Humans logo

Because I Couldn't Say It Then

a one act play

By Alex DahlPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
Like
Because I Couldn't Say It Then
Photo by NeONBRAND on Unsplash

CAST OF CHARACTERS (in order of appearance)

PETER - - - - - Mid 20s.

CRISTINA - - - Mid 20s.

GATE ATTENDANT - A 30-something year old woman.

SOPHIA - - - - Christina’s two year old daughter.

SYNOPSIS OF SCENES

SCENE ONE: An airport boarding gate.

SCENE TWO: A small coffee shop. Three years later.

SCENE THREE: Cristina’s apartment. Two days later. 

SCENE ONE

(AT RISE: PETER and CRISTINA are found at the ticket desk of an airplane boarding terminal.)

(The GATE ATTENDANT motions/calls for the next person in line. CRISTINA steps forward and hands her ticket to the GATE ATTENDANT. PETER moves to lean on the counter so he can see CARISTINA’S face.)

PETER

Come on, Cris. Isn’t what we have here enough for you? Don’t go to Greece.

CRISTINA

It was enough Peter. When we were in high school. But high school is over. We’ve been together for almost six years, ever since you asked me out on that cheesy date to the carnival in tenth grade.

PETER

(laughing)

I used to be big with that cheesy romance stuff, huh?

CRISTINA

Key word, Pete. Used to be. What happened to all that? What happened to the high school boy that couldn’t go a single weekend without calling or coming over to see me?

PETER

(shrugs)

I grew up. So what? You said it yourself Cristina, we’re not in high school anymore.

CRISTINA

Well I grew up too. And I’m ready for more from life than Pizza Night every Wednesday. You say you grew up, but frankly, you’re not acting like it. I mean, it’s been almost six years and I still don’t really know how you feel about me, about us.

PETER

What are you saying? What do you mean you don’t know how I feel about you? You know I care for you.

CRISTINA

Another key word, Pete. I care for you. Not I love you. It’s never I love you that comes out of your mouth. It’s I care for you. Why do you think that is, Pete?

PETER

I…. I don’t know. I didn’t realize… I’m sorry, Cris.

(CRISTINA takes ticket back from GATE ATTENDANT and moves to stand before the terminal. PETER moves to stand next to CRISTINA as she turns to face him.)

CRISTINA

I do love you, Peter. I want to stay here with you. But this cooking school in Greece is my dream. And if you can’t even say three little words to me, how can you ask me to give up my dreams for you?

PETER

That’s not fair, Cris! You’ve had all this time to tell me this, why did you wait til now?

CRISTINA

Because you waited til now to ask me to stay with you.

GATE ATTENDANT

We’re ready to close the gate Ms. Hemmings. Are you boarding?

CRISTINA

(looks pointedly at PETER)

Well?

(PETER stutters, trying to find words.)

That’s what I thought. I’m sorry, Pete. I have to go. Maybe you’ll be more of a man when I get back in a couple years.

(CRISTINA turns away and follows the terminal and the GATE ATTENDANT off stage. PETER is left standing alone on stage as the LIGHTS FADE.)

SCENE TWO

(AT RISE: It is 3 years later. CRISTINA is found standing sitting in a small coffee shop. Sitting Across from her is a small girl of about age 2, SOPHIA. They are eating and talking of their recent trip to the zoo. There are a few other people in the shop: a couple patrons and the cashier who stands behind the pastry counter.)

(PETER enters the coffee shop. He passes by CRISTINA on his way to the counter. He stops a few paces past her as he realizes who is sitting at the table. He turns back and walks up to her and the little girl.)

PETER

Cristina? When did you get back from Greece?

CRISTINA

(looks up, surprised to see PETER.)

Um… about six months ago.

PETER

Why didn’t you call? We could’ve had dinner. Caught each other up on what’s happened in the last three years.

(slides into a chair at CRISTINA’s table.)

How have you been? How was Greece? I’ve mi –

(clears his throat)

I hope cooking school was all you imagined…

CRISTINA

Uh… yeah. It was fun. Greece is a gorgeous place.

(CRISTINA reaches across the table to help the SOPHIA tear a piece off a pastry. PETER follows CRISTINA’s actions. He tenses as he realizes there is a little girl at the table with them.)

PETER

So uh… who is this?

CRISTINA

(looks away for a moment as if gathering her thoughts before looking back at PETER)

This is Sophia. My daughter.

PETER

Your what!?

CRISTINA

My daughter.

PETER

That’s what I thought you just said. How old is she?

CRISTINA

She’s two, Peter.

PETER

(sits back in his chair.)

So what’d you do? Jump off the plane and into the bed of the first tall dark Greek that looked at you?

CRISTINA

What the hell kind of question is that Peter? You know me better than that! Not that it’s any of your business, but I haven’t been with anyone but you. Ever!

PETER

What!?

(stares at SOPHIA for a few moments)

You really expect me to believe that?

CRISTINA

Geez, you really haven’t grown up at all in the last three years have you? I found out I was pregnant a little over a month after I left. I thought about telling you. I even called a few times. But I hung up before you answered. I was scared of what you’d say. I made friends in Greece. They helped me get through being single and pregnant and going to school and working. They helped me with Sophia when she was born. Up until six months ago when I decided I needed to come back. I’d come back with the intention of finding you and telling you about her. But things have been busy and I hadn’t quite worked up the courage to face you. So believe it or not, Peter. She’s yours.

(pulls a pen and paper out of her purse and writes down her number)

Here’s my number and address…. for when you grow up.

(CRISTINA picks up SOPHIA and leaves the coffee shop. PETER is left sitting at the table staring after them and holding the small paper. LIGHTS FADE.)

SCENE THREE

(AT RISE: CRISTINA is sitting on the couch when the doorbell rings. She gets up to answer it, finding PETER on the other side of the door. PETER is wearing the same clothes he’d been wearing at the coffee shop two days before, but now the clothes are his hair are a bit ruffled.)

PETER

Hi. um…. can I come in?

CRISTINA

Sure.

(steps back and allows PETER to enter her apartment. Shuts the door behind him.)

Are you okay? You look terrible. Are those the same clothes you were wearing at the coffee shop two days ago?

PETER

Uh… yeah. I feel terrible. I haven’t slept. Haven’t really eaten. I went driving after you left. Just… drove. Kept going til I ran out of gas. Slept in my car. Hitch hiked back into town. Or tried to. I got picked up by a cop and almost had to spend the night in jail because I’d left my wallet in my car so they didn’t believe me when I told them who I was. Apparently looking like a hobo is not how to convince the police you’re not up to something criminal. And I just got a voicemail while I was in the elevator that my car that I left on the side of the freeway has been impounded. It’s been a crazy couple of days.

CRISTINA

So why are you here, Pete?

PETER

(looks around the room as if looking for something)

Where is she? Where’s…

(waves with his hands as if he can’t remember the little girl’s name)

CRISTINA

(sits down on the couch and motions for PETER to join her)

Sophia? She’s taking a nap. So keep your voice at a normal level. If she wakes up before she’s ready, she’ll be cranky the rest of the day.

PETER

(practically falls into a sitting position on the couch)

That’s something a father should know isn’t it?

CRISTINA

Does that mean you believe me?

PETER

I did some thinking while I was driving. I guess the math adds up. I’m sorry I reacted the way I did. You’re right. I do know you better. Or I did. It’s been so long. But… at the same time it hasn’t been that long. Three years went by fast.

(PETER pauses to gather his thoughts. After a few moments he sits up to face CRISTINA more squarely)

But I don’t think there’s been a day go by that I didn’t regret how we left things. I’ve replayed that day over and over in my head a thousand times. But it’s always ended the same. With you walking away and getting on that damn plane. No matter how I imagined that conversation could have gone, it was always the same. I was too scared back then. I realize that now. I was scared of committing. Yeah we’d been together for the better half of a decade. But we were just dating. No commitment there. I was safe. At least I thought I was until I watched your plane fly off with you still on it.

CRISTINA

Peter… you’re rambling. What are you trying to say here? Why are you here?

PETER

I’m here because I’ve missed you. I’m here because you told me I have a daughter. A daughter who’s life I’ve been missing because my stupid scared ass couldn’t buck up and say three little words three years ago. I’m here…. I’m here because I… because I…

CRISTINA

Because you what, Peter? Because you love me? You still can’t say it can you? Do you think I’ve been just pining over our break up the last three years? No. I have been on a few dates. But none of them stuck around once I told them about Sophia. Apparently a ready-made family isn’t what single guys are looking for these days. So I focused my attention on my daughter. Making sure she has everything she wants and needs. And I’m happy with that. I’m okay with being a single mom. Because getting to see the smiles on her face is what gets me through the tough times.

PETER

Cris… I’m not trying to upset you, or insult you. I’m just… I’m trying to sort through what I’m feeling right now. When I saw you in that coffee shop, I couldn’t believe it. Even after I was sitting there talking to you, I still wasn’t sure it wasn’t another dream come to torture me. And then you told me I have a daughter. I was in shock. I’m still in shock I think. But I’m thinking a bit more clearly now. And I’m realizing just how much of a scared kid I was when you left. But I’m not that kid anymore, Cris. I have grown up. And I’m ready to commit. To you… to Sophia. I want to get back what we had. I miss you, Cristina.

CRISTINA

What are you saying Peter? Stop beating around the bush about it. Just say it!

PETER

(sighs and looks away, gathering himself. After a few moments he slides off the couch and onto one knee, pulling a small red box from his pocket as he does.)

I actually went and bought this about eight months after you left. I’d even bought a plane ticket. But I never got on the plane. I was too afraid you’d reject me. I was afraid I’d show up in Greece and find you had moved on. After all, you’re a beautiful and talented woman, and it had been eight months. I thought there was no way you’d be waiting for me.

(opening the small box, PETER holds out the ring to CRISTINA)

I do love you Cristina. I did then. I was just too scared to say it. But I’m still in love with you and I’m saying it now. Don’t leave me again, Cris. We’ve already missed so much. I’ve missed so much. I’m ready to commit. I’m ready to be there for you… and for Sophia. If you’ll have me…

(CRISTINA wipes at her eyes as she starts to cry. At a loss for words she just stares at him for a few moments. Finally she gingerly takes the ring and slides it onto her wedding ring finger. She stares at the ring a moment then throws herself at into PETER’s arms.)

CRISTINA

I’ve missed you too, Peter. I never stopped loving you either.

(LIGHTS FADE)

END OF PLAY

love
Like

About the Creator

Alex Dahl

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.