Humans logo

An Open Letter to My New Best Friend

I found a gorgeous soul in an unexpected place

By Sandra SmithPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Hey there, new best friend!

I don’t nearly take enough time to tell you how much I love you. You see, it’s hard for me to put some things into words. I try showing it to you in other ways, but here goes nothing.

The moment you strolled into my life I had a feeling this was going to be something special, and I wasn’t wrong. Our daily text messages can make me laugh to point of tears, and our mutual love and hatred for other people often keeps me going.

I’ve often said I wish you came into my life sooner, but now that I think about it, you came at the perfect time. I truly believe God puts people in your life for a reason and at just the right time. You came when I needed you the most. I was going through a difficult time and didn’t really have anyone to turn to, but you were there to welcome me with open arms.

First of all, I’d like to thank you for being my friend. You probably discovered that I was nothing short of insane during the first moments we met. I’ll be forever appreciative that you graciously accepted my weirdness and abstract ways of thinking from the get-go, and you’ve simply carried along with me.

In these shy two months that we’ve known each other, you’ve seen me when I’m flying high and also when I’m falling face first into the deepest and darkest of places. Thank you for loving me for who I am and not who I was. Most people who see these polar opposites immediately run away. However, you’ve stayed. You’ve been with me during my anxiety attacks, and when I talk non-stop about my rages. Thank you for having my back, I know I’m not the easiest to deal with.

You know I don’t keep just anyone in my life, but you, I just don’t ever want to lose. I admire the way you carry yourself and wish some of that brushes off on me. You’ve got such a great sense of humor that I can hardly remember a moment when we were together, and we didn’t laugh or make fun of something. You have such a positive vibe that is just magnificent and unheard of. Thank you for loving coffee as much as I do.

Thank you for giving me the drive to present a better version of myself. Thank you for showing me that the quality of a friendship always beats the quantity of time people know each other. Thank you, babe.

I promise I’ll do my best to be the friend you deserve. I will always have your back, no matter what. I’ll be by your side through anything you face. I’ll be your coach, cheerleader, or shoulder to cry on. I’ll be there at your wedding, I’ll organize your baby shower and keep your crazy family in check, I’ll make sure your coworkers sit far away from your table and I’ll be the one to deal with them, so you don’t have to. No matter what struggles you face or what mistakes you make in life, I promise I’ll always be there.

friendship
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.