Humans logo

"An Ode to You"

Besties for Life

By Katherine MoralesPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
"An Ode to You"
Photo by Maksim Shutov on Unsplash

There are not enough words in the most current version of Webster’s Dictionary to accurately express how thankful I am to have you in my life. However, I may possibly be able to paint you a picture that may just do some justice.

When I was a young girl, I learned that the world was not a very safe place that things and people were not always, as they seemed. At a young age, I taught myself how to hide inside my mind in order to protect what innocence I had left no matter what the outer coil was experiencing. Unaware what toll that was taking in itself. I was unaware that I was pulling away from humanity all together, shuttering at every form of human contact coming my way. I did not want to be see, I did not want to be heard, I wanted to disappear. I was safe alone. I moved through life this way, not really knowing how to be a normal child. People thought I was weird, or shy, or stuck up. Never really knowing that I was terrified to be alive.

Then… The winds of change found me and I saw my window. The opportunity to get away from the evil that surrounded me daily and start anew. Somewhere, where no one knew me. I moved away from my birth city when I was 13 years old. Not scared at all, but feeling the weight of the world taken off my shoulders. I could finally breathe. I started a new school and instead of having new kid on the block anxiety, I was excited to meet new people. Make new friends. I spent most of my 8th grade year adjusting to country life, and small town hopes and dreams. Very different from being in a big city. That summer came and went with promises of a better and safer life. High school started without a hitch and then I met you. On the bus, on our way to the bus barn. That was the first day of the last 21 years I have had you in my life.

You are by far the only person, not blood bound to me that I have wanted to stay with me. Growing up with you, building, and raising each other has been one of the best experiences in my life. I never fully understood how much we really did for each other until we were separated. It was then that I realized, you protected me from the moment we met. You keep the evil away; you fought for me when I could not fight for myself. You pushed me to be the badass woman that I am today, all while sitting there and cheering for me. You scolded me when I did wrong, but explaining to me why and communicating ways to make things better and us moving forward. You taught me how to come out of my shell and live, proving that you would not let anyone ever hurt me again. We have watched each other become parents and raise some amazing children. It was us against the world, when the walls were closing in. Guns drawn, ready to fight. I was there by your side when you were scared and unsure of what the future would hold for you, and promised you that no matter what we faced I would walk through hell and back with you, because you had done it for me. You are my adventure partner and always down for doing and experiencing new things and ideas. I absolutely love that about you. You have been by my side when I felt lost and hurt. Helping me limp my way to health. You always took care of me when I was sick. Did random acts of kindness just to see me smile, and for all of that I will always love you.

You are my best friend. You are my light in the darkness. My ride or die. I see my future always with you in it. I could not have asked for the universe to send anyone else other then you and I am thankful for you. I love you and I forever will.

friendship
1

About the Creator

Katherine Morales

"Never be afraid to try something new. Because life gets boring when you stay within the limits of what you already know."

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.