Humans logo

An Open Letter to My Boyfriend: A Piece of Me

To Anthony R

By Valerie JanePublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

For as long as I can remember, talking to me about my relationships or boyfriends would be like speaking a different language to me. I have never been the girl who believes in fate; I am a realist... far from the kind of girl who believes in love songs, soulmates, or grand romantic gestures, kind of like those gestured by Ted Mosby in How I Met Your Mother. 😉

Yeah, no. I am an independent person and proud of it. I never had a problem being by myself. I would always rather focus on me or have a night out with friends rather than worry about what some boy might think of me because, chances are, he isn’t worth my time (especially in this day and age).

My first date with you changed everything. The happiest I have ever been in my life has been during these last six months with you. I understand in the scheme of things, that pretty much quality, but that does not discount the reality or validity of my feelings. Going from being the most anti-romantic person to surprising me with a first date on the roof watching stars was quite a shock. But I know I didn’t run away for a reason, and it was the best decision I’ve made thus far: To come over that day on June 1, 2017.

Thank you, first and foremost, for your patience; not many people could put up with what you do when it comes to me. I understand I'm legit crazy sometimes. But also, thank you for letting me be my own person; not once have you rushed me or pushed me to be something I wasn’t okay with, but instead, you told me to be more myself. Thank you for inspiring me to be carefree, to not be so hard on things, and to look at life differently. And lastly, thank you for being the most caring and kind person I know. Let's face it… I lash out under stress, but you are always there for me with warm, open arms.

I remember being a mess when we first met. You helped me pick up pieces and make sense of everything without asking for anything in return. You wanted me to be happy again because you saw how much pain I used to be in. You helped me remember that I deserved to be treated right, and that is exactly what you did for me. You’re a perfect gentleman—a breed that I didn’t know existed anymore. You're always asking me, “What are you thinking about?” knowing my mind is going 100 miles per minute, but my answer is always the same: “Nothing.” So this is my answer to that question. Here is a piece of me. This letter is what I'm thinking about when you ask. The answer is you.

All of the words written on this page will never amount to what it feels like to have you by my side. There are not many people in this world who are lucky enough to meet someone like you. I don’t know where I would be if you didn’t come into my life to change it for the better. I am thankful. You helped me believe in so many wonderful things that I would never have opened my mind to before. I believe life has happy endings, and I sure hope it's with you.

love
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.