Humans logo

An Artist's Self Portrait Demonstrates His Own Descent Into Alzheimer's Hell

The pictures tell the story

By Joan GershmanPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Top Story - April 2022
19
Photo Courtesy of Pinterest

In my Alzheimer’s articles, I give you solid, proven information on how to deal with Alzheimer’s behaviors. In the last two articles, Learning Not to Argue, and Communication Strategies, I discussed the difficulty of communicating with a person with Alzheimer’s Disease. I explained the reasons for, and solutions to how to deal with the unusual, difficult to understand, often inexplicable behaviors related to communication disorders, displayed by your Alzheimer’s loved one. I did this by giving you a glimpse of what it’s like to live inside the Alzheimer’s brain -Blankness, confusion, and fear.

I mentioned in one of my articles that the information about what a person with Alzheimer’s Disease feels and thinks comes from my interaction with extraordinary people, who, at the beginning of their Alzheimer’s Disease, were willing to share their stories. Later articles will discuss two of these people — Richard Taylor, Ph.D, a psychologist who was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s Disease at age 61, and became a writer, speaker, and advocate on behalf of those with Alzheimer’s Disease. The other was Tracey Mobley, an ordinary Mom, and wife, who was diagnosed with Early Onset Alzheimer’s Disease at age 38, and became an author, speaker, and advocate for those with Early Onset Alzheimer’s Disease.

They felt it was vital that you know and understand how they thought and felt, so you could be a help, not a hindrance to your loved one with Alzheimer’s Disease. Their premise was that if you understand how they think and feel, you should be better able to smooth the way for them in their Alzheimer’s life. I heard Richard speak in person and read his newsletters religiously. Tracy wrote guest blogs for my website.

I am a writer. I inform you of what I feel are important issues, like Alzheimer’s Disease, my own Weightloss Journey Through Bariatric Surgery, and entertain you with what I hope to be amusing stories — through my writing.

But sometimes, a story comes along that is so powerful, that only the paintbrush can give it justice. Only your eyes can absorb the enormity of the message. And so it was with William Utermohlen, “…….. an American figurative artist who became known posthumously for his self-portraits created after his diagnosis of Alzheimer’s disease in 1995. Utermohlen’s career lasted from 1957 to 2001…….Wikipedia”.

I have not yet read a written description by anyone who characterized the descent into Alzheimer’s Hell better than he did. He described how it is to lose oneself into Alzheimer’s Disease. He described the confusion, but most eloquently the loss of self. He did it with a paintbrush, not a pen. These are a series of self-portraits he painted as he descended into Alzheimer’s Disease.

William Utermohlen as a healthy young man - 1967 - Photo courtesy of Pinterest and boredpanda.com
1996- William Utermohlen as he begins his journey into Alzheimer's Disease - Photo courtesy of Pinterest and boredpanda.com

1997- Pinterest and boredpanda.com

1998- Pinterest and boredpanda.com

1999- Pinterest and Boredpanda.com

2000- The last portrait William Utermohlen was able to paint as his descent into Alzheimer's Disease was complete .....Photo courtesy of Pinterest and Boredpanda.com

William Utermohlen died in 2007 at the age of 73.

These pictures hit me particularly hard emotionally as they brought back memories I had when the husband I fell in love with at first sight; when the husband I adored; and the husband I had lived with and loved for over 30 years, first started to disappear.

His behavior was erratic and irrational, and communication was constantly a challenge. One night, I broke down, threw my arms around his waist, buried my head into his chest, and cried, “I miss you. I miss you so much.” He quietly answered me — “I miss me too.” As William Utermohlen so heart-wrenchingly depicted in his self-portraits, he knew, as did my husband, that he was disappearing into Alzheimer’s Disease.

Yes, being an Alzheimer’s caregiver, particularly to a spouse, is frustrating, stressful, and depressing, but as a caregiver, you can get respite occasionally. There is no respite for one living with an Alzheimer’s brain. Think about that when you get overwhelmed with dealing with your Alzheimer’s diseased loved one.

Coping With Alzheimer’s Disease Series:

The Top 5 Early Symptoms of Alzheimer’s Disease — It’s not always about memory

Alzheimer Day Care — 7 Things to Know Before You Sign on the Dotted Line

Never Argue — he Most Important Lesson to Learn When Interacting With a Person With Alzheimer’s Disease

6 Basic Rules for Communicating with an Alzheimer’s Patient

Resources for this article:

William Utermohlen — Wikipedia

Chris Boicos Fine Arts

Boredpanda.com

©Copyright 2022 Joan Gershman

art
19

About the Creator

Joan Gershman

Retired - Speech/language therapist, Special Education Asst, English teacher

Websites: www.thealzheimerspouse.com; talktimewithjoan.com

Whimsical essays, short stories -funny, serious, and thought-provoking

Weightloss Series

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • ALISHA ROSS2 years ago

    My boyfriend left me for another girl for some silly reasons. He keeps telling me that I am nothing to him. He said he wants to be with the other girl. that he has no feeling for me anymore. This started more than one month ago. By this time he also speaks to me but not in his own mood or to rebuild our relationship. He does so because I request him to be with me at least for some hours or some minute… we talk only once …but I can’t stay without him. I want him back.. I was really worried and I needed help, so I searched for help online and I came across a website that suggested that Lord Zuma can help get ex lover back fast. So, I felt I should give him a try. I contacted him and he told me what to do, and I did it then he did a Love spell for me. Some hours later, my boyfriend really called me and told me that he misses me so much, So Amazing!! So that was how he came back that same day, with lots of love and joy, and he apologized for his mistake, and for the pain he caused me when he left. Then from that day, our relationship was now stronger than how it was before, All thanks to Lord Zuma. he is so powerful and I decided to share my happiness on the internet that Lord Zuma is real. if you are here and you need your ex lover back or save your marriage fast. Do not cry anymore, contact Lord Zuma now. Here’s his email: [email protected] or WhatsApp him: +1 506 800 1647 https://www.facebook.com/lordzumazuk

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.