Humans logo

Apple Time Love

The time is ripe

By Sherry jacksonPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
1

The trees in the orchard were heavy with ripe red apples.

Crowds were gathering from all round the area for a chance to go apple picking on my grand dad’ Apple farm. Every week end during the summer months he opened it to visitors to experience the fun of picking apple off the trees and grand ma got a chance to sell her delicious apple pies. I had enough of the big city and decided a summer with them was just what I needed.

So just yesterday on a balmy Friday afternoon I tossed logic to the wind and took a small vacation. I got off the train looking around excitedly for my grand pa. He was no where in sight. Then a not so bad looking guy walked over to me in tight blue jeans, a plaid shirt wearing of all things. Straight out of the western movies a cowboy hat.

Pardon me, but are you Kelly?

He asked looking intensely into my eyes.

Why yes! I replied.

I’m here to pick you up for your grand parents.

Oh,okay, I answered. I was a little disappointed wondering why they had not come, but found the substitute quite interesting.

He threw casually threw my expensive luggage in the back of his used red truck. When I had a hard time getting in his tall truck he took my arm helped me climb inside. I liked the feel of his hand on my arm and the touch seem to lingered he drove at full speed.

They rode in silence but once when she turned to look at him she noticed he had been looking at her and turned quickly away.

When we drove up to the house, my grand ma and gran pa were waiting and raced over to the truck,giving me hugs alleviating my fear that something was wrong.

That night at dinner Curt joined us as we had fried chicken rice and fresh green beans out of my grand parents vegetable garden. Then a cinnamon butter roll made of a secret family recipe. It was just like all the summers in my youth when I use to come for the summer.

Afterwards just before the sun went down we sat in the porch in the rocking chairs having coffee after dinner. Only it was hot chocolate for me in my younger days.

Curt didn’t say much but grand ma got a kick out of watching him scuff down her meal and asking for seconds. They seem to really like him.

The whole week end was busy with lots of tourist and me helping grand ma cook and sell the pies. Curt helped grand pa with taking the guest out to the orchard to pick apples off the trees. Once again, I saw Curt watching me as I was helping sell the pies. I smiled at him and he smiled back.

It was Monday morning when I saw him again. He knocked and came in with a fishing rod snd to my surprise and from the smile on their faces, my gran parent’s pleasure asked me to go fishing down at the lake with him. So I said ok. Grand ma fixed a basket though I got a feeling it was already made for she got it packed pretty quickly.

It seem like Curt had already picked out a spot right on the banks of the river. I put down the checkered spread and sat out the sandwiches and fruit- poured us a glass of the homemade lemonade while Curt put his fishing line in the water.

It turned out that gramma and grand dad knew his parents from when they were growing up in Kansas. When Curt stared talking he didn’t stop. He wasn’t shy by no means and knew everything about whatever he was interested in- such as fishing, farming if every kind, the clouds in the sky as far as weather was concern. I suddenly found him fascinating- a Sherlock Holmes of the country life.

He had was well educated majored in agriculture, graduating with a A average and has him Masters in it.

The fish started to bite and for each one of twelve we toast to them and laughing as he threw them back.

All of a sudden the sky grew dark and it began to rain.

We grabbed up everything and raced to the truck.

He drove to a small wood cabin near by. It was the guest house where he was staying.

I’m Curt, the handy man around the farm. I’ve haven been their long but your folks are some real nice folks so I’m thinking since you are made of the same stock— you must be the same.

Yes they are and I’ll take that as a compliment. They smiled at each other.

They rode in silence but once when she turned to look at him she noticed he had been looking at her.

When we drove up to the house, my grand ma and gran pa were waiting and raced over to the truck,giving me hugs alleviating my fear that something was wrong.

That night at dinner Curt joined us as we had fried chicken rice gravy and fresh green beans out of my grand parents lush vegetable garden. Then for dessert, a cinnamon butter roll made from secret family recipe.

It was just like all the wonderful summers in my youth when I use to come for the summer to visit except Curt wasn’t there- yet somehow him being there made it even more special.

After dinner, just before the sun went down we all sat on the porch in the rocking chairs having coffee watching it sink slowly beneath the horizon. Only i remembered it was hot herb tea for me was hot herb tea for me in my younger days.

Curt didn’t say much but grand ma got a kick out of watching him stuff down her cooking and having a second plate They seem to really like him.

The whole week end was busy with lots of tourist and me helping grand ma cook and sell the pies. I saw Curt helping grand pa with taking the guest out to the orchard in hay wagons to pick apples off the trees. Once I happen to seeI saw Curt watching me as I was helping with selling the pies. I smiled at him and he smiled back.

It wasn’t until Monday morning before I him again. He knocked at the door and when I opened it he came in with a fishing rod.

To my surprise he asked me to go fishing with him down at the lake. My grand parents felt it was a great idea and rushed us out of the house. Grand ma had fixed a basket though I got a feeling it was already made, loaded with all sorts of goodies.

It seem like Curt had already picked out a spot right on the banks of the river. I put down the checkered spread and sat out the sandwiches and fruit. I poured us glasses of homemade lemonade, while Curt put his fishing line in the water.

It turned out that grand ma and grand dad knew his parents from when they were growing up in Kansas. When Curt stared talking he didn’t stop. He wasn’t shy by no means and knew everything about whatever he was interested in- such as fishing, farming. He knew the names of all the clouds in the sky and every plant around us.

I found him fascinating- a Sherlock Holmes. of the country life.

He had well educated majored in agriculture, graduating with a A average in his Masters program.

The fish started to bite and for each one of twelve he hooked we would toast to them with our lemonade and laughing threw them back into the river.

All of a sudden the sky grew dark and rain drops began to fall around us.

We grabbed up everything and raced to the truck.

He drove to a small wood cabin near by. It was my grand parents the guest house where I learned he was staying .We jumped out of the truck and raced to the porch. He unlocked the door and we rushed inside soaking wet.

My cell ringed. It was my grand mother checking to see if we were okay. I told her we were safe inside the cabin out of the rain. She seemed quite satisfied with my explanation.

Curt made some ice tea and gave me one of his Shiirts with overalls to change into out of my wet clothes.

We watched on the sofa watching though the window the warm rain falling instantly turning the grounds into a small river.

I felt secure in the cozy cabin close to Curt. I liked the feeling. Curt turned to me and i could see he was feeling what she was trying not to feel. The next thing I knew his lips were on mine and i felt i didn’t want him to stop.

Then to our surprise, a truck horn blew. We looked out the window and it was my grand pa in his truck. He had come to get her.

They looked at each other and all I could think about was if only my grand had come sooner— come before i knew what his kiss felt like. Now i can never forget or want to forget.

When they got back to the house her grandmother was waiting with hot tea. I sat down at the table was she brought me my dinner to eat.

Sitting across from her my grand ma told her that she just felt that Curt was a good guy.

She said, all he wants is

a good wife and to raise a healthy family.

Grandma now you are not advocating for him and me —are you?

Well__ she hesitated. Yes, I guess I am.

I got up from the table and went over to her not smiling and looked her face to face in the eye. Then

I threw my arms around her and kissed her check.

Thank you so much grandma- I think- well I think he’s the one for me.

The shock showed in her face.

You — you what?

Yes-I think he is most fascinating man in the world!

Her grandmother stood up and hugged her.

Oh you made me and I know your grand dad so happy !

We can have the wedding In the iOrchard,! Said her grandma.

They hugged and grad dad who had been secretly listening came in and they all laughed and hugged.

The wedding was in the Apple Orchard the next year when all the tree were in full bloom. Family and close friends filled the grounds and the beautiful rustic reception was held in the red barn.

Curt and I rode off to our new home the guest cabin, in the decorated hay wagon full of wheat for fertility and red apples standing for the deep love awaken in us for each other.

dating
1

About the Creator

Sherry jackson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.