Humans logo

Anxiety in a Relationship

The painful yet funny truth of it all

By Elise Published 4 years ago 3 min read
1
Anxiety in a Relationship
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

Cuddling and watching a movie with my partner

Anxiety

This is nice.

Me:

Yeah, it is, don't ruin it!

Anxiety:

I never do…

But what do you think he's thinking about?

Me:

Probably the movie we're watching. Shh.

Anxiety:

But that main character looks an awful lot like his ex, do you think he sees that too?

Me:

No, she doesn't.

Actually, she does. 

Okay, now I can't stop thinking about it.

I doubt he notices though.

But he does seem overly interested in this movie.

Anxiety:

Say something.

Me:

Like what?

Anxiety:

Be upfront. Actually, no. Act really distant and cold. Stop cuddling him. Move away and sit over there.

(argument breaks out later that night over something unrelated)

---

During sex

Anxiety:

Why's he looking at you like that?

Me:

I think that's just the face he makes.

Anxiety:

Maybe he thinks you look weird from that angle. I mean look at those rolls you got. And did you shave everything? You probably missed a patch of hair.

Me:

Turns off the light

Anxiety:

Now he's going to think of someone else.

Me:

Like who?

Anxiety:

Probably that chick he was talking about the other day, the model.

Me:

Get's jealous and angry.

(another argument breaks out)

---

Having an insecure day

Anxiety:

Why hasn't he complimented you in so long? That's so weird.

Me:

I didn't even notice.

Anxiety:

You need to pay more attention. Maybe he's not attracted to you anymore.

Me:

You're right. He rarely compliments me anymore. What should I do?

Anxiety:

Don't say anything. Just be silent and cold. I can't believe this is happening to us!

Me:

I have a feeling he doesn't even like me.

Anxiety:

You know what, I think you're right. Remember that day last month when he didn't kiss you goodbye.

Me:

Oh, my god! You're right. Well, I guess he doesn't want to be with me. Maybe he's going to break up with me soon.

Anxiety:

Dump him first!

Me:

I'm going to have to.

---

Out on a date

Anxiety:

This is a really nice restaurant.

Me:

Yeah, he picked it out. He said the food here is amazing.

Anxiety:

What?

Me:

He said the-

Anxiety:

No, I understood that part but you do realize…

Me:

What?

Anxiety:

He's been here before. Do you not understand?

Me:

What are you talking about now?

Anxiety:

Hello, connect the dots! He's taken someone else here on a date.

Me:

Wow.

(argument breaks out and the date night is ruined)

---

Partner is on his phone

Anxiety:

That's weird.

Me:

What?

Anxiety:

Have you not noticed? He's been on his phone this whole time.

Me:

So?

Anxiety:

Try and see what he's doing on there.

Me:

No! I trust him.

Anxiety:

Well, I don't.

Me:

I'm ignoring you now before you cause another argument.

Anxiety:

I bet he's looking at Instagram models accounts. What a perv!

Me:

As if.

Anxiety:

What happens if he's messaging that one girl, remember that girl who tried to hit on him a while back?

Me:

He wouldn't do that.

Anxiety:

You're right, he wouldn't waste his time.

Wait… Oh no! I know what he's doing.

Me:

I'm not listening.

Anxiety:

No, seriously. This is bad, listen to me!

Me:

No

Anxiety:

Fine, but you'll regret it later.

Me:

Doubt it.

Anxiety:

Okay, this one's on you.

Me:

Okay, fine! Tell me!

Anxiety:

He's looking at his ex's profile. I bet he misses being with her. I bet he's reading through old messages and reminiscing.

Me:

Tries to sneak a look.

No, he's just googling phones.

Anxiety:

Okay, good.

But…

Me:

What now?

Anxiety:

I bet he's going to buy another phone just so that he can message his ex.

Me:

That is ridiculous.

(argument breaks out once again)

dating
1

About the Creator

Elise

I love all things tarot, art, and writing!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.