...also thank you"

"No problem he was a fool that needed a right telling off"

"I can't stand drunks"

"Neither can I trust me... I am one" she adds compunctiously.

"You! really?" I say trying to disguise my shock that the stunning, composed woman sat in front of me could possibly have a drinking problem.

"Yep, I just came back from rehab it was in Ibiza which is why I have this fabulous tan" she states with a hint of sarcasm.

"How long were you there?"

"Three months"

"And you got back when?"

"Two weeks ago"

"So why are you at a bar of all places"

"I already told you, I'm meeting someone" she declares somewhat defensively.

I glance down at her glass and observe for the first time that she is drinking orange juice.

"I didn't mean to offend you"

"It's fine, it's a reasonable question to ask I guess" she looks down at her flawlessly manicured nails as I nervously distract myself by wiping up the spilt cider with a napkin.

"It doesn't matter what background you come from privileged or not. I thought an alcoholic was someone that looked like they lived on the street, I didn't think it could ever be me. When I went into treatment I thought sure I guess I'll give it a go but I was absolutely adamant that I was okay, about three weeks in I realised I actually did have a problem a big, big problem. When I left rehab I recognised that I needed a completely fresh start, new friends, new hobbies, a whole new life."

"What do you do?"

"I'm a model"

"That explains, your absolutely stunning"

"So are you" she replies.

I roll my eyes. Yeah right"

"Stop it! you are beyond beautiful you actually remind me of my younger sister"

"I can't think of a nicer compliment" I utter quietly "so what do you plan to do now to make this fresh start that you speak of and aid your recovery?"

"I'm taking a break from modelling and I'm going back to University to get my masters" she announces proudly.

"That's amazing!" I am genuinely impressed by Amy and her ability to pick herself back up and look like an utter goddess doing so.

"I used to really resent alcoholics until I met you" the words leave my mouth before I even know that I am saying them.

"My Dad was killed by a drunk driver"

"I'm so sorry!" Amy gasps her face horrified by my revelation.

"It was a year ago now, I was on the phone to him when it happened, the car mounted the pavement and... I pause as I gather my emotions I always perseverate when talking about him, a car drove straight towards him and didn't stop that's what an eye witness said "I was screaming his name down the phone over and over, I didn't even hang up to call an ambulance... I just kept calling for him. I shake my head trying to banish the memory from my mind. Amy is wearing an expression I'm not used to seeing, 'pitty' I'm used to but not this, it's a solicitousness that is usually reserved for loved ones people who care about you, I don't know this woman but we feel connected in some ominous way.

Without warning, Amy clasps my hand "Thank you for sharing that with me. I have to go now there's something important I have to do"

She is lying I think to myself, I know she is, she blinked 11 times.

"Goodbye Grace, I wish you all the best"

"You too," I say slightly stunned at the abruptness I watch her walk away before returning to my thoughts it's then that I notice that Amy has left a small black notebook on the table, I grab it and quickly run out onto the street but there is no sign of her. I head back to my table and flick through the notebook hoping to find her contact details. It's full of modelling headshots none of which belong to Amy. What is this? I softly murmur to myself.

"Amy!"

I look up perplexed and see a short, well-dressed gentleman beside my table. Why on earth does this man think I'm Amy?

"I'm not..."

Before I can continue 'well-dressed gentleman' as I have momentarily named him, informs me that I am the winner of the Little black book. "Your face will be seen by all the top fashion houses in the world, they will all have personalised copies of the Little black book and your headshot will remain on the front page for an entire year! he squeals. "I'm Pierre, you spoke to my assistant earlier today we are so happy to welcome you to our agency, write this in your diary your LBB photoshoot is this Friday at 1pm and your winnings will be sent to you by cheque"

"I'm sorry...my winnings?"

"The 20,000 cash prize darling"

I can't believe this! in that instant, I know that Amy deliberately left the notebook on the table knowing the modelling agent she was meeting would mistake me for her.

"You've changed your hair, Amy, I think you will have to go back to the curls hun"

"That's fine with me Pierre. Just. fine" I sing.

I smile as I finally spot Jodie bustling towards me.

friendship
Like

About the Creator

Tabitha

Hello, I'm a singer-songwriter from London currently working on my debut EP. I love telling stories whether its through writing, acting, or song.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.