Humans logo

Are Sweet Dreams Really Made of This?

....if so, I don't want to wake up.

By Christina BrownPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
Are Sweet Dreams Really Made of This?
Photo by Danilo Alvesd on Unsplash

I was never the life of the party, never the one who men often approached in public. In my group of friends, I was considered “the ugly one”. I am 22 years old, and never once been on a date. I had a couple of situationships, and never anything real like my friends have with their partners. Ever since I was at the age where I started to really think about dating, I always fantasized what my first date would be like. But I don’t want my dreams to blind me from my current sad reality.

Today is just another day. Another boring, and uneventful day. I wake up, feeling completely restless, simply contemplating on what my next step in life is. My closest friends are in serious, happy, and loving relationships, and I am just a rock in the corner. In a few days, I am due to go on a girls trip with my friends which I suspect is a ploy for them to set me up with a few guys while we are there. I honestly look forward to this girls trip, simply because I am travelling with my closest friends.

(a few days pass)

We are here! At a resort with a stupendous view of the city and the beach! My friends and I are stoked. But, I just found out that my friends also have plans for me to find a potential boyfriend. That part, I am not so stoked about. This evening, we are going out to explore nightlife and simply tour part of the city. I hope it’s just that, and nothing extra behind it.

(later that day)

My friends and I separated a couple of minutes ago while we went out partying. I decided to venture out, and take in the scenery for once. I mean, what the hey? What could possibly go wrong? The bright colors, loud music, and the tight feeling in the room, I am trying to take it all in without getting overwhelmed. Five minutes of me again being a rock in the corner, I was approached by a very attractive man and he offered to take me to dinner tomorrow evening.

“Hello, gorgeous, I would love to take you out tomorrow if you let me.”

“Uhm, sure, I guess. Why not?”

“Give me your number and I will send you the details.”

I am blinded by his smile, and his beautiful eyes, but he also gives me the vibe of him being cocky. I only accepted his offer because I know my friends would’ve chewed me out and claimed that I was being too selective, and pushing them away. I mean, it’s only dinner. I can always eat. A few minutes pass, and I receive a text from the attractive mystery man.

"Hello gorgeous, this is Miles. I will see you tomorrow at 7 pm at Le Rose Jardin. Dress nice. :)"

I am just astounded over the fact that he actually followed through on his word, and so quick too! I hope he realizes I am not a local, so I need to figure out what Le Rose Jardin is. Finally, I see my friends after turning around for the fifth time, and found them amongst the crowd. I am honestly debating on whether I should tell them about Miles and my possible date tomorrow or not. But then again, I never been on a date before, so I have no clue what it is I need to do.

"Hi y'all!"

"Hey girl, where have you been?! We had soooo much fun!"

"I have been looking for you two. But I managed, and I'm having a decent time."

"You're glowing! What happened?"

Obviously my friends and I need to go back to the room, so we can discuss what just happened as well as preventing them from becoming too inebriated. I might be considered a party pooper, but I rather not be babysitting two grown adults tonight. And quite frankly, I need my friends sober whenever I tell them the news of what happened.

My friends and I gathered in my room just so I can discuss with them what happened, because I truly need their advice.

"Mandi, Jess, I met a guy tonight."

"Who is it? What is his name? Does he look rich at all? Is he hot?!" Mandi asked.

"His name is Miles, he's very hot and tall, and looks rich, not gonna lie. He asked me out for dinner tomorrow."

"Aw, Sienna! Your first date! We are totally helping you get ready tomorrow, no questions asked!" Jess said excitedly.

I personally believe Jess is just excited about giving me a makeover, and Mandi is just ready for me to have my first date because I have been talking about it forever. Anyway, I am very nervous, but excited. Mandi and Jess are more excited than I am.

(the next evening)

I am ready for my date with Miles. Today, Mandi, Jess and I went shopping and did a mini makeover just so I can feel a tiny bit of confidence during my date. Boy, do I look good! Wearing a champagne colored dress with a sweetheart neckline, subtle makeup, and hair nicely pulled back, and going to one of the fanciest restaurants in the city with a very attractive man.

I go to the restaurant, and Miles is standing by the door waiting for me. He opens the door for me, and takes me to our table. "I hope it's okay, but I ordered us some Merlot for the table," said Miles. "That is fine, thank you," I replied.

"So, are you from around here? I've never seen you around here before."

"I'm not, I am from South Carolina."

"What brings you down here? I am pretty lucky that I ran into you last night."

"A girls trip with my best friends. Are you from around here?"

"I'm originally from California. I just moved here a couple of years ago."

"What do you do for work?"

"I own 6 restaurants, and I also own a winery back in California. I am also a lawyer."

"Wow, that sounds great! Since you own a winery, I trust that you know your wine pretty well."

"Well, I would hope so. By the way, I never caught your name, gorgeous."

"Well, my name is Sienna."

"Well, that makes sense. A pretty name fit for an even prettier girl."

"You flatter me."

We sit there, enjoy our food, and a couple of glasses of wine while getting to know each other. My opinion on him somewhat changed. Miles is smart, disciplined, level-headed, and pretty cute, I still believe that he is a tad bit cocky, but then again, it could be him exuding his confidence. He is such a gentleman, and honestly offered me the date of a lifetime. After dinner, he takes me on a stroll across the bridge just so we can see the stars and just enjoy each others company.

"Well, I am having a great time Miles, thank you."

"No problem. You know, I would love to see you again. Maybe next time I will come to you."

"Maybe."

As we sit and watch the stars, we drank another glass of Merlot and kissed under the stars.

Sweet dreams, are they really made like this? I really hope so, because I like this moment here, and I never want to wake up. It is crazy how my life changed in less than a week. I have a potential new boyfriend, and I had a successful first date.

dating
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.