Humans logo

Be Here Now

The Only Place I Want to Be

By A.Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
2
Be Here Now
Photo by Travis Grossen on Unsplash

Be here now. I heard these words this morning. Be here now. And I thought of you.

I thought of how you challenged me. Over and over and over again. How you asked me to be present. To be here now. With you.

I thought about walking with you in the creek - at who knows what time in the morning. Of how you played and laughed and danced like a child. And how I played, too. For a moment. And then, well, I went away. To the next place - to it’s time to leave. I went to the next hour while you were standing there, playing and laughing and inviting me into your life.

I thought about how the very next morning, we were together and talking and laughing. And how you called me out - told me you could sense my energy. That I was moving ahead, going to what was next. That ALL you wanted was me - for ME to be present. You wanted me to be here now. With you.

I thought about how I said the words - how I told you over and over and over that I wanted you. Yet, when I had you there - in the creek or in your house or in the car - I was already worried about not having you. I was too focused on what might happen or what couldn’t be that I didn’t enjoy what was.

I’m here. Now. But not with you. Because I couldn’t be there then. Because you asked me in a million different ways to just be. To just be with you.

And I kept saying YES and my energy and my actions kept saying no.

I sat in your kitchen and looked at your ceiling and made some comment about finally being present and you called me out on my bullshit. You told me I hadn’t been there all day and that one or two minutes was simply not acceptable. You told me you wanted me.

On the last day I saw you - I told you I cared about you. That I needed to work on me. I told you I was sorry. Sorry that I had been there, but then left. That when we first met, I was present - was there with you. Circumstances led us apart. And when you came back - when you sought me out and found me again. Well, I wasn’t ready. I wasn’t able to be there.

I did the work. It was (and is) difficult. It hurts sometimes. But, I’m happier. I’m present in the moments of my life. I’m engaged with the people I see. But I’m not with you.

When I think about it, I know it must hurt. The way I was (and wasn’t) with you - it hurts me. I know that in any moments of clarity you may have about us, you see what I was doing.

I would say I’m sorry. But, the best apology I can give is to be here. Now.

I can be, you know. Here with you. Right now.

I understand, too, if my choices then mean you don’t want to anymore. No one who saw what I did would expect you to want to be in my presence.

But maybe. Maybe just once, you’ll give me a chance to be there. With you. Now.

I want to be here now. With you. For now and the next now and the one after that.

But what I want is right now. And for as many right nows as we both desire.

And yes, I know I can SAY those words. The only way for you to know is to see.

Do you want to see, I wonder? Do you ever wonder?

Because I wonder and I ache and I know what might have been had I been there.

You asked me over and over and over. I’m asking you today. Will you be here now?

love
2

About the Creator

A.

A. writes creative nonfiction and fiction across a range of genres.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.