Humans logo

An Open Letter to My Ex Best Friend

An Open Letter

By Miranda HaginsPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
2

Dear Stranger,

We used to be the best of friends. Always together, and when we weren’t, we were at least always talking to each other. If you weren’t at my house I was at yours. You always made me smile, you always made me laugh, you always gave me something to look forward to. Whenever I was crying you were always there checking up on me. We always stayed up to the ends of the night talking about our lives on the phone. I loved you so much, I loved that you were my best friend. You told me everything, you let me know your problems, you let me know what you were thinking. I was always there for you and vice versa, but everything changed.​ I always knew friends could break your heart, but I never knew that this was going to happen to us.

You hurt me. You broke me. You made me the bad person of the friendship. You built up my confidence and made me into who I am, but while doing that, you damaged me. You made me feel like I could never be a good person anymore. You made me feel worthless. You made me feel horrible. The reality is I am a good person. I’m worth everything and more. I am a good friend. You aren’t and never have been, you aren’t Mr. Perfect. I don’t know why I kept going back to you after every big fight, you were in the wrong. You tear people of their personalities. You make people feel wanted and then word by word you tear them down. I admit I was in the wrong a few times, but mostly? Mostly it was you.

You were the one who ruined what we had. We were planning a day trip to Charleston and what did you do? You turned around and told me I wasn’t worth it and cut me out of your life. I was your best friend and it seemed so easy for you to just give up on me. I guess everything was a lie. All the things you told me about our future together as best friends. The times you said you would never leave me. All of the “I love you Mir,” all of it, lies. I was heartbroken, but now I’m doing amazing. I miss your family so much, but I’m too afraid to text them and ask how they are doing. I found someone that actually cares about me, that will actually listen when something is going on. I wish you wouldn’t have given up as fast as you did. I really don’t know what went wrong. I hope you find your way and I hope you are doing better than before we stopped talking. I’m sure one day we will cross paths and be able to hold a conversation. Until then, good bye. I wish you and your family the best.

Sincerely,

Your Ex-Best Friend

breakups
2

About the Creator

Miranda Hagins

Just a young adult trying to find her way in this world

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.