Humans logo

An old fashioned type of romance

Story of old fashioned verses modern day dating

By Todd SimmonsPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Is dating ever easy when your extremely old fashioned? The answer is no, most definitely no. I often wondered if I was born in the wrong century because I believed when your courting a woman, well to sum it up, wine, dine, and have a good time.

That and there's the incurable disease called shyness! How are you suppose to flirt when your so overwhelmed by anxiety that you cant hardly get a few words out of your mouth? Alot of women do find that a turn off. Oh and my youth were filled with entanglements that ended up with "my mom would LOVE you, but I like whoever's better" yes women have had the nerve to say that to me outloud.

And then theres just the sexual encounters only. Which I admit I went through a period where that was easiest just satisfying lust but my heart always wanted something more.

I was pushing 40 and I was beginning to wonder if a wife, kids, anything of the sort would ever happen. Since I always relied on people I know to set me up on dates in the past as a way to help ease my incredible shyness, I got offer to go on a blind date.

But this time it was way different. It had been at least 10 years since I had tried to date! I was close to being a monk by now.

But I thought to myself since I'm old fashioned, maybe you should just settle.

Her name was Bridget she was a hospital administrator that worked with my best friend. We agreed to meet at my favorite restaurant Cherdars. I arrived first at the restaurant and to help calm my nerves I started off by ordering a glass of merlot red wine. No more than 5 minutes later a beautiful woman, brunette with the most beautiful brown eyes I have ever seen walks up to me and taps me on the shoulder and asks "are you Todd? Hi I'm bridget"

I barely say hello and I rise to shake her hand and my foot gets caught in the bar stool and I accidentally take down me and her.

Mortified and apologizing profusely, she cracks a smile and says " your not the first guy to fall head over heels for me"

We both are now standing at the bar and I summon the bartender and I was floored that she ordered merlot red as well.

My appreciation for wine comes from a long line of sicilians who use to make there own wine. Merlot ain't the best red but it ain't bad either.

The stumbling was the ultimate ice breaker in a way because I was able to concentrate better on everything she said. We drank, we ate, but we talked and talked, and it was almost 10 by the time we finally left the restaurant.

We were both loaded on wine and good food and I had taken an uber to the restaurant which was in a local mall. It was a quite night and it was before the pandemic hit.

Suddenly she stopped and without hesitation we were in each others arms in the most passionate manner but just a simple kissing. I was actually surprised my lips still worked for kissing because I was worried that I had forgotten how to.

We had spent the night talking about our views on life, politics, love, movies, in a way it was special but she was guarded. I knew then that if this was going to be the real deal I'd have to earn it. She was worth it.

I put her in a uber and said goodnight and we were going to meet again in 3 days.

dating
Like

About the Creator

Todd Simmons

I'm 36 I live in Tucson Arizona originally from Buffalo .

I'm hoping to take on second a career writing i may have bad grammar but I have alot to .say

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.