Humans logo

Baskets on the Bay

Sunset Cruise

By Michelle McShanePublished 3 years ago 10 min read
Like

Callie wasn’t sure what to expect but thought why not. It was a new website her friends had told her about and most had already tried it. Lately, all of her dates were more like lessons in what not to do than enjoyable encounters with a future.

Sitting down at her computer, she pulled up the website and started looking around to see what it was really all about. She read the stories, the instructions, and then started really thinking about what she would post. The idea behind the website is to describe your dream date and the patrons of the site can peruse, choose their idea of a dream date, and message the poster for a real night of their description.

It took a couple of days of thinking about what a perfect night would be. Dinner and a movie? No, couldn’t really talk during a movie. Cooking for a date and quiet evening in? No, she was meeting a guy from a website for the first time in public in case he turned out to be a psycho killer. Moonlight picnic in the park? Though a great date, it definitely required a level of trust a stranger didn’t merit right away. She finally had it and decided to create her post.

She created a profile. It asked for a picture so she took a selfie, well about 20 selfies before she found one she thought looked good enough to use. There is a local company that gives cruises around the bay with quiet tables spaced out so people have privacy while dining. Perfect for quiet dinner dates, but public and safe for blind dates. The cruise offers tables and a bar, but no food service.

Callie’s post was called Baskets on the Bay, which is also the name of the cruise company. The details were: I’ll bring the basket with dinner and you bring the Merlot. We’ll take a cruise on the bay at sunset so we can get to know each other. Beautiful views, good food, good wine, and great conversation sound like a dream date to me.

A few days pass and Callie is losing hope of someone being interested in her idea of a dream date. Her friends are over for movie night and open her laptop to find her logged into that site. Callie is in the kitchen opening the bottle of Merlot and pouring glasses for all of them while they snoop on her posting. While they’re logged in, Callie gets a message from a guy named Erik. The message says, “I’ve lived in the area my whole life and have never taken a bay cruise. Sounds interesting. Have you had someone take you up on this date yet?”

The friends are talking excitedly amongst themselves and deciding if they should respond for her or tell her about it. They start to respond for her as Callie comes in the room and notices the shady way they’re both acting. “What are you doing? Why is my laptop open?” Callie asks.

“We just opened it and you got a response to your Baskets on the Bay post,” Megan blurts out. “He’s really cute and interested in the idea. His name is Erik. He’s lived here all his life and has never taken that cruise.”

“Wow, I’d given up hope that anyone would respond,” Callie says.

“You should look at his profile, Callie. He’s cute, in your age range, sandy blond hair, green eyes, and he’s a fireman. Oh my, maybe you shouldn’t respond and let me have him,” Jen says.

In unison, Callie and Megan remind Jen, “you’ve been dating Mark for 2 years and he’s about to propose.”

With fake reluctance, Jen says, “oh yeah. I guess I’ll have to live vicariously. Callie, you MUST answer him and take that cruise!”

“What do I say?” Callie asks.

“Start with Hello and see how that goes,” Megan tells her.

Erik and Callie chat for a bit and decide on Saturday, the 6:30 pm cruise. There are no food allergies to be concerned with so Callie makes a plan for dinner. She tells him she’ll be wearing khaki pants with a floral top and she’ll have a basket with a green bow in hand. He tells her he’ll be in jeans, a green plaid button-up shirt, and carrying a bottle of Merlot.

Megan and Jen decide to see her off to make sure he shows. They also plan to meet the boat when it gets in so they can get all the details.

Callie makes two stops, one at her favorite deli to get a couple of their specialty sandwiches, pasta salad, and some fresh homemade potato chips. She also stops at the best bakery in town for a few pastry options. The food is tucked safely into the basket with the plates, napkins, silverware, and wine glasses.

She arrives early, buys the tickets since this date was her idea, and waits on the dock. Megan and Jen are standing by the railing in the parking lot where they can see Callie and maybe even catch a glance of Erik before they depart. They see a guy that looks like the profile picture getting out of a car – jeans, green plaid shirt, but no Merlot. He turns around and heads back to the car to grab the forgotten bottle. Megan and Jen look at each other and think wow, our girl picked a hottie.

He’s looking for the floral shirt and basket with a green bow. He sees Callie and smiles. Jen and Megan are in a position to see his positive reaction to noticing her. “She’s going to have a great night and finally a decent date,” Megan says. Jen smiles and nods her agreement.

“Callie?” Erik asks as he approaches.

“Yes, hi Erik. It’s nice to meet you,” she responds.

“Let me grab the tickets for the cruise,” Erik says expecting to pay for the date.

“I already got them. I thought since this was my idea, I should pay,” Callie says showing him the tickets.

“Oh. I’ve never been on a first date where the lady paid. Guess it’s a whole new world,” he says with a smile. “I can carry the basket if you’d like,” he says trying to be helpful.

“Thanks. It’s not really heavy, but you can carry if you like,” she said nervously as she hands him the basket. “I got a ham sandwich and a roast beef one from my favorite deli along with some pasta salad and fresh homemade chips. I also grabbed some pastries from that place on Elm Street. I hope you like it.”

“Sounds great. I brought the Merlot, but didn’t think about glasses. I hope they have some on board we can borrow,” he says.

“I have some in the basket,” Callie responds shyly.

“You think of everything. I’m usually the one who has to do that,” Erik tells her. She’s definitely peaking his interest.

They board the boat and she hands them the tickets. “Marcie, can you show them to Bow 1,” the Purser says to one of the wait staff. Turning back to Callie and Erik, he says, “Marcie will show you to your table and get any drinks you’d like throughout the cruise. Enjoy your evening with us.”

“Thank you,” they say in unison as they follow Marcie.

Their table is the only one on the front of the boat. She hadn’t planned it, but loves this idea.

“I don’t want to just open your basket without permission, but thought we could start with a glass of Merlot until the cruise leaves dock. Sound good?” Erik asks. She nods agreement and opens the basket for him.

They’re still sipping their Merlot when the boat takes off for the evening. They’ve chatted a bit and gotten to know a little more about the other. So far, she was very pleased and hoping the other shoe didn’t drop during the cruise.

They sit down to eat. She pulls out the plates, silverware, and napkins. She holds up the sandwiches, “One is ham and one is roast beef. Which do you prefer?”

“Which is your favorite?” he asks.

“I grabbed my two favorites so I don’t lose either way,” she says with a smile.

“How about we each take half of both. That way you get both of your favorites which also happen to be mine too. I go to this deli all the time. I’m surprised we haven’t bumped into each other by now,” he says.

The food was good as it always is, but tasted even better with the great conversation as the sunset over the bay. “Everything you promised in your dream date scenario - Beautiful views, good food, good wine, and great conversation. Would you mind if I take a picture of you and maybe a selfie with both of us?” he asks. She giggles and nods.

She smiles shyly as he pulls out his phone to take a picture of her with the beautiful orange and red sunset as the background. He moves around to get close to her and takes the selfie. He shows her the picture and says, “I can send it to you, but need your number if you’re ok giving it to me?”

“What will you use it for?” she asks teasing him a bit.

“To send you the picture only if that’s all you want, but I’m hoping it will be ok to stay in touch. I’m enjoying myself more than I expected to tonight and would like to see you again,” he says.

“I’d like that,” she says. “This is the best first date I think I’ve ever had.”

The boat docks, they disembark, and walk towards the parking lot. She notices her friends waiting for her. He sees a group of his friends hanging out too and says, “I’ll spare you the 3rd degree of the fire station and say good night here. They’re relentless and will embarrass me completely with rookie stories that maybe you’ll get to hear one day, but not today. I had a great time and it really was a dream date. I will call or text because I’d love to see you again.” All of this came out quickly as he noticed the group starting to descend on them. He started walking away backwards, winked at her, and ran off to stop them from scaring her off.

Her friends rushed over and asked what happened? “He said he’s saving me from the fireman’s 3rd degree. Those are his buddies from the house. He took my number and said he’d text or call me. Don’t give me that look. He already used the number to text me this picture,” she turned her phone to show the adorable selfie he took of them.

They forgave him, but expected him to text in the next 24 hours. If he didn’t, they’d be upset.

Callie, Megan, and Jen met for lunch on Sunday and he texted while they were together. Callie had left her phone on the table while she went to the Ladies room to wash her hands. He asked where she was and Jen responded with the restaurant name and street. They didn’t tell her about the text, but a few minutes after she returned to the table, a fire engine pulled up outside. He comes running in wearing his turnout gear, followed by a few of his buddies. Everyone was watching as he went to her table, pulled off his helmet and said, “Callie, I haven’t been able to stop thinking about you all night. Will you honor me with a second date? I’ll think of something almost as good as the Baskets on the Bay cruise.”

She stood, leaned in and kissed him, pulled back with foreheads and noses still touching, and whispered, “Yes, I’d love to, Erik.”

dating
Like

About the Creator

Michelle McShane

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.