Humans logo

Basanti - my goldfish extraordinaire

by Anshuman Kumar

By Anshuman KumarPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Basanti - my goldfish extraordinaire
Photo by Ahmed Hasan on Unsplash

For a few months in 2004 I had a goldfish that I kept at my work. Those days I worked three days from home and two days at my office. I kept it at my home in a little glass bowl of water. I named it Basanti or ‘yellowish’ in Hindi. I was very sad due to personal reasons back then for a while but Basanti would always cheer me up.

My good friend from my work back then, Claude-Pierre Leech, had given me this goldfish as a gift. Claude-Pierre was a thorough professional and a very friendly person.

When I worked from home I would see her every two hours for a few minutes or so. Also, I was very glad to give her the fish food a few times each day. Its colour was like saffron and it would swim joyfully in her little bowl. Whenever I saw her, she made me smile. It felt like she was a part of my family.

Thanks in part to her I started feeling less sad and over time I became happy again. Each day I liked spending some time near her. She was with me for the first several months of 2004 and her presence made the summer months even better.

I used to read up more about fish back then and I found facts about them fascinating. When I completed work in the late afternoon I would like to sit near Basanti and watch her for a long time. Watching her swim in the bowl was kind of soothing. She would keep swimming back and forth in her little bowl for a long time. Sometimes I would talk to her. In my mind she was like a friend to me.

Every night before sleeping I would feed her and say good night. I used to look forward to the next day as she was a good part of every day back then. On a few weekends my friends would visit and they would be happy to see Basanti as well. Whenever I had to leave the house I would look forward to coming back so that I could see Basanti again.

It was around late July in 2004. On a very hot night I gave Basanti her food. I had slept at around 11 pm that night. The next morning I woke up around 6 am or so and went to see Basanti. I clearly remember - it was a Sunday morning. To my utter horror Basanti was outside the bowl dead!! Somehow it jumped out of the bowl that night. The bowl was on a big shelf. Basanti lay there lifeless. I was so sad!! I could not believe it.

I thought Basanti would be with me for a few years for sure. To have her die so instantly was very shocking to say the least. I was so thankful that Basanti was with me for a few months. Over the years I have never really forgotten her. In my life I have met some very nice people but never really had a pet. Basanti was the only pet I had in my life so far and she was so important to me. I am thankful to God that Basanti became a part of my life for a while.

In my religion (Hinduism) we believe in reincarnation. If there is life again I hope that Basanti becomes my pet again. Having her during my life was important, especially the days I was working at home a few days each week. I would like Basanti to be with me for a longer time in another life for sure.

The day I brought Basanti home was March 22nd. Each year I have a small celebration on that date with my family and friends remembering her and her contribution to my life. While her time with me was short it was still very positive and joyous. I will always be grateful to you, Basanti. Thank you for so much.

family
Like

About the Creator

Anshuman Kumar

I live and work in Canada and am originally from India. I am interested in movies, short stories, swimming, travel etc. Tips are definitely optional but are very welcome. Thank you for reading.

My email is [email protected]

Thanks.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.